Halcyon

Halcyon Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the British pop singer was produced by Jim Eliot.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 83
    Halcyon could have gone for easy crossovers. But the album is slightly too weird for that--and that's what makes it good.
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    80
    Halcyon is a bold and confident step forward.
  3. 75
    On Halcyon she marries thoughtful ruminations on young love to whooshing synth riffs and hard-edged machine beats; the album claims electronic dance music as the natural province of sensitive singer-songwriters.
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    An ambitious work by an artist intent on developing her total sound, Halcyon finds Goulding poised at the edge of artistic and career possibilities.
  5. Mojo
    Oct 22, 2012
    60
    There is improvement in the songwriting....But halfway through you might well weary at the album's unrelenting, full-bodied tone. [Nov 2012, p.91]
  6. She makes a half-decent dance diva on "I Need Your Love", but I'd ask whether that doesn't defeat the object of being Ellie Goulding, though I still don't know what that object is.
  7. Mainly, Halcyon sees Goulding's quirky-as-usual vocals lazily spliced into factory-standard chart dance.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This album captured my soul right on the first listen. Never before have I experienced so many emotions, from despair and sadness to hope.This album captured my soul right on the first listen. Never before have I experienced so many emotions, from despair and sadness to hope. This album deserves the same success, if not more, than what Adele's 21 has achieved. Expand
  2. May 20, 2013
    10
    Canciones excelentes y un ritmo conmovedor y a la vez impactante, ahora muestra mas tenacidad a la hora de interpretar y de escribir. EllieCanciones excelentes y un ritmo conmovedor y a la vez impactante, ahora muestra mas tenacidad a la hora de interpretar y de escribir. Ellie Goulding la mejor en el DREAM POP. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2015
    10
    I THIND HALCYON WAS THE BEST ALBUM THAT ELLIE GOULDING HAVE EVER RECORDED. IM WRITTING THAT AT 13/11/2015 AND DELIRIUM IS OUT. I HAVE HEARDI THIND HALCYON WAS THE BEST ALBUM THAT ELLIE GOULDING HAVE EVER RECORDED. IM WRITTING THAT AT 13/11/2015 AND DELIRIUM IS OUT. I HAVE HEARD THE WHOLE ALBUM AND I STILL BELIVE THAT HALCYON IS BETTER. HALCYON WAS SPECIAL DELIRIUM IS JUST MAINSTREAM MUSIC. BY THE WAY I WILL ALWAYS LOVE YOU ELLIE AND I WILL ALWAYS SUPPORT YOU! Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Loads of fun and beautiful to listen to. The songs grow on you, and you feel like you are getting to know Ellie Goulding as person. I love this album.
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    A very likable album. Ellie is one of the better singers out there at the moment, and the music her beautiful vocals are set to uniqueA very likable album. Ellie is one of the better singers out there at the moment, and the music her beautiful vocals are set to unique instrumental backgrounds, some a lot different from previous album Lights. It's pop flirting with electronic music, and at that, it does a very good job. Collapse
  6. May 10, 2014
    8
    I love this album. She has a unique voice and the music is awesome. I really love lots of the songs, everyone is very unique but they allI love this album. She has a unique voice and the music is awesome. I really love lots of the songs, everyone is very unique but they all stray in the same sound. I really like her music, but it does seem like Ellie Goulding is a bit of a jerk in real life. Whatever, her music is still great. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    When you have a natural vocal talent, like Ellie Goulding does, it needs to be harvested correctly.
    This is where Goulding's second album
    When you have a natural vocal talent, like Ellie Goulding does, it needs to be harvested correctly.
    This is where Goulding's second album Halcyon falls short. Over-produced on the majority of tracks, with needless sampling and vocal effects. The irony is that an 'effect' in terms of music production is supposed to enhance the dynamic range, stereo field, or audio aspects of a signal, and the vocals on Halcyon have in fact been completely ruined by over-production.

    There are standout tracks, Explosions, Halcyon and JOY where Goulding's stunning vocals can be truly appreciated, however there are tracks such as Only You, Hanging On, and the first track Don't Say A Word which completely wreck the mood, and have moments which just completely bewilder me.

    Being a big fan of her debut album Lights, this was a massive dissapointment for me to listen to, and it makes me concerned with the direction that Goulding is going in.

    Blame Skrillex!
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews