Halcyon Digest

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Halcyon Digest Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Atlanta-based quartet's fourth album combines calm shoegaze pop and noisy punk rock to create a dreamy, psychedelic sound.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    100
    Halcyon Digest goes by like a breeze, and when it's finished there's nothing better to do than play it again.
  2. 90
    Bradford Cox's jagged, swirling atmospherics reach an apotheosis on this hazy but blissful offering.
  3. Only Deerhunter makes echoes without egos, grounding even Bradford Cox's most wayward divergences in an all-encompassing blend of simple rock stylings.
  4. Mojo
    80
    With Halycon Digest, Deerhunter are dealing in an altogether different kind of tension. [Oct. 2010, p. 90]
  5. While Deerhunter may not be a solo project--though a couple of the songs here were recorded solo--this band is the musical realm of Bradford Cox. And if he hasn't found the same amount of fame as Win Butler or even Avey Tare, then probably it's because the lethargically gorgeous world he has crafted isn't inclusive enough allow large numbers of people in.
  6. It's not as immediate as previous Deerhunter albums, but Halcyon Digest has an appeal all its own: It's as difficult to grasp - and as hard to shake - as a memory lingering at the back of your brain.
  7. Halcyon Digest is, to my mind, the best we've seen from Deerhunter, and a hint that their best is still to come. It's a fascinating document to study, but I'm not sure that makes it all great music.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    After every new album that has amazed me this year, I immediately tell myself "Best of the year". But after a few weeks, I dont quite feel theAfter every new album that has amazed me this year, I immediately tell myself "Best of the year". But after a few weeks, I dont quite feel the same way. So this time, I will not say "Best of the year". But damn, it certainly has a chance at taking this spot. Definitely the most beautiful of the year Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Great album.. there is a review for Deerhunter at their recent set at BonnarooGreat album.. there is a review for Deerhunter at their recent set at Bonnaroo
    http://www.examiner.com/music-review-in-atlanta/atlanta-s-own-shines-at-music-s-largest-festival-review
    Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This album is more immediate then Microcastle as it leans more on pop rather then rock, but that doesn't stop it from being an amazingThis album is more immediate then Microcastle as it leans more on pop rather then rock, but that doesn't stop it from being an amazing record. From the ambiance to the hooks, this album explores a little more then Microcastle, I love them both equally, well, actually, I think I'd give a slight edge to Halcyon Digest. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    Another album that plays like a timeless classic from the off. I don't know how they do it because it's hard to define what makes themAnother album that plays like a timeless classic from the off. I don't know how they do it because it's hard to define what makes them different from 99% of rotation rock, but they are. When are they coming to the UK? Soon please before the masses cotton on. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    I'll just come out and say it..If you don't generally like most indie rock, you won't like Deerhunter. However, this is their mostI'll just come out and say it..If you don't generally like most indie rock, you won't like Deerhunter. However, this is their most accessible release, IMO. On the flipside, if you are totally into indie rock and have been following B. Cox's Deerhunter and Atlas Sound, I can understand why you may think this release represents a step in the same direction, and not a growth step. I wont get into an analysis of the music - there are lots of other reviews here that do a good job of that. But overall, this to me is their best record top to bottom. At least four songs are absolutely stellar. "Helicopter", "Desire Lines", "Coronado", and "Fountain Stairs". Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    This is a very good record. It's hard to define what Deerhunter sounder like - it's tuneful indie music with some experimentation. If you likeThis is a very good record. It's hard to define what Deerhunter sounder like - it's tuneful indie music with some experimentation. If you like Indie Pop/Rock then you'll really like them. They've got some Sonic Youth going on with a hint of My Bloody Valentine. This is probably their best record and is a definite progression on from the Microcastle record. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2010
    3
    You know, I've listened to the bulk of Deerhunter and Atlas Sound's collective output, and I've realized a couple things...first, as much asYou know, I've listened to the bulk of Deerhunter and Atlas Sound's collective output, and I've realized a couple things...first, as much as everyone claims that this album is unique and a step ahead, it's stylistically no different from their previous album, Microcastle--same heavily treated guitars droning on for way too long, same vocals wailing with forced emotion in the distance, same clunky percussion. This album is by no means a step forward, and a step forward is what Deerhunter really needed. Second, the album doesn't hook you in and make you want to listen to it all the way through--the opener is a snoozer at best. Bradford Cox may like to write "thought-provoking" instrumentation, but he falls flat on his face when he tries to pen music that's in any way catchy. You have to force yourself through the first couple songs, which I suppose was intentional--Deerhunter panders to an elitist indie clientele, right? Overly dry and pretentious music is sure to weed out the majority of listeners and leave only devoted followers of the band. For everyone who isn't a Bradford fanboy, I highly recommend passing this one by. Halcyon Digest is really not worth the extra time or money. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.
  3. September's Best New Music

    September's Best New Music Image
    Published: September 30, 2010
    Our look at the best-reviewed albums from the past month includes new LPs from Deerhunter, Robert Plant, and Nick Cave's Grinderman project, plus the first releases in many years from Superchunk and Swans. Get the full list inside.