Guero - Beck
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. A thoroughly enjoyable LP that sounds warm and familiar upon the first play and gets stronger with each spin.
  2. On one level, Guero is the quintessential Beck album, incorporating aspects of everything he's done.... Yet in tone these songs all carry with them the heaviness of Sea Change.
  3. Many of the songs appear to be little more than weak echoes of their similar predecessors.
  4. 90
    A mouth-watering feast of beats and grooves... as welcome as anything he's done. [Apr 2005, p.100]
  5. The production lacks the loose-fit liveliness and lightness of touch which was The Dust Brothers' trademark back in the mid-'90s. [Apr 2005, p.114]
  6. 60
    While there are enough inspiring moments on here to suggest Beck hasn't yet run out of ideas, it demonstrates that the best way for him to revisit former triumphs would be to travel somewhere new. [Apr 2005, p.92]
  7. His liveliest and jumpiest music in years.
  8. 'Guero' represents a very clever man being clever enough to recognise what he's good at. [19 Mar 2005, p.58]
  9. It sounds like a shadow greatest-hits album, a collection of also-rans offering intriguing variations on past styles.
  10. 'Guero' contains several familiar sounds merely repackaged and freshened up - remnants of the party album mentality of 'Midnite Vultures' sit next to the eclecticism of 'Odelay' and the folk sensibilities of 'Mutations'. What negates this is the conviction with which it's all delivered.
  11. 75
    It's his most varied record, but it also sounds for the first time like he's tryinig to make a "Beck album." [Apr 2005, p.97]
  12. Guero's easy, confident flow makes it easy to underrate but, despite his reputation as a slacker, Beck's biggest weakness has always been trying too hard. It's good to hear him so happy in his own clothes.
  13. Long live the king of hip. [May 2005, p.132]
  14. It's probably best that the album we've been waiting so long to hear is as safe as Guero is. At this point we just want our Beck, and Guero is as Beck as Beck can be.
  15. While it lacks the churn or drama of his earlier work or the dour intensity of Sea Change, it’s an album remarkable in its consistent, pleasant above-averageness, punctuated by bursts of true genius.
  16. The album’s biggest weakness lies in its arrangements.
  17. 80
    Bubbles with kooky sounds and melodic invention. [Apr 2005, p.112]
  18. 80
    Finds [Beck] consolidating his considerable talent by combining all his disparate influences into one coherent collection of songs. [#15, p.90]
  19. If this record had come out in ’94 it would have been groundbreaking. ’98 and it would have been good. But it’s ’05 now, and there aren’t many reasons to be impressed.
  20. "Guero" explores all of Beck's influences and revisits so many of his finer ideas. It's not the cheeky soul-funk orgy of "Midnite Vultures," but something more mature.
  21. Guero is a record with lots of great ideas and some very good songs... but I can't help thinking that there's just something missing from this release.
  22. 80
    Remarkably, the shifts in tone and mood only serve Guero in the end. [#67, p.85]
  23. Guero isn't exactly Odelay. It's more like a photo album tracing the phases in Beck's musical career.
  24. Where his previous albums have seesawed between comedy and despair, "Guero" comes closer than ever to merging them. [21 Mar 2005]
  25. "Guero" proves that the old, post-modern magic still works.
  26. Beck has shed himself of Sea Change’s need to shelter himself in his songs. We have our urban craftsman back, to stir the dust in sampled record grooves and unearth for us, again and again, the new in the old and vice versa.
  27. Guero is Beck’s most enjoyable long-player because it doesn’t pretend to be more than what it is: a fun collection of disparate, delicious songs.
  28. 80
    Beck at his best. [Apr 2005, p.100]
  29. Guero turns out to be much stronger than its provenance suggests. [#256, p.66]
  30. Too often tracks drag us down below the high standard an artist like Beck Hanson has set himself. Red Hot Chili Peppers outtakes with some harmonica and vocoder balanced incongruously on top are frankly not good enough.
  31. 100
    Beck's taken everything he's good at and made it better.
  32. Beck's sampler-songwriter m.o. feels freshest on songs evoking some version, real or imaginary, of Southern California.
  33. One must realize that this album was created to be fresh but not necessarily edgy. The difference means that the effort is intended to be highly enjoyable but not breakthrough material.
  34. Guero is all over the map but the majority of its detours simply aren’t worth the trip.
  35. There is nothing here that thrills with its audacity, beauty, beat or lyrics. Instead, we are given a solid batch of songs that for any other artist would be a crowning achievement, but for Beck is just mediocre.
  36. It's endearingly all over the place, but depressingly self-referential.
  37. Beck integrates his personae into a fairly seamless whole, and his knack for synthesizing disparate musical elements (hip-hop, robot funk, blues, country, jazz, garage rock, etc.) extends beyond samples and individual tracks. The songs migrate smoothly from one to the next; there aren’t any throwaway numbers to sabotage the album’s momentum; the whole thing coheres.
  38. Even though Guero sounds familiar sonically, it still pushes Beck further into a league that he all but owns.
  39. One of Beck's most admirable traits is that when he tries on a new culture, he makes fun of his effort louder than anyone else can.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 78
  2. Negative: 2 out of 78
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    Parts of this records are brilliant but too much of it sits in a lull. Too many boring tracks that just plod along to rank up with Beck's bestParts of this records are brilliant but too much of it sits in a lull. Too many boring tracks that just plod along to rank up with Beck's best work. Some great singles on it though. Full Review »
  2. RyanR
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    "Girl" is possibly the best song by Beck, even if the chorus is "cyanide girl". I love "Que Onda Guero" 's street sounds. Interesting "Girl" is possibly the best song by Beck, even if the chorus is "cyanide girl". I love "Que Onda Guero" 's street sounds. Interesting note, the songs "Go It Alone" and "Farewell Ride" are written in collaboration with the Beastie Boys. Full Review »
  3. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Probably my favorite Beck record. Took a few listens to totally grow on me. I own them all. But this one has such strong production valuesProbably my favorite Beck record. Took a few listens to totally grow on me. I own them all. But this one has such strong production values and strong catchy songs that never get old. I like most of his work. I even put on his Stereopathetic Soul Manure for memory lanes and just to listen to something different. I am a fan. I liked Sea Change, but thought there was several tracks that just don't hold up that well on it. This was like going on a good roller coaster ride after Sea Change. This is a very accomplished album.. some stand out tracks include, "Scarecrow, " "Go it alone," and "Black Tambourine." Some of his finest work is right here on "Guero." Full Review »