Guero

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2005
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 149

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanR
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    "Girl" is possibly the best song by Beck, even if the chorus is "cyanide girl". I love "Que Onda Guero" 's street sounds. Interesting note, the songs "Go It Alone" and "Farewell Ride" are written in collaboration with the Beastie Boys.
  2. nealh
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    This album is listening from the first track to the last. Beck refines his songs content while maintaining his familiar style.
  3. KatJ
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable. The album is full of irresistable Beck beats to move you to the very core. Reminds of Odelay only better. I think he's giving people what they've been asking for. How can you have anything but admiration for this kind of creative gift. Guero is another genious venture by Beck that will be an inspiration to all who love his work. Art is great.
  4. StephenW
    Apr 1, 2005
    7
    Beck still sits at the table with the kings of pop-culture (Radiohead, Daily Show, etc.), but many of the tracks did sound as if he and the Dust Brothers were trying to introduce a new audience to his previous albums. Good for them. Maybe one day we'll stop treating Paris Hilton and the Olsen twins as zeitgieists and give credit weher credit is due.
  5. MikeK
    May 23, 2005
    10
    Just when I gave up on Beck, he comes out with this great album. Although it seems the 2nd half of the album lags compared to the eclectic and funky 1st half. I think that E-Pro's video outshines the song, but "Girl, Que Onda Guero, Missing & Earthquake Weather" are the gems of this CD.
  6. BrianL
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    Beck continues to rule!
  7. Matt
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    A nice return to the free-wheeling Beck, if not as wowing now as it was before.
  8. RodrigoM
    Jul 3, 2005
    7
    Beck's success was based on the creativity and sarcasm of a pretty young genius. Now, 12 years after "Loser", Guero sounds like a struggle between maturity and ahopeless atempt of holding to something that is already gone. Well produced and mixing a vast set of influences, Guero sounds like a decent collage, but fails to deliever the fresh feeling of his early material or the Beck's success was based on the creativity and sarcasm of a pretty young genius. Now, 12 years after "Loser", Guero sounds like a struggle between maturity and ahopeless atempt of holding to something that is already gone. Well produced and mixing a vast set of influences, Guero sounds like a decent collage, but fails to deliever the fresh feeling of his early material or the accomplished mature sound of Sea Change or Mutatuions. Expand
  9. JackC
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Casually brilliant progression from his earlier exercises.
  10. MichaelZ
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    It's an album you can't review after a week on the shelf. The Beck influence looms large. Lets wait a few for the real dope on his new stuff. I dig it now, but it's ultimate re-playability is what has always made Beck the gold standard. I think this album will grow into a tasty biscuit.
  11. JoséR
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    Uma sintese de toda a musica de Beck. Muito bom.
  12. TristanL
    Mar 30, 2005
    8
    Pretty good. Like the previous albums it leaps everywhere, especially away from Sea Change. Very good and worth a listen, back to the days of Odelay. Hopefully someday a merge of Sea Change/Mutations melancholy and Odelay/Guero A.D.D. will merge to form something miraculous...
  13. peterm
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    One of his best: blood and pain and collage and funk!
  14. BobyJ
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    Holy crap this album is fantastic! Who makes music like this these days? Friggin NOBODY! He's the best this generation has to offer.
  15. Joris
    Apr 1, 2005
    7
    For me their's only one standout-track here and that's the haunting BROKEN DRUM. Brings back the beauty that Sea Change was. Another favourite is Earthquake Weather. Don't know if it's as funky as Odelay like some reviewers acclaim, but the funky Que onda guero and especially Hell Yes definitely proove the old Beck is back! Overall a good album with catchy tunes like For me their's only one standout-track here and that's the haunting BROKEN DRUM. Brings back the beauty that Sea Change was. Another favourite is Earthquake Weather. Don't know if it's as funky as Odelay like some reviewers acclaim, but the funky Que onda guero and especially Hell Yes definitely proove the old Beck is back! Overall a good album with catchy tunes like Hell Yes, Girl and Rental Car. But mostly fogettavle songs like E-pro, which I can appreciate however, and Scarecrow: Good idea for a song but much too long. They had to cut back that track to 3-4 minutes and it would have been great. A 7! Expand
  16. WilliamM
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Im along with many others the biggest Beck fan in the world, everybody love at least one beck song and with the release of guero everyone has 13 more reasons to love his diverse unusual sound. i'm glad their are few musical geniuses around. Band that are catchy like modest mouse, Frans Ferdinand, Razorlite, and so many other bands that are just coming out of now where, playing music Im along with many others the biggest Beck fan in the world, everybody love at least one beck song and with the release of guero everyone has 13 more reasons to love his diverse unusual sound. i'm glad their are few musical geniuses around. Band that are catchy like modest mouse, Frans Ferdinand, Razorlite, and so many other bands that are just coming out of now where, playing music that requires no talent or thought just pisses me off, anybody can sitdown for one day and come up with much more deep and skillful album. beck is just as refreshing as it gets. one more thing, as soon as i turn of the radio my ears bleed from the dull repetitiveness of the common song that is on a loop to be played every 30 minutes. Expand
  17. ScottH
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    Okay, so it's not his best, I still love it and it's so far one of my absolute favs of this year, which i know isn't saying much since I've hated a lot so far this year. this one has stayed in my player ever since i've gotten it and i've hit repeat a awful lot.
  18. KatieS
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    This is the best Beck album yet! The first two were my favorite, and this seems like a return to his roots.
  19. KristoferK
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Arguably Becks best album. Most diverse since Odelay
  20. StripedCollar
    May 5, 2005
    9
    Amazing album. A coherent new sounds with hints of old and completely new elements. Absolutely fantastic. Saying Beck is a master would be an understatement.
  21. BryanS
    May 6, 2005
    7
    Beck has always been an extrordinary artist with ridiculous talent. He was invariably one of two prodigal children to emerge from the 90s (the second being Bjork). This album was more or less a disappointment. Not because the music is terrible, but because Mr. Hansen is more than capable of releasing another life-altering record. Guero has it's definite ups and downs. His lyrics are Beck has always been an extrordinary artist with ridiculous talent. He was invariably one of two prodigal children to emerge from the 90s (the second being Bjork). This album was more or less a disappointment. Not because the music is terrible, but because Mr. Hansen is more than capable of releasing another life-altering record. Guero has it's definite ups and downs. His lyrics are more reserved, but still hold firmly to his trademark witticism and irony. The end result of multiple listens is an empty feeling in your soul. An utterly amazing artist, a rather drab record. Expand
  22. DavidHatfieldTheHallowmoniumGuy
    May 8, 2005
    10
    It's good to know that there are still some artists left in music.
  23. KenH
    Jun 1, 2005
    8
    Exceeds Odelay in songwriting strength and sonic production. One of the year's 10 best.
  24. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    9
    At the risk of sounding like every rave review on this site, Beck is a genius. His lyrics are probably the best of the 90s-2000s. Hooks galore on this album. And Scarecrow is one insanely great song among many great songs on this album. If you can't find something to love on this album, I have to question your musical judgement.
  25. JonathanC
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    I just love it, it's like all his best stuff. I don't care whether it's "groundbreaking" or not, I just enjoy it, and it's definitely better than 90% of the stuff you hear on most of the radio stations these days.
  26. DamoP
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    a return to the fun beck? whoever wrote that line must have read the press release instead of listening to the album. a couple of tracks aside (e-pro springs to mind) the similarities between guero and odelay/midnight vultures are purely superficial. The album has the same world weary feel that sea change did, just presented in a different musical setting
  27. PatO
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Guero is the best album by Beck ever, of 2005 and probably one of the best of this millennium so far.
  28. RyanF
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    Best album i've heard in years and fast becoming my favorite album ever
  29. ReyP
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    What a triumphant return.
  30. menman
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    perfect
  31. devint
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    the best thing since pizza
  32. ChrisC
    Mar 28, 2005
    9
    This is probably Beck's best album since Odelay. (And I am a fan of Sea Change). There are a few duds, which is not the case for Odelay, but there are a few fantastic songs and the album is overall just really, really fun. Critics can't seem to make up their minds whether to criticize Beck for his previous experimentation, or for his current regression to Odelay-type music. But This is probably Beck's best album since Odelay. (And I am a fan of Sea Change). There are a few duds, which is not the case for Odelay, but there are a few fantastic songs and the album is overall just really, really fun. Critics can't seem to make up their minds whether to criticize Beck for his previous experimentation, or for his current regression to Odelay-type music. But this is just really good music. Expand
  33. [Anonymous]
    Mar 28, 2005
    9
    It's certainly not as fresh as Odelay, as slinky as Midnite Vultures, or as deep as Sea Change. What it is: Beck having fun. I dig it.
  34. LinoG
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    I cannot believe how many people out there bring up this album and that album when trying to describe Guero. Try this instead: don't compare it. It is beyond any comparison. Guero is another phenominal Beck album. A 10. A supreme work of art sure which makes most of the music today seem all the more pathetic and meaningless. To the media? You're just as ignorant as anyone else I cannot believe how many people out there bring up this album and that album when trying to describe Guero. Try this instead: don't compare it. It is beyond any comparison. Guero is another phenominal Beck album. A 10. A supreme work of art sure which makes most of the music today seem all the more pathetic and meaningless. To the media? You're just as ignorant as anyone else how cares to deny this album the credit it deserves. Expand
  35. cmac
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    outstanding. innovative and diversified. anything but boring.
  36. TR
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    Another wonderful album. The good thing about Beck is that he draws clear lines to his influences, but somehow, someway, it sounds always sounds like a Beck album. He's done it again.
  37. CliffG
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite Beck album yet. Its got all the catchy, bouncy stuff that Odelay had and more. There's some of the "Sea Change" style slower stuff on it too, but for those looking for Beck's work with grooves that are big, round, bouncy, heavy, catchy, and innovative, you will love this one.
  38. AlexA
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    Incredible! I loved every second of it. It is great to hear more great music from Beck once again!!
  39. matta
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    cant get out of head but there good songs
  40. AnneW
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    This CD has made me a Beck fan!
  41. BradM.
    Apr 4, 2005
    8
    I think this is a really solid album all the way through which comes as a bit of a relief considering that the buzz surrounding the leak seemed to indicate that this batch of tunes might not be so hot. First off, alot of people are criticizing this album as though it were a watered down Odelay (namely Pitchfork whose review was awful. Try discussing the songs rather than concentrating on I think this is a really solid album all the way through which comes as a bit of a relief considering that the buzz surrounding the leak seemed to indicate that this batch of tunes might not be so hot. First off, alot of people are criticizing this album as though it were a watered down Odelay (namely Pitchfork whose review was awful. Try discussing the songs rather than concentrating on creating your "oh so witty" creative writing projects) but I don't think Beck is necessarily trying to recreate that album. Guero feels more sleek with a more streamlined, groovy sound. Alot of the tunes feel like they were based upon simple but very funky bass lines. Beck has said in interviews that he wanted to maintain a demo-like roughness and simplicity on this album which seems to contradict those who insist that this is supposed to be Odelay 2. Granted, I still think Odelay is a better album because Beck seemed to perfect the particular style he was trying to attain on that project. In contrast, I think with Guero, Beck is a little more tentative and perhaps this shows slightly in that some tracks feel as though they aren't quite fully completed. There's a fine line between a song that is restained and a song that is underdeveloped. For example, Black Tambourine is a really enjoyable track but it feels rather slight. Similarly, e-pro is rockin' but I'd much rather hear lyrics in the place of nananas. Despite these small misgivings, this is a great album. It's not a masterpiece and it doesn't blow my mind the way Odelay did but it's a relief to see Beck getting back to mixing and matching weird sounds rather than giving us a snooze fest of lyrical cliches and C chords. Expand
  42. PeterH
    Apr 7, 2005
    8
    I think it's wrong to say that this sounds like Odelay. It's much better. It doesn't rely on the Dust Brothers' tricks that catapulted Beck and others into the spotlight in the 1990s and it's better for it. Give it a few listens and Guero starts to open up, showing what a mature and diverse an artist Beck is. I'll probably give it a 9 next week.
  43. BeckJesus
    May 7, 2005
    10
    I'd give it a 17 if the man weren't holding me down
  44. JonH
    Jun 21, 2005
    8
    This is going to be one of those summer albums that you turn on when the weather is warm and just feel good about life. The first 6 tracks are some of Beck's best songs. "Girl," in particular, may be the best song of the year. This is vintage Beck - the groove of Midnight Vultures with the arrangements of Mutations - Beck toys with his listeners, knowing he can deliver the goods at This is going to be one of those summer albums that you turn on when the weather is warm and just feel good about life. The first 6 tracks are some of Beck's best songs. "Girl," in particular, may be the best song of the year. This is vintage Beck - the groove of Midnight Vultures with the arrangements of Mutations - Beck toys with his listeners, knowing he can deliver the goods at any time yet choosing to not always to do so, so his act doesn't get old. The only thing keeping this album from being as great as Midnight Vultures and Mutations is the back of the album, which slows considerably from the dynamite first half. This is Beck's third best album, but a better one than most artists will ever put out in their careers. Expand
  45. zilla
    Jun 24, 2005
    9
    I must admit, after my first spin I chalked it up to rehashed Odely. But wow, this album is tight and it just keeps getting better as it becomes more familar to my ear...the hooks are so good and the production buts you in an array of colorful environments. Perfect soundtrack to my summer..."hey guero...ya bro!" Did anyone hear that the back up female vocals in "Hell Yes" are supplied by I must admit, after my first spin I chalked it up to rehashed Odely. But wow, this album is tight and it just keeps getting better as it becomes more familar to my ear...the hooks are so good and the production buts you in an array of colorful environments. Perfect soundtrack to my summer..."hey guero...ya bro!" Did anyone hear that the back up female vocals in "Hell Yes" are supplied by Christina Ricci? Expand
  46. chrisf
    Jul 14, 2005
    7
    A very varied album... very much a fusion of Odelay, Sea change and Midnight vultures all in one album. There is fun in this album, Odelay and Mellow Gold still are the best..
  47. ALANF
    Jul 16, 2005
    8
    This album has cool oozing from every byte. It's got old school style, futuristic glitz but it reflects where popular music is right now. In some ways it'soverall effect is bordering on MOR but there's an art in acheiving that with such a complex mix of sampling and high level musicianship. Latin grooves give it a world music feel and some of it feels close to Ry Cooder This album has cool oozing from every byte. It's got old school style, futuristic glitz but it reflects where popular music is right now. In some ways it'soverall effect is bordering on MOR but there's an art in acheiving that with such a complex mix of sampling and high level musicianship. Latin grooves give it a world music feel and some of it feels close to Ry Cooder with abrasive strings, ghetto talkovers and brilliant production values. At the same time it remains totally Beck in its electronica production values and as a personal statement of what he likes doing - and maybe that's what makes this CD stand out. Some of the tracks eg Black Tambourine and Que Onda Guero, sound like well recorded jams over a few drinks and are essentially just bloody good rhthymic vibes to get off on. The overall rugged effect belies the production sophistication and the close listener can spin out on the thoughtful nuances in the latinate rhythms and percussive details that drive it on. But it's not the detail that makes this CD a success; it's the boldness. It's the overdriven grunge in the distorted riff of the opening track; the cool in the overlayered backing haromonies when cool is needed, and it's the feeling that each of these little pop statements just does what it sets out to do - happily entertain the listener for a few minutes. What elevates it is that, unlike so many contemporary albums, this one doesn't only make you want to stay in the party, it makes you want to party on - so don't be surprised to find yourself having just as much fun with this CD in the car on the way home from the party it was being played at. Expand
  48. jacobm
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    I have never been really into Beck, but I am always on the look out for new good music from ALL different genres and this album put a whole new twist on things for me. I love it, this is great music.
  49. LuisG
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    ....back in the groove .....and back on land( from SEA CHNAGE) beck delivers again ala odelay and mutations but with more ambition and less blab....some tracks highlight extraordinare others just bounce off the walls making you hit repeat again and again....too bad the market in inundated with hip-hop crap.....heck even becks plays tribute but with creativity and non abrasive words and ....back in the groove .....and back on land( from SEA CHNAGE) beck delivers again ala odelay and mutations but with more ambition and less blab....some tracks highlight extraordinare others just bounce off the walls making you hit repeat again and again....too bad the market in inundated with hip-hop crap.....heck even becks plays tribute but with creativity and non abrasive words and beats ......WE LOVE BACK HERE !!! Expand
  50. TomB
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    back to his very best; from the grin-worthy e-pro to the soulful girl and the yeah yeah yeahs of rental car...a masterpiece.
  51. AdamW
    May 13, 2007
    9
    Guero & The Information sound like 2 halves of one very long double album..Guero is the better half though. Playful and somber at the same time, the majority of Guero sounds like Beck enjoying the up-side of a bout of manic depression.
  52. RichK
    Dec 16, 2005
    8
    My favorite album from Beck. Great stuff.
  53. marshallm
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    pretty darn great. rating: 9.1
  54. MisterFurious
    Mar 26, 2005
    9
    IThere's a lot of people out there still waiting for a sequel to Odelay. Well as much as I love that album, I never want one. Thanks Beck, Guero will do just fine for this fan.
  55. ChrisJ
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Gave Sea Change a 10, however this is a nice change of pace upwards.
  56. DerekS
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    For all the critics who "claim" this "Odelay 2" or Red Hot Chili Peppers outtakes just aren't listinging. This Album has "hints" of Odelay yes, but it is also influenced by his other albums(Mellow Gold, Mutations, Midnite Vultues, and Sea Change). Music critics get so caught up in needing something totally fresh or new, that most the time the most praised albums are not good, just For all the critics who "claim" this "Odelay 2" or Red Hot Chili Peppers outtakes just aren't listinging. This Album has "hints" of Odelay yes, but it is also influenced by his other albums(Mellow Gold, Mutations, Midnite Vultues, and Sea Change). Music critics get so caught up in needing something totally fresh or new, that most the time the most praised albums are not good, just different. This is what music should be! Catchy melodies, good hooks and great production. Thanks Beck, for keeping true to your game. It's why you are a modern music icon, and the so called "Breakthrough Artist" will be featured in 99 cent used CD bins across the nation. Aw Yeah My Goodness!!!!! Expand
  57. JonH.
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Another wonderfully solid album from Beck, he just doesn't disappoint me one bit. One thing it isn't though is a complete return to "fun" of odelay and midnite vultures, it's a lot more serious.
  58. markf
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    The rating should be 8.5, but I have no choice. The album is in no way a party album, but if somebody loves "Sea Change", then this is a party album. But this album doesn't really even remotely sound like "Odelay", "Mellow Gold" or "Midnite Vultures". It's closer to a perked-up "Mutations" and "Sea Change". That's fine with me, since Beck is a certified guarantor of good The rating should be 8.5, but I have no choice. The album is in no way a party album, but if somebody loves "Sea Change", then this is a party album. But this album doesn't really even remotely sound like "Odelay", "Mellow Gold" or "Midnite Vultures". It's closer to a perked-up "Mutations" and "Sea Change". That's fine with me, since Beck is a certified guarantor of good shit, just like Radiohead. There aren't that many. My faves after four listens are: "E-Pro", "Girl", "Go It Alone", "Farewell Ride". But I hear nothing weak; yes, it sounds like Beck. Isn't it supposed to? Expand
  59. christophern
    Apr 11, 2005
    8
    I am not a huge Beck fan, but this album is a good mix of his stylings. If you're a fan of albums like Midnite Vultures, you'll probably really enjoy this album.
  60. VicenteF
    Aug 16, 2005
    9
    Beck return to the good way, his way..
  61. TravisW
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    The most solid Beck album yet. "Girl", "Earthquake Weather", and "Rental Car" are reasons enough to buy this album.
  62. carloss
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    Then again, who doesn't hate Beck?
  63. markm
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    this album is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  64. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    I've never been a huge fan of Beck until I heard this album. Guero is the perfect blend of funk, folk, rap, and rock he's ever done. Each track is so perfectly produced. Beck's vocals have never been better. All In All, Guero is a near perfect album. A-
  65. j30
    Feb 19, 2012
    8
    Even though Guero is not nearly as good as Odelay, the album feels like a return to form for Beck. Where with his past few albums he has messed around with genres (Midnight Vultures and Sea Change). The music in Guero feels like a fresh start from the heart wrenching Sea Change.
  66. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This album is an all round perfect, except for that anoying Hell Yes track
  67. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Probably my favorite Beck record. Took a few listens to totally grow on me. I own them all. But this one has such strong production values and strong catchy songs that never get old. I like most of his work. I even put on his Stereopathetic Soul Manure for memory lanes and just to listen to something different. I am a fan. I liked Sea Change, but thought there was several tracksProbably my favorite Beck record. Took a few listens to totally grow on me. I own them all. But this one has such strong production values and strong catchy songs that never get old. I like most of his work. I even put on his Stereopathetic Soul Manure for memory lanes and just to listen to something different. I am a fan. I liked Sea Change, but thought there was several tracks that just don't hold up that well on it. This was like going on a good roller coaster ride after Sea Change. This is a very accomplished album.. some stand out tracks include, "Scarecrow, " "Go it alone," and "Black Tambourine." Some of his finest work is right here on "Guero." Expand
  68. Jun 25, 2016
    8
    it's certainly Beck's most accessible album to date, and it is arguably the same formula as of predecessors rearranged and jumbled, but it's no less a fun and groovy ride.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. The New York Times
    80
    Where his previous albums have seesawed between comedy and despair, "Guero" comes closer than ever to merging them. [21 Mar 2005]
  2. While it lacks the churn or drama of his earlier work or the dour intensity of Sea Change, it’s an album remarkable in its consistent, pleasant above-averageness, punctuated by bursts of true genius.
  3. Too often tracks drag us down below the high standard an artist like Beck Hanson has set himself. Red Hot Chili Peppers outtakes with some harmonica and vocoder balanced incongruously on top are frankly not good enough.