User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 738 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 738

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanA
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Graduation seems to be very risky. An electronic sound, almost no guest appearances, and no skits. Kanye should be out of his element. But aside from Drunk and Hot Girls, the album is amazing. As good as it is, it's not better than his first two.
  2. PeterM.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    I must say that this is really an upgrade from Kanye West.. Great songs, great flows and most of all.. GREAT effects.. Fx the piano on Homecoming (Ft. Chris Martin of Coldplay).. Kanye has definitely graduated in my eyes, and he has graduated with the highest grade possible! So, I think 50 Cent should just make an end to his career 'cause Kanye beats him big time.. My Top 5 on I must say that this is really an upgrade from Kanye West.. Great songs, great flows and most of all.. GREAT effects.. Fx the piano on Homecoming (Ft. Chris Martin of Coldplay).. Kanye has definitely graduated in my eyes, and he has graduated with the highest grade possible! So, I think 50 Cent should just make an end to his career 'cause Kanye beats him big time.. My Top 5 on Graduation: 1. Homecoming (Ft. Chris Martin) 2. Big Brother 3. Stronger 4. The Glory 5. Everything I Am The intro Good Morning is also great.... I like it all, so people, buy this CD.. You are going to love it!! Expand
  3. MusicalJ
    Sep 14, 2007
    9
    Next to perfect, some of the people here are just hatin. Kanye's a genius; every track is great, nothing to skip. The production and beats are absolute perfection, listen with headphones and you'll catch some nice suprises and nuance's. The lyrics this time around are less substantial in terms of cultural references than the past two efforts, but they're ALL positve Next to perfect, some of the people here are just hatin. Kanye's a genius; every track is great, nothing to skip. The production and beats are absolute perfection, listen with headphones and you'll catch some nice suprises and nuance's. The lyrics this time around are less substantial in terms of cultural references than the past two efforts, but they're ALL positve (which I think is great) and they still reflect Kanye's character, charm, and sense of humor, and that comes out worth a lot. This record is about the individual, the graduate, and what he percieves himself to have accomplished. It's brilliantly conceptualized and the album works best as a whole from "Good Morning" to the story's beginning "Champion", to kickin' back "The Good Life" through why he did it "The Glory", to the home coming "Homecoming" to family business @ home "Big Brother". However, the indivisdual tracks work really well individually as well and these 2 concepts make for one hell of a classic record. Expand
  4. JakeS.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Consistent is one thing Kanye's albums have been. He doesn't break the mold with "Graduation". I can't recall many artists who's first 3 records were considered "album of the year" candidates each time one was released. Amazing.
  5. GeraldH.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Kanye is everything hip hop and rap should be all about. He is inventive, creative and breaks new ground. He makes exciting new and interesting material and should be a blueprint for what other rap artists should strive for, as opposed to the ring tone rappers who follow the same tired and over used formulas that went out of style in the late 1990's.
  6. RickyQ
    Sep 14, 2007
    9
    The whole album still feels like classic Kanye yet most of it sounds nothing like his older stuff. Graduation's beats seem to be more electronic and popish rather than what is usually considered rap/hip-hop. Kanye fans might be turned off by this, but I find it to be rather refreshing. I was disappointed at first with this new sound, but after hearing it quite a few times, it really The whole album still feels like classic Kanye yet most of it sounds nothing like his older stuff. Graduation's beats seem to be more electronic and popish rather than what is usually considered rap/hip-hop. Kanye fans might be turned off by this, but I find it to be rather refreshing. I was disappointed at first with this new sound, but after hearing it quite a few times, it really grew on me. It's a shame that the skits got dropped though, as dumb as they were they were still rather funny. There is still one thing that hasn't changed, Kanye is a lyrical genius. For example, the Back to the Future reference in "Good Morning" is a great as is the Adam and Eve line in "Can't Tell Me Nothing". Even when he rhymes the same word three times in a row, it just works. He has always been different from the norm (especially compared to 50 Cent). Few people can do it like Kanye and this album is proof of that. If you just want to get the top titles off of Graduation make sure you download these: "Good Morning" (it is amazing, the first track which really sets the mood of the album), "Stronger" (the best song on the album), "Can't Tell Me Nothing" (this reminds me of "Diamonds from Sierra Leone"), "Flashing Lights" (a very cool beat), "Homecoming" (very catchy song with some great lyrics), and "Big Brother" (a very nice song to end the album). "Champion" and "Everything I Am" are also pretty good. The only two really sore spots on the album are "Barry Bonds" and "Drunk n Hot Girls" (it's a really annoying song). So in the end Graduation is just as good as his previous efforts. Kanye always releases quality and this album is no exception. Is it his best album? It's hard to say if it is, but it comes really close. All of Kanye's albums are so great that it's hard to pick a favourite especially as this one is so different. But it is safe to say that this is my favourite album of the year. Keep up the good work Kanye! Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    If I were to listen to only five albums for the rest of my life, Kanye West's Graduation would definitely be among the other four. It's just superb. Maybe Barry Bonds isn't as great as the rest, but it's just a small scratch on a maasterfully crafted album. I **** lover this album
  8. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    This album brings back so many good memories. It's a feel good, memorable rap album unlike any other. KanYe is definently top of the game, and this proves it. classic.
  9. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Kanye's best album by far! A progression from Late Registration that see's Mr West hit new heights. He certainly graduates, top of the class. Stronger remains to date one of his finest songs, but it was the risks he took on the album which made each achievement so much more spectacular, Kanye and Chris Martin shouldn't work, yet it does and in some style! The piano is genius on Homecoming.Kanye's best album by far! A progression from Late Registration that see's Mr West hit new heights. He certainly graduates, top of the class. Stronger remains to date one of his finest songs, but it was the risks he took on the album which made each achievement so much more spectacular, Kanye and Chris Martin shouldn't work, yet it does and in some style! The piano is genius on Homecoming. Good Life, Can't Tell Me Nothing and Flashing Lights are simply magical. Only side note is Drunk and Hot Girls which isn't the high point but when you have an album filled with 12/13 genius tracks you must be doing something right, because this remains one of the best rap albums to date. Expand
  10. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    This is Kanye's best album. I love My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy but in all honesty, I think that the tracks on this album somehow are more consistent. Flashing Lights is AMAZING! Can't Tell Me Nothing is AMAZING! Ever since it's release date, I have listened to every track non-stop. After listening to one track you just have to listen to every other one on the album. Some may say thatThis is Kanye's best album. I love My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy but in all honesty, I think that the tracks on this album somehow are more consistent. Flashing Lights is AMAZING! Can't Tell Me Nothing is AMAZING! Ever since it's release date, I have listened to every track non-stop. After listening to one track you just have to listen to every other one on the album. Some may say that College Dropout was his best due to him being more "real". Or that MBDTF was his best because it is artistic and has a new sound. Although I probably agree with this to some degree, Graduation just does it for me. BDW i'm 16 and white and Kanye is obviously my favourite rapper. Expand
  11. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    filled with happy vibes, this is kanye's best work by far. and easily my most favourite album in the industry. theres just one problem, 'stronger' shouldnt of been released as a single.
  12. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    Technically, Kanye's best album. It fails to take the listener new places however, and without "Can't Tell Me Nothing" the album lacks both his soul-beat style and new found intensity. Overall though, pretty phenomenal album.
  13. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    His best album to date; unlike Watch the Throne or MBDTF, Kanye simply does what he does best, without sounding overly pompous (and thus, annoying). Still, there is enough **** in here to make a very good Kanye album, but also enough realism that you know he is a real person, not just a stuck-up fool.
  14. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    Graduation is a more mainstream 808s and Heartbreak. It has a distinct electronic sound that complements the introspective, personal lyrics. Kanye opens up in Graduation in brash and emotional ways. 8.7/10

    Best track: "Can't Tell Me Nothing"
    Other tracks that stand out: "Barry Bonds", "Everything I Am", "The Glory", "Homecoming", and "Big Brother"
  15. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    I have always appreciated this album, since it was very positive with a surprising stay in school type of message. Much less depraved than other rap releases and is never boring with clever rhymes and cool beats. My favorite from Kanye. Add it to your collection
  16. May 3, 2014
    9
    This is Kanye's most poppy album. And it might even be his weakest. Which really doesn't say to much, considering his incredibly consistent discography.

    It's also very interesting that this album features 2 of Kanye's best songs ('Can't Tell Me Nothing' & 'Flashing Lights [feat. Dwele]), 2 of his worst songs (Barry Bonds [feat. Lil Wayne] & Drunk And Hot Girls [feat. Mos Def]) and
    This is Kanye's most poppy album. And it might even be his weakest. Which really doesn't say to much, considering his incredibly consistent discography.

    It's also very interesting that this album features 2 of Kanye's best songs ('Can't Tell Me Nothing' & 'Flashing Lights [feat. Dwele]), 2 of his worst songs (Barry Bonds [feat. Lil Wayne] & Drunk And Hot Girls [feat. Mos Def]) and probably also his most commercially successful song (Stronger).

    This makes for an album with incredible highs, but two disappointing lows. In the end the album still impresses though, because the Album managed to accomplish, what Kanye had in vision. Mixing his soulful production with electronic synths and heavy bass to create Kanye's "stadium status".
    Expand
  17. May 8, 2011
    10
    By far one of Kanye's best albums. And definetely one of my favourites too.
  18. iano
    Oct 5, 2007
    8
    The beats are good, but it lacks real passion theres something a bit plastic bout it, don't get me wrong a good album i just expected more from the saviour of hip hop.
  19. RobertS.
    Sep 12, 2007
    8
    this is probably the worst album he has put out but its still fantastic! got rid of the skits and makes a more free flowing album but not as easily accessible as the other twoi. still highly recommended
  20. chris
    Sep 12, 2007
    8
    Not as good as his first album, but worth the $10.00. good beat and lyrics from the heart. I hope he beats 50. 50 should be ashamed of his new album, pure crap. I want my $$ back
  21. May 8, 2011
    7
    not his best attempt but its not his worse. i liked this album but it was okay. it was nothing to brag about. kinda disappointing this album was a kinda a let down
  22. ****
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    KanYe on the inside, Murakami on the outside. Who wouldn't like this album?
  23. Spree
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Not as great as his last album, but that's like saying a porsche is not as nice as a ferrarri.
  24. JaleelW.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Kanye's best and a shoe-in for Album of the Year at the Grammys. R.I.P. 50 Cent. His retirement will spawn a new revolution in rap.
  25. CesarC.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    There is clear progression between CD, LR, and Graduation. All of them are very different.
  26. LeonA
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Can someone please check the NME review! If you read it carefully, its quite obvious the reviewer is listening to a leaked copy of the album. He even talks about Good Night ft. Mos Def for crying out loud! Just terrible. This album is hot stuff though! only bad track is Drunk and Hot girls the rest is CLASSIC!
  27. RashonW.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Not just the greatest rapper of all time but the greatest artist living today. Like Kanye said, if there was a modern day Bible written today he would be the lead character, the narrator and all the acknowledgements would be reserved for Kanye himself. Can anyone stop this man?
  28. IsaacL.
    Feb 19, 2008
    9
    I can't compare it to his other albums since I don't have them, but I enjoyed it lots and almost all of the tracks - especially Good Morning, Stronger, Can't Tell Me Nothing, Barry Bonds and Big Brother - were great. It doesn't get a 10 because of the inclusion of crap such as Everything I Am and I Wonder - both average tracks which let Graduation down.
  29. AlexS.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    The Classic...
  30. Dez
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    To ask for him to record an album to top Late Registration is simply not going to happen. With that said, this is a very good album, not his best, however easily on of the best hip hop has had to offer this year.
  31. TrellT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    8
    It could've been better; but still quailty.
  32. otisc.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    Great album, its inspirational and moving. Different from everything out right now. A leap forward for Real authentic Hip-Hop Music especially people who don't carry 40 Caliber pistol.....lol
  33. RahatS.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    reinventing music one album at a time
  34. RoyalC.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    It's Kanye...exactly what the doctor ordered.
  35. D.F.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    Shows a much more mature lyricist and producer in Kanye West. Graduation is his tightest and most consistent album yet. It shows how he can stand alone without much outside help, unlike many artists making music today.
  36. Ms.T.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    I think it is in the middle between the 1st and 2nd but one thing it is and that is good. Production is great and as a lyricist he has improved a great deal. I think he is one of the few that can smoothly make the transition from producer to mc. Kanye's got my top vote for the battle of the cds between him and that other dude!! Great job Ye!
  37. JubileeW.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Kanye doesnt dissapoint. Once more he has produced and written an amazing album. From the in depth lyrics of Big Brother to the ever imaginative and eye opening Flashing Lights, or to the old skool soul of The Glory. Another masterpiece.
  38. EmilS.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Production solid all the way through. Sometimes the lyrics and delivery of same is clumsy but mostly pretty decent.
  39. JesseG.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    an instant classic
  40. MattS.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    Nobody pays more attention to production Musically this is by far the best hip hop album out there
  41. SamC.
    Sep 14, 2007
    9
    Another brilliant album from the master of hip-hop. Everyone knows his skills as a producer, but I think he's underapreciated as a lyricist.
  42. justina
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    way better then the first album!!! i guess 50 aint supportin his next album, since u wooped his ass!!!
  43. DreM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    Kanye doesn't disappoint on this album.
  44. AnissaB.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Kanye is a lyrical genius! I love the way he skillfully plays on words. My fav tracks on Graduation are Big Brother, I Wonder, Bittersweet and Can't Tell Me Nothing. But basically all the tracks are bangers, with the exception of Drunk & Hot Girls, [what were you thinkin Ye & Mos Def??]
  45. LiefS.
    Sep 20, 2007
    8
    I liked that he took the skits out; i dont think they were ever important and they messed up the flows of his earlier albums, the production is really good too, the only things that bother me in the album is his ego for thinking hes up there in rapping with big and pac, hes not in the top 15 rappers on my list, but he is one of the top producers, and album sales don't mean to much to I liked that he took the skits out; i dont think they were ever important and they messed up the flows of his earlier albums, the production is really good too, the only things that bother me in the album is his ego for thinking hes up there in rapping with big and pac, hes not in the top 15 rappers on my list, but he is one of the top producers, and album sales don't mean to much to be honest, if they did, ja rule would b a better rapper than biggie.. nuff said. Expand
  46. MikeD.
    Sep 23, 2007
    9
    Kanye proves he is able to make actual music and not just repetitive commercialized rap-pop, with lyrics that are actually saying something new, rather than the standard cookie cutter hip-hop verbiage, Graduation is full of originality and intelligence musically and lyrically - Thank you Mr. West, the Stevie Wonder of hip hop!!
  47. EvanT.
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    I am and always will be a rock guy. I listened to West's song 'Homecoming' at a party, and became obsessed with it. I bought the album, and will never look at rap the same way again. Thank you Kanye for revitalizing the genre.
  48. luciam
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Just great and different .His music is in a high level.
  49. jupioi.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Incredible
  50. NickS.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    One of my favorite albums in a long time really fresh stuff.
  51. JoshM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Nice...he still has a big mouth though.
  52. PeterP
    Oct 28, 2007
    8
    Nice! If you like Hip-Hop then you'll like this album. It's one of those that you'll be able to listen to over and over.
  53. LucaA.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    fantastic
  54. AlexV.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    this album is ridiculous every song is at least 4 stars out of 5 flashing lights, stronger, good morning, big brother shit the whole album is straight FIRE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUY OR DIE
  55. MarioV.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Two Rappers: One represents the Status Quo of hip hop, guns, bitches and bling, and the other represents hip hop in all its glory: what it was at its creative peak and what it hopefully will revert to in the future. Today, both their CD
  56. ClassicBoyyyeee
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    this album is classic kanye is at the top of his game and he made a great decision cutting back on all the damn skits. the intro, homecoming, big brother, and the glory are all standout tracks.good life is destined to become a smash hit. this is easily the best hip-hop album of the year
  57. Ling
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Great Album, both musically and lyriclly
  58. JoeU.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    This wasn't his best work but its still way better than most rap albums that came out this year.
  59. EdwardH.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    I'm givin' him an 8/10 since I have so many rap artists like him dat are as good as he is, and don't getz me wrong I have luv 4 him its just I'd prefer artists like Nas over him. His alwayz lyrically at his best at all times but I won't be buyin' his stuff datz all. I don't feel him as much as I feel my otha rappers like him. but good kudoz 2 him and tha I'm givin' him an 8/10 since I have so many rap artists like him dat are as good as he is, and don't getz me wrong I have luv 4 him its just I'd prefer artists like Nas over him. His alwayz lyrically at his best at all times but I won't be buyin' his stuff datz all. I don't feel him as much as I feel my otha rappers like him. but good kudoz 2 him and tha sucess of this "Graduation " record. Peace Expand
  60. [Anonymous]
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    flashing lights is the track of the year!!! if you thought that the singles on this album were good, just wait until you hear the other sutff. this album has absolutely no filler!
  61. LarryC.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    It
  62. SamS.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    this album is amazing
  63. ScottS.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    wow
  64. Blank
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    This is Kanye's best album yet.
  65. PatD.
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    Sputnikmusic reviews are always a joke. This is easily one of the better albums of the year.
  66. BrianM.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Kanye continues to push the envelope with this album. This is a departure from his usual style, but it's good the first time around and more importantly for an album, you'll find yourself humming the songs for weeks afterwards. Maybe not terribly dance-able but as music it's a triumph. Hopefully some other artists (Lupe Fiasco?) start heading in different directions like Kanye continues to push the envelope with this album. This is a departure from his usual style, but it's good the first time around and more importantly for an album, you'll find yourself humming the songs for weeks afterwards. Maybe not terribly dance-able but as music it's a triumph. Hopefully some other artists (Lupe Fiasco?) start heading in different directions like Kanye has done. Much better than Curtis. Expand
  67. JoshN.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Easily Ye's most personal album. Definitely as good, if not better than college dropout or late registration. Shows musical prowess, and shows his intimate sides. Big brother is an amazing track, as is the good life. Check it out
  68. EdM.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    Consistant. The beat for flashing lights is up there with 'what you know' as far as catchiness. Throughout this album it also seems like he's putting forth an aura of personal growth and presence. I enjoyed it a lot.
  69. NateL.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Spec-tac-u-laaaaaar
  70. MatthewS.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    Another outstanding accomplishment from Kanye! "I Wonder" is my absolute favorite, but I've grown pretty fond of the entire album! If you can get your hands on the bonus track "Good Night" .. well, do so! It's phenomenal, too!
  71. ScottS.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    wow
  72. JamesAutograph
    Sep 12, 2007
    7
    Not terrible...but the beats seem to overshadow his lyrics at times...but still a good listen, though.
  73. KevinM.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    Kanye shows that he is at the top of his production game. On tracks where he slacks lyrically he makes up for it with beats and vice versa. The feel and the sound of the album is 100% 80's synth with hip hop and I loved every second of it. An amazing album to end the trilogy. My only complaint is he didnt use skits to make it feel more like part of the trilogy.
  74. AlexL.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    This album is definately what I expected from Kanye. Though there are a few songs that could have been better (think "Drunk and Hot Girls), it's an overall solid effort. Kanye has always been a visionary and I think that all three of his albums have showcased his unparalleled artistic talent. I actually quite liked the bonus tracks (Good Night, Bittersweet Poetry), but do agree that This album is definately what I expected from Kanye. Though there are a few songs that could have been better (think "Drunk and Hot Girls), it's an overall solid effort. Kanye has always been a visionary and I think that all three of his albums have showcased his unparalleled artistic talent. I actually quite liked the bonus tracks (Good Night, Bittersweet Poetry), but do agree that Bittersweet Poetry would have been somewhat out of place had it been included on the US release as a main track. All in all, Graduation is a solid album with only minor weak points. Expand
  75. KyleM.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    classic if you don't like it you're lying to yourself
  76. EvinA.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    Kanye West is the savior of Hip-Hop. Three Times a Charm
  77. AlexG.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    I think the new record's good. A lot of good stuff. Wish it had officially included Bittersweet Poetry which is fantastic. But I'd like to respond to Brendan D. that ABBA's pretty perfect, finely crafted pop music. Even great music curmudgeon (and personal hero) Lester Bangs saw that.
  78. AlexS
    Sep 14, 2007
    9
    Aight. Now I wouldn't say this album is as good as Late Registration (Except the removal of the skits, thank God.) or the triumph that The College Dropout was. But...hell...Kanye proves he is definintely the best producer in the hip-hop game with this album. With such a broad palette of sounds being used....and all of the beats he creates with them being forceful and catchy as hell, Aight. Now I wouldn't say this album is as good as Late Registration (Except the removal of the skits, thank God.) or the triumph that The College Dropout was. But...hell...Kanye proves he is definintely the best producer in the hip-hop game with this album. With such a broad palette of sounds being used....and all of the beats he creates with them being forceful and catchy as hell, he proves it. And I know Kanye may be a little dull lyrically sometimes...but the beats usually compensate...but at other times his lyrics are very clever and humorous. In a lot of songs it's his references to pop culture that keep the lyrics fresh. This album is definitely a welcome addition to Kanye's winning streak and I give it a 9 straight up. Expand
  79. johno.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    AMAZING.
  80. ChrisK
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    Possibly the best album of the year!
  81. RajeshS
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    Nice use of diverse samples.
  82. christianp
    Sep 16, 2007
    8
    in some ways this is kanye's best album because of the restraint he shows. his first two had an "everything all the time" approach, but this feels more focused. truly original in its combination of french house, american hip-hop, synth strings, real strings, buzzing keys, and soul. i think he is an original lyricist, which is what turns people off. he is in his own world and that in some ways this is kanye's best album because of the restraint he shows. his first two had an "everything all the time" approach, but this feels more focused. truly original in its combination of french house, american hip-hop, synth strings, real strings, buzzing keys, and soul. i think he is an original lyricist, which is what turns people off. he is in his own world and that makes for some captivating music. and why does everybody hate on "barry bonds"!? i think it's amazing. once it ended i had to re-start it to take it all in. great song. great album! Expand
  83. Brad
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Not a huge fan of Kanye West, but come on. This isn't even fair how unbelievably produced it is.
  84. KevinH.
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    This album is amazing the only drawback that i had was that it is only 13 tracks. I don't understand what some of these critics are talking about when they bash this album. They must have been Kanye haters from the start. Favorite Song: Flashing Lights
  85. emilyw
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    This album is getting majorly slighted just because it's Kanye West and there were serious expectations. If an album of this quality were released by any other rapper, the reviews would be much more positive. For example, this album is much better, both lyrically and musically, than Lupe Fiasco's debut, yet that album has an 82 or 83 on here. Different but just as good as his This album is getting majorly slighted just because it's Kanye West and there were serious expectations. If an album of this quality were released by any other rapper, the reviews would be much more positive. For example, this album is much better, both lyrically and musically, than Lupe Fiasco's debut, yet that album has an 82 or 83 on here. Different but just as good as his last two albums. Expand
  86. JoeT.
    Sep 18, 2007
    8
    Don't be fooled if you thought the first couple of singles were kinda weak. All the tracks fit remarkable well together, and the album just flows by (both not usually the case for a hip hop album) No skits. No filler. Still, with Jay-z as a mentor you'd think he's rhymes and flow would improve ...and not get worse.
  87. FaiselS
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Is one of the best. Attracts many people even those who don't listen to rap.
  88. SachinD.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    This was an amazing achievement for Kanye. The sheer variety in the songs makes it one of the most colorful and intriguing albums I've ever had the pleasure of listening to.
  89. Lbooige
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Great music all the way through.....to all the people out there that rated this cd 1-5 you don't know hip-hop...just stick to your ringtone raps.
  90. Lamont
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    This album isn't a bad one. What sets this set apart is the simplified structure of the songs. While I preferred the ornate production of Late Registration, the production here on Graduation could very well be more focused and cohesive here.
  91. MusicLover
    Oct 29, 2007
    8
    An amazing album- definitely better than 50 Cent's "music". Kanye put all his heart & soul into the music, & all 50 did was put work into the beef they had going on.
  92. KyleZ.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Kanye as a producer is the greatest out there. As a rapper, he is still better than most
  93. AdamE.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    This album is amzing and I am not even a big rap fan a must buy for 2007! My favorite songs are Good Morning,Stronger,Good Life,Champion and Can't Tell Me Nothing! Go Get It!
  94. JasonH.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Graduation is maybe Kanyes best cd
  95. ChrisC
    Sep 11, 2007
    7
    It sounds pretty good. At some times it seems like he picked a sample based on how cool he thought it would make him sound, then worked backwards to build the song. He had no business rapping over Daft Punk's 'Bigger Better Faster Stronger'. But his self-opinion aside, it's a pretty good listen.
  96. ThatMusicGuy
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    50 vs. Graduation? hahahaha the real argument is Graduation vs. Neon Bible and Boxer for Album of the Year
  97. SaadG.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    This album is tight. The beats are top notch. And sampling Daft Punk? pure genius
  98. SteveO
    Sep 12, 2007
    8
    What makes people hesistant to glorify this album is incredibly high standard that Kanye has set for his releases. Put this next to 'Curtis' and there is no comparison. Clearly, Kanye holds both musical and lyrical supremacy over the hobbling 50. Big Brother is a great tribute to JayZ, Stronger pumps up Daft's song even more, and Good Morning is as good an Intro to a hip What makes people hesistant to glorify this album is incredibly high standard that Kanye has set for his releases. Put this next to 'Curtis' and there is no comparison. Clearly, Kanye holds both musical and lyrical supremacy over the hobbling 50. Big Brother is a great tribute to JayZ, Stronger pumps up Daft's song even more, and Good Morning is as good an Intro to a hip hop album as you'll find. Expand
  99. JavierT.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Awesome!! Finally real hip hop with true lyrics...Can't beat that!
  100. JosephA
    Sep 12, 2007
    8
    Excellent, few other artists have managed to creatively alter their signature sound so successfully as Kanye. Everytrack is a keeper. Only thing that comes to my attention is the less substantial lyrics this time around. But Kanye's character, charm, and humor are still present leaving him, despite all his self gratification, human @ heart and that counts for alot.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 70
    Nearly every song on Graduation is memorable for both its hooks and its overall sound.
  2. Graduation is neither as bold nor as scattered as "The College Dropout," and it's neither as extroverted nor as sonically rich as "Late Registration." Kanye still makes up for his shortcomings as an MC and lyricist by remaining charmingly clumsy, frequently dealing nonsense through suspect rhyme schemes.
  3. An impressively creative hip-hop album that will hopefully inspire West's peers to try new sonic avenues.