Halcyon

Halcyon Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the British pop singer was produced by Jim Eliot.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 83
    Halcyon could have gone for easy crossovers. But the album is slightly too weird for that--and that's what makes it good.
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    80
    Halcyon is a bold and confident step forward.
  3. 75
    On Halcyon she marries thoughtful ruminations on young love to whooshing synth riffs and hard-edged machine beats; the album claims electronic dance music as the natural province of sensitive singer-songwriters.
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    An ambitious work by an artist intent on developing her total sound, Halcyon finds Goulding poised at the edge of artistic and career possibilities.
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    60
    There is improvement in the songwriting....But halfway through you might well weary at the album's unrelenting, full-bodied tone. [Nov 2012, p.91]
  6. She makes a half-decent dance diva on "I Need Your Love", but I'd ask whether that doesn't defeat the object of being Ellie Goulding, though I still don't know what that object is.
  7. Mainly, Halcyon sees Goulding's quirky-as-usual vocals lazily spliced into factory-standard chart dance.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This album captured my soul right on the first listen. Never before have I experienced so many emotions, from despair and sadness to hope.This album captured my soul right on the first listen. Never before have I experienced so many emotions, from despair and sadness to hope. This album deserves the same success, if not more, than what Adele's 21 has achieved. Expand
  2. May 5, 2013
    10
    One of the BEST albums I've ever heard!!! Highlights are: My Blood, Halcyon, JOY, I Know You Care, I Need Your Love, and Ritual. This album isOne of the BEST albums I've ever heard!!! Highlights are: My Blood, Halcyon, JOY, I Know You Care, I Need Your Love, and Ritual. This album is WAY better than her previous album Lights. Love you Ellie! Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    This is definitely one of the most beautiful pop record of the 2010s: Ellie's vocals are here at their best, whereas the songs are alwaysThis is definitely one of the most beautiful pop record of the 2010s: Ellie's vocals are here at their best, whereas the songs are always intense and well-crafted. Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Second album from the British singer-songwriter. I like this album and even dare to say, that this is maybe even better than Lights; theSecond album from the British singer-songwriter. I like this album and even dare to say, that this is maybe even better than Lights; the album, not the song, nothing beats the song >w< anyway. I mostly enjoyed the album, but far some reason I don't like Atlantis that much, maybe because the high-pitched chipmunk vocals, but other than that it is okay song. This is also a nice contrast to her previous album, that was more light and delightful, when Halcyon is dark and sad yet beautiful. I also think this album deserves more than meta-score of 69-out-of-100, in my opinion the album is great and almost perfect. She deserves more recognition.
    Favourite songs from the album: My Blood, Halcyon, Anything Could Happen, Figure 8, I Know You Care, JOY, Explosions, I Need Your Love, Lights, Stay Awake & High For This.
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Her Voice Is Amazing! Very Creative Lyrics! Do I Smell A Grammy Nomination?
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    I love it. It's so deep, fresh and so good that I never get tired of it. It's perfect in every way. Tracks like "Hanging On", "My Blood",I love it. It's so deep, fresh and so good that I never get tired of it. It's perfect in every way. Tracks like "Hanging On", "My Blood", "Anything Could Happen", "Figure 8" and "Explosions" are literally PERFECT, the lyrics, the sound, the music that is in the whole álbum is excellent. It's true that there are some songs that are no so good in the record, but they fit amazing in it. It's incredible how I never get tired listening to it. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    When you have a natural vocal talent, like Ellie Goulding does, it needs to be harvested correctly.
    This is where Goulding's second album
    When you have a natural vocal talent, like Ellie Goulding does, it needs to be harvested correctly.
    This is where Goulding's second album Halcyon falls short. Over-produced on the majority of tracks, with needless sampling and vocal effects. The irony is that an 'effect' in terms of music production is supposed to enhance the dynamic range, stereo field, or audio aspects of a signal, and the vocals on Halcyon have in fact been completely ruined by over-production.

    There are standout tracks, Explosions, Halcyon and JOY where Goulding's stunning vocals can be truly appreciated, however there are tracks such as Only You, Hanging On, and the first track Don't Say A Word which completely wreck the mood, and have moments which just completely bewilder me.

    Being a big fan of her debut album Lights, this was a massive dissapointment for me to listen to, and it makes me concerned with the direction that Goulding is going in.

    Blame Skrillex!
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews