Graffiti - Chris Brown
Graffiti Image

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the R&B singer features Game, Lil Wayne, Lupe Fiasco, Plies, Swizz Beatz, Trey Songz, Eva Simons, and Tank as his guest singers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. While listeners can't help but be reminded of his fall from grace, Brown also shows us on Graffiti that he's still a formidable talent.-
  2. 70
    The album's most striking moment is "Fallin' Down." Over a ominous guitar riff, the 20-year-old sings, "It's getting heavy / I think I'm getting ready to break down." It's the most honest moment of his short career. The kid sure needs a vacation.
  3. Despite being five tracks too long--specifically the five tracks which have him falling back to his syrupy ways of old Graffiti is hands down the highest point of Chris Brown's career.
  4. A handful of lovingly arranged power ballads were evidently designed to illuminate the singer's remorse over the Rihanna incident. Yet Brown doesn't seem up to the task of contrition.
  5. Sadly, the only compelling thing about the incoherent Graffiti is the material (both external and internal) that makes it even less palatable than a simply below-average collection of paint-by-numbers R&B beats.
  6. 'Famous Girl' throws the album off balance, and makes every note feel exploitive and self-serving. In trying to restore his reputation, Brown ends up damaging it even more.
  7. Musically, Graffiti is a fairly ingratiating affair: The production is clean and often lively, and Brown sings well enough. The problem is what he’s singing.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 45
  2. Negative: 20 out of 45
  1. larissar
    Dec 12, 2009
    I have been a Chris Brown fan for many years and who cares of what he had done. So stop criticizing about him and his new album because it is the greatest i ever heard of. Expand
  2. epiphany
    Dec 20, 2009
    This is an awesome CD with a variety of jams from slow& moving to dance music that makes you wanna get up & move!
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    Graffiti is worth the buy. The album expresses the way Chris Brown is changing as a man. Turning to a different genre in music, making something we've never heard before. I love this CD! I think its worth the money and time.

    Individual Ratings:
    1. I Can Transform Ya. (10/10)
    2. Sing Like Me. (10/10)
    3. Crawl. (10/10)
    4. So Cold. (9.5/10)
    5. What I Do. (10/10)
    6. Famous Girl. (9.5/10)
    7. Take My Time. (9/10)
    8. I.Y.A. (10/10)
    9. Pass Out. (10/10)
    10. Wait. (10/10)
    11. Lucky Me. (8.5/10)
    12. Fallin Down. (10/10)
    13. I'll Go. (10/10)
    CD 2:
    1. Gotta Be Ur Man. (9.5/10)
    2. Movie. (8/10)
    3. For Ur Love. (9.5/10)
    4. I Need This. (10/10)
    5. I Love U. (9/10)
    6. Brown Skin Girl. (8.9/10)
  4. JamesG.
    Dec 27, 2009
    A decent album displaying Brown's talents, I don't know why the critics are using his personal life as a stick to beat his music with, he probably also didn't write most of the lyrics yet they use this as a way to attack him personally as if he tried writing and producing it himself. So much for unbiased reviewing. My favourite track is So Cold, not because Brown is supposedely being remorseful, but because it has good vocals and a good tune while the lyrics speak to me about something I can relate to, nothing to do with the artist. Music should be for listening and enjoyment. The only thing I can put down as a negative for this album is that it is about 5-6 tracks too long, trying to do too much at once and it meant some songs were average, but that doesn't take away from the other songs or Brown's talents. Expand
  5. BennyL.
    Dec 17, 2009
    Besides the two singles out now, I cannot remember any other songs on this album. Exclusive was excellent, this was a huge disappointment to a former big fan. Expand
  6. RickyP.
    Dec 29, 2009
    A totally dull and boring experience - fair enough, its not aimed at a crowd outside of the genre that he's aiming at (R&B, soul, etc), but one gets the feeling the songs are recycled from various influences. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2011
    Woman beater. This man should be spending time in a federal prison right now - instead he is still be idolized by legions of people with absolutely no brain. If you like this man, just imagine how you would feel if he had savagely beaten the face in of your own sister, of your own mother.
    He is a reprehensible human being, and surely deserves none of what life has given him.
    Rot in hell Chris Brown.
    Oh yea, and his music is terrible.
    Black America, get a job. Please.

See all 45 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.