Grace Around the World Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The CD/DVD set collects some of the performances the singer-songwriter gave during his world tour to promote his debut album, "Grace," from 1994 to 1996.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. 80
    Grace only had 10 songs, and though it seems tiresome to sit through multiple live versions of 'So Real,' the title song, 'Hallelujah' et al, it's not. [Aug 2009, p.118]
  2. What makes the live performances of Grace Around the World so worthwhile is the fact he never sang any one song the same way twice.
  3. All three discs come together with fun, scrapbook-like packaging to pull off that rare reissue home run--when a boxed set functions as a perfect introduction for newcomers and a worthy addition to any devotee's collection.
  4. Any addition to his tiny catalog is notable. But this live DVD/CD set is more than barrel scrapings.
  5. It captures him as a working musician, pushing his first album hard, trying to get his name and music known, not caring about anything outside of the moment--all things that offer a potent, stirring reminder of Buckley's power and grace.
  6. With the plethora of posthumous Buckley releases, one might think this another attempt to market a legacy. But none could argue Buckley's strength as a live performer, and the tracks here are fine documents. [Summer 2009, p.71]
  7. While the whole package is marketed as a "love letter" to fans, true followers will quickly be able to sniff out its inferiorities. If anything, this latest selection from the dwindling Buckley vaults subverts his talents and ultimately insults the same hardcore fans it's aimed at.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Dec 9, 2011
    I agree that it is simply a way to cash in on Jeff's name and its a shame that it was released. Especially when all these songs can be found (usually with live footage) on youtube. It does feature some good live songs but its really unneeded Expand

See all 3 User Reviews