Grand Champ

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2003
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 67
  2. Negative: 4 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyB
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    I think this CD is one of the best I ever heard from DMX. GrandChamp is off the chain!! DMX is "Untouchable!!!"
  2. danielm
    Oct 4, 2003
    9
    off the hook
  3. unknownunknown
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    kicks ass!
  4. DtotheMtotheXslip&DMX
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    i think that this album is one of his greatest album's.
  5. BenZ
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    this album is bad ass!!!!
  6. NhiaH
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    Dmx new album Grand champ is the rawest shit. I give this album a fuckin' ten.
  7. lukem
    Oct 1, 2003
    9
    Great CD but not his best yet it's dark and hell is hot is still my no1 album.
  8. MannieV
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    this album iz tha tightest from dmx's previous albums
  9. olaoyea
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    its tha bom i always loved his shit.
  10. RoyK
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Tha Bomb Have all his cd's this one by far is the illist dats wy dis dog gav it da 10
  11. YouareabiginfluenceXcon
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    Dog I have listen to your album from It's Dark And Hell Is Hot, And in my oppinion I think that is your greatest album yet. But Grand Champ is something to listen to. That is really heart felt. And if I could of stop you from leaving us like this man, I would cause for one , I'm going to miss you. FUCK what these critics have to say about you, they know nothing about you, but Dog I have listen to your album from It's Dark And Hell Is Hot, And in my oppinion I think that is your greatest album yet. But Grand Champ is something to listen to. That is really heart felt. And if I could of stop you from leaving us like this man, I would cause for one , I'm going to miss you. FUCK what these critics have to say about you, they know nothing about you, but yet they wanna judge. How many person can say my life is worth talking about, or having made into a biography and brought out movies that you stared in currently. So FUCK those bitch ass critics, each one of them needs to be fucking shot, yeah fucking bite in the ass by a grown ass female pit bull then go head talkin shit. I love you X, I understand everything you be saying. 1 Expand
  12. heyyo
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    cd is the shit
  13. DarkMan
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    What the fuck is with the critics? X felt like ranting on this CD, it's aggressive and it fits his style. What, you thought he turned soft? Don't get it twisted, X is still #1, as he will be forever. I'm sad to see him go, but I'll be listening to his 5 albums (FIVE TIME!!) for years. There ain't one other rapper who can fuck with him, you critics know nothing. What the fuck is with the critics? X felt like ranting on this CD, it's aggressive and it fits his style. What, you thought he turned soft? Don't get it twisted, X is still #1, as he will be forever. I'm sad to see him go, but I'll be listening to his 5 albums (FIVE TIME!!) for years. There ain't one other rapper who can fuck with him, you critics know nothing. Sarcastic bitches, you don't deserve to review it. Expand
  14. MCTAZ
    Feb 2, 2004
    10
    Sorry to say this to all you doubters but you need to get a life coz this album is phat! i mean the lyrics are just genius and shot down with 50 cent is amazing. all you doubters just get on the floor or your a** gotta go
  15. od
    Mar 11, 2004
    10
    nobody can beat a dog down. haterszz get lost
  16. barrym
    Mar 15, 2004
    10
    his best album he has done
  17. BatmanDoofy
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    This is Awesome its DMX!!!!!!!!
  18. dustinb
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    It was a tight ass album that makes his legacy even better than before
  19. IF
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    first of all fuck u rap critcs u motherfuckers no nothing right! especaly u entertanment weekly bitch. watt the fuck do u know about rap? eh? SUCK MY MOTHERFUCKING DICK !!!!!!!!. rIGHT dmx is not lazy dmx shows more competitiveness than other rappers rappin for 20 fucking years!!. could u fuckin do that. i give this album a fucin 100/10. fuck u rap critics!!!
  20. MattC
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    I givet his CD a 10. It is the greatest thing I've spent money on. The way X is goin out with this is the way Michael Jordan would've went out with the Bulls. The greatest rapper delivers the greatest CD and what more ya'll want. Fuck 50, Em, obie, da band, outkast, DMX is the greatest rapper ever and you can't touch that so ya'll can't holla back. X BABY!!!!!!
  21. leighd
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    its hot with exelant beats and nice bace so dmx dont make it your last
  22. VishalP
    Oct 27, 2003
    8
    this is a gr8 album, definately worth buyin' but "it's dark and hell is hot" is better. I think DMX has done excellent in hip-hop, but now that he's goin, his time has passed...and 50 CENT IS THE FUTURE!!! g-g-g-g-g UNIT!!!!
  23. RhondaI
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    Ayo, I rated this as #10 because this is the hottest album out ever and also you is the #1 hardcore rapper in the world, these rappers aint got nothing on you. All I say is keep doing your thing X'Man, and I heard that this was your last album, when I found out I was hurt and I don't won't you to leave this rap game, even though I know it's all yours. yo 1 love. from Ayo, I rated this as #10 because this is the hottest album out ever and also you is the #1 hardcore rapper in the world, these rappers aint got nothing on you. All I say is keep doing your thing X'Man, and I heard that this was your last album, when I found out I was hurt and I don't won't you to leave this rap game, even though I know it's all yours. yo 1 love. from your #1 fan Rhonda Ivey Expand
  24. LadonnaS
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    The Hot Shit. I think Swizz Beatz reached down deep into his roots and put out some of the tightest beats I've ever heard on a Ruff Ryder album. Those magazines critics should just fucking kill over. They wouldn't know real hip-hop,if it came personified and punched them in the eye. "Grand Champ" is just what it says it is. That Get It On The Floor, whoo, that's the hot The Hot Shit. I think Swizz Beatz reached down deep into his roots and put out some of the tightest beats I've ever heard on a Ruff Ryder album. Those magazines critics should just fucking kill over. They wouldn't know real hip-hop,if it came personified and punched them in the eye. "Grand Champ" is just what it says it is. That Get It On The Floor, whoo, that's the hot shit. And Untouchables Expand
  25. DJONE3
    Sep 16, 2003
    8
    Far Better than that Last "Depression" of an album he had Song with Camron is tight and Where the hood at is bangin
  26. scottr
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    Great CD, Not as good as X's First one lyrically, but is one of his best CDs!!!! I enjoy it. It gets you hyped up and his lyrics are deep. Hot. Dont be fooled about what these "other" reviews have said(Playlouder, E Online) They dont know SH*T !!!!!!! ONE
  27. NateDawg
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    This cd is rediculously outradious. Its the best cd out today, no doubt. You couldnt spend 15 bucks on anything else any better. Its GRAND! And if you dont think so, get the balls to tell X himself. Biatch
  28. NickA
    Sep 25, 2003
    8
    hes lyrics are the best in the game everyone knows that... but some of the songs sound alike but it's all good im a double r like my boy DMX..........
  29. RahdaiR
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    this shit is hot
  30. EmilyDickinson
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    This is a great CD. Although it is aggressive, thats what he is. So if you can respect him you can understand the CD well. The critics dont understand him..this is an awesome CD.
  31. AdrianR
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    Fuk all ya'll hater X the hottest and hardcore rapper there is fuk 50 dmx been doing it for a while have love for 50 but if u think about it dmx been in the game a while dog ima biggest fan and this shyt sad its ur last but i have from on to 5 and X is the grand champ fuk it there is no more champ althought 50 is comeing hard he the next champ 1
  32. whatupy'all
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    This CD is the SHIT!. don't listen to the bad reviews this old people are putting up here(They don't know shit about the projects) If you like REAL music straight from the streets get this CD
  33. natec
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    this cd is the bomb i listen to it every day
  34. mohammedali
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    this cd is the best and it is tight as hellalso this cd deserves a 10.
  35. Stainlesssteel
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Dis may not be DMX's best album but it still deserves a 10.If he desides to come out of retirement I would like to see him mix it up a bit more on his next album.
  36. TwistedKate
    Nov 10, 2003
    10
    I happen to love DMX, even if I'm going to rant on about how I love his music. The beat sucks you in, devours you whole, who wouldn't like that?
  37. Julio
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    Hands down the best rap album up to date!!! What else is there to say. Hey x, mad love. Say it aint so. 1 more album. Oh yeah, fuck all the critics. The fans opinions are what matter most. X baby!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  38. CharlesD
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    This cd is tight as hell. Especially Shot down, thats the greatest song...DMX sounds insane in the backround!
  39. gaIlX
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    if i cud giv this cd a 10 i would.. dmx everyone that knos me.. knos that i idolize u.. u are tha freakn best rapper.. screw G*unit baaby u got it..im yah numba `1` ruFf ryDa.. grand champ..man i love every song on there.. even my parents like it.. PLEASE x dont let this be ur last cd... u are tha best out there.. ahh i love u dmX!!! dont let tha stupid critics get to u .. all tha other if i cud giv this cd a 10 i would.. dmx everyone that knos me.. knos that i idolize u.. u are tha freakn best rapper.. screw G*unit baaby u got it..im yah numba `1` ruFf ryDa.. grand champ..man i love every song on there.. even my parents like it.. PLEASE x dont let this be ur last cd... u are tha best out there.. ahh i love u dmX!!! dont let tha stupid critics get to u .. all tha other rappers rap about hate.. u and 2 pac no how to rap.. u Xpress things so easily... and i FREAKN love how sweeT u were n tha miss u aalyiah video.. god bless u X... ur my IDOL!!!! Expand
  40. daprincess
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    Nothin needs to be said!!!
  41. jonnyh
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    this is the shit. it is almost as good as dizzee rascal
  42. AdamT
    Oct 21, 2003
    9
    I rate this album #2 in the 5 albums my man X has dropped. Only 2nd to "Then there was X".....all the critics need to eat a dick with there hatin on this LP. "Get it on the Floor" is the hot shit and track 2 and "only I can stop the rain" is digs deep into X's emotions and where he's at.......He is the most realest MC in Hip Hop left and hate to see him go......fuck the critics, I rate this album #2 in the 5 albums my man X has dropped. Only 2nd to "Then there was X".....all the critics need to eat a dick with there hatin on this LP. "Get it on the Floor" is the hot shit and track 2 and "only I can stop the rain" is digs deep into X's emotions and where he's at.......He is the most realest MC in Hip Hop left and hate to see him go......fuck the critics, this is an album to truely go out on.........and in closing I give X mad props for honoring his fallen friend Kato......Peace Expand
  43. MeganG
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    I think that this CD is crazy. The songs is off the chains and the beats is off the hook. Most of the critics are wrong about this CD cuz it is hott...this CD deserves a 10 and so does DMX cuz he is hott to.
  44. OMAR
    Sep 21, 2003
    10
    DAMN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is it his last cd and he gave it all to us ,its sick.I would be suprised if this cd doesnt go bigger then all of his .
  45. RichardB
    Sep 21, 2003
    9
    I believe this was a great album, i liked it alot better than all the cd's but the great depression, and i dont care wat the reviewers say, they always have bad opinions anyways.
  46. R-EMCEE
    Sep 22, 2003
    9
    Not as good as Its dark and hell is hot (is any album) but is still a great album. There are loads of stand out tracks: 1) Dogs Intro 2)Where da Hood at? 3)Dogs Out 4)Get it on the Floor 5)Shot Down 6)Untouchables 7)We bout to blow 8)We go Hard 9)On Top 10)X gon give it to ya
  47. JuanE
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    I pitty these so called reviewers, because they know nothing about rap and yet they have the nerve to rate great cds like DMX's Grand Champ and give them crap ratings. Do not pay attention to professional reviewers. All they do is look at the cover and back of a cd, listen to a couple of tracks then post their reviews. It really makes me sick that because of their stupid, uneducated I pitty these so called reviewers, because they know nothing about rap and yet they have the nerve to rate great cds like DMX's Grand Champ and give them crap ratings. Do not pay attention to professional reviewers. All they do is look at the cover and back of a cd, listen to a couple of tracks then post their reviews. It really makes me sick that because of their stupid, uneducated reviews, many people are missing out on great music. On a positve note, DMX debuted number one on billboard's top 100. C'mon, as if you didn't see it coming. Take that you stupid critics. Expand
  48. omarb
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    this album is bom
  49. jurjenf
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    HOT SHIT
  50. Apr 23, 2015
    7
    The album seems to show a DMX a little bit lost in his music creativity, the themes are redundant, his verses all look a little bit similar and the beats are not as good as his previous ones. But, DMX being who he is, the album is still worth de purchase for his signature rough sound and the few great songs it contains like where the hood at and the few other good ones.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Now we see. It is all clear. DMX believes what they say in Def Jam board meetings. He actually believes that what Mr Budden and Just Blaze did earlier this year is what one should do in hip-hop right now - meaning, shout popular thug slogans over irritatingly OTT beats for an hour or so.
  2. Grand Champ would make a great single. As it stands, it's about a full hour more of DMX hollering gruffly than anybody really needs.
  3. Too little stands out to make Grand Champ more than an uneven contender.