Hail To The Thief

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2003
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 488 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 488

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. boo
    Jan 28, 2006
    0
    pablo honey is way better. this music isn't rock like i thought it would be.
  2. M.O.
    Aug 5, 2003
    3
    Disappointing and far the worst radiohead album yet.
  3. jamesc
    Mar 10, 2005
    2
    i have been a radiohead fan from the start, i thought there was enough good material on the previous 2 albums to justify their release but this is very poor! because it is so strange , people seem afraid to criticise, but being a fan i have tried to let it grow but to no avail. i will say however, it takes more than a bad album to ruin a great bands reputation. if ya wanna geet into i have been a radiohead fan from the start, i thought there was enough good material on the previous 2 albums to justify their release but this is very poor! because it is so strange , people seem afraid to criticise, but being a fan i have tried to let it grow but to no avail. i will say however, it takes more than a bad album to ruin a great bands reputation. if ya wanna geet into radiohead, focus on the earlier stuff, forget this one! Expand
  4. lewisc
    Apr 24, 2006
    0
    shit
  5. Meat
    Jun 6, 2003
    3
    I've been a RH fan for years and each new release makes me more angry. I boycotted Amnesiac for the simple fact of them putting out that "live" release with only 8 or 9 songs... for $20. Puulleeze! I can only go back to a review of Kid A by Pavement's S.M. when he said it was "dull". Well, I definitely didn't agree with him then, but I agree now, "Thief" is definitely DULL. I've been a RH fan for years and each new release makes me more angry. I boycotted Amnesiac for the simple fact of them putting out that "live" release with only 8 or 9 songs... for $20. Puulleeze! I can only go back to a review of Kid A by Pavement's S.M. when he said it was "dull". Well, I definitely didn't agree with him then, but I agree now, "Thief" is definitely DULL. The first 5 are dozers. Just a complete bore. And get over yourself - it doesn't make you cool any more if you say you dig them. Johnny needs to break away and go solo. I can't take it anymore. Expand
  6. StupidYorke
    Jun 7, 2003
    0
    this is poseur crap being churned out at the highest level. disgusting, makes me puke
  7. JimM
    Jun 10, 2003
    0
    Radiohead is a commercial monster and must be paying off these so called magazine reviewers/critiques. You guys must be tone deaf.
  8. BrianB
    Jun 5, 2003
    3
    Someone please get Thom some prosaic, Radiohead need to stop playing at Joy Division, they simply aren't that dark. Thom ever do a Curtis, or start producing decent albums again and stop hiding behind technology and 'the scene'. The paranoid despot is becoming corny..
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Q Magazine
    70
    As admirable as Radiohead's quest ongoing quest to ignore expectations, tear up the manual and proudly rebel against the limitations of 4/4 time seems, some of Hail To The Thief comes dangerously close to being all experimentalism and precious little substance. [Jul 2003, p.98]
  2. Of course it's political, and of course it continues to merge electronic experimentation with more familiar rock structures; but it employs all those debate-igniting props simply to further the band's more pressing agenda: to tirelessly explore beauty's terrible fragility.
  3. Hail to the Thief is overloaded with miraculous sounds.