Graceland [25th Anniversary Edition]

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Graceland [25th Anniversary Edition] Image
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 25th anniversary release of Paul Simon's Grammy-winning album includes demos, alternative versions of songs, live tracks from the Graceland world tour, and the documentary, "Under African Skies."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    100
    The album is the real star here, sounding as fresh, vital and universally accessible as ever 25 years down the line.
  2. 100
    The character of the base music here is overwhelming: complex, ebullient and life-affirming, and in yoking this intricate dance music to his sophisticated New Yorker sensibility, Simon created a transatlantic bridge that neither pandered to nor patronised either culture.
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    100
    This entire collection proves one thing: Paul Simon and Graceland will remain as one of the most relevant pop records of all time.
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    100
    Reminds us that, for all of Simon's genius with tunes and lyrics, it's his rhythmic searching and sophistication that sets him apart.
  5. Aug 1, 2012
    92
    [Graceland] was unique in its total, and totally natural, synthesis of musical strains that turned out to be not nearly as different from each other as its listeners might have expected, and the result resonated strongly around the world and across generations.
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    90
    Forget the boycotts and controversy, and marvel once again at the magic that Simon conjured up on Graceland.
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    67
    The usual ephemeral padding--an extensive oral history rendered redundant by the documentary, a poster, and a replica of Simon's legal pad of lyrics--fills the linen-bound Graceland deluxe, which footnotes the remastered album with a 25-minute bonus CD of demos mostly heard on previous editions, though a 10-minute "The Story of 'Graceland'" audio deconstruction by Simon sums up the box in a song.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. May 2, 2015
    10
    One of my favorite albums. It's chock full of great pop hits that sounds like the best of 80s music. Combining African, American, and MexicanOne of my favorite albums. It's chock full of great pop hits that sounds like the best of 80s music. Combining African, American, and Mexican music into one great piece. Expand
  2. Ale
    Jun 12, 2012
    10
    released in 1986 this is one of the best album ever... perfect! Simon's genius with a great story behind....... african and american music andreleased in 1986 this is one of the best album ever... perfect! Simon's genius with a great story behind....... african and american music and culture side by side. Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    I grew up listening to this album and just this week decided to put it on my iPod for a closer listen. Simon's lyrics are fantastic, poeticI grew up listening to this album and just this week decided to put it on my iPod for a closer listen. Simon's lyrics are fantastic, poetic even. The instrumentation blends genres flawlessly. I made an account on Metacritic just so that I could give this the best possible rating. While not "flawless" Graceland is about as damn close as you're going to get. It's worth a listen. Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    It's a great album that I never really liked. I like hearts & bones way more than this one. This one annoyed me when it came out because allIt's a great album that I never really liked. I like hearts & bones way more than this one. This one annoyed me when it came out because all the baby boomers were listening to it and Lionel Richie. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    Graceland [25th Anniversary Edition] - Paul Simon , great album by Paul Simon. Great Musician. His sound is just the way I like, smooth,Graceland [25th Anniversary Edition] - Paul Simon , great album by Paul Simon. Great Musician. His sound is just the way I like, smooth, deep. Thank you Paul Simon Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2012
    6
    It is ridiculous the way re-issues of good albums get so many 10 out of 10 scores.
    10 out of 10 means absolutely perfect.
    Not even my
    It is ridiculous the way re-issues of good albums get so many 10 out of 10 scores.
    10 out of 10 means absolutely perfect.
    Not even my favourite album is absolutely perfect.
    Collapse
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    2
    This album sucks. I don't even care that he won a Grammy. There's nothing else to be said. |This album sucks. I don't even care that he won a Grammy. There's nothing else to be said. |
    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews