Hall of Fame - Big Sean
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 91
    Fame finds him rising above even his strongest guest stars.
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    80
    Despite the numerous false starts for a release date, Hall Of Fame has finally arrived and it’s well worth the wait.
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    80
    A charismatic, agile rapper good enough to have a long and successful career, but right now a place in rap’s Hall of Fame is still a stretch.
  4. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    Hall Of Fame was built to last, and while you’ll hardly be calling for Sean’s induction after the conclusion of his sophomore effort, you’ll sure as hell put him on your ballot.
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    70
    Here we find more of the same, with Sean's vocals switching from likeable to thoughtful with a hooky, synthy musical backdrop--it's catchy as hell.
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    70
    With a few more standout moments, and a bit less filler, the perception could well have matched the reality in a more positive manner.
  7. Aug 29, 2013
    70
    Needless to say, Big Sean may not have solidified his position in the rap hall of fame, but is certainly in the process of paving his way.
  8. Aug 29, 2013
    70
    Fifteen cuts means this one is fat with an "f" and a bit too cumbersome to convert on first listen, but the sophomore slump this is not, meaning anyone who devoured Sean's debut should re-up with this one.
  9. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    While Sean obviously lacks his mentor's star power or ambition, he shows more heart than he typically gets credit for.
  10. Aug 26, 2013
    70
    As a whole, the feel-good album’s set of eclectic beats doesn’t disappoint, but it lacks diversity.
  11. Aug 27, 2013
    67
    The mood is so consistently upbeat and agreeable that nearly everything works, especially the tracks that pair Sean with a strong singer.
  12. Oct 31, 2013
    60
    Floating in a world over-saturated with hip-hop cliches, it’s not that the Detroit rapper doesn’t set himself apart from the rest of the genre’s newest, youngest and best MCs with these 15 tracks (18 for you deluxe edition fans), it’s just that he doesn’t set himself apart enough.
  13. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    The Detroit MC gets over on congeniality and crisp delivery, even when his lyrics are pro forma.
  14. Aug 26, 2013
    60
    All together, that makes Hall of Fame beautiful more often than it’s interesting, because Big Sean’s ear is working smarter than his mouth.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Big Sean's first cd was not my favorite, There were a few OK songs, but overall it was a lazy cookie cutter album, that was nothing spec
    ial. This really turned me off of listing to Bis Sean. But I figured this was his first release to get himself out there. But I digress.

    Then about a year ago he released his mix tape Detroit. This album really changed my opinion of Sean. In this mix tape he really steed up his game, and i feel really found himself musically, after that i became a big fan. Then he announced his sophomore release, Hall of fame. I was very excited.

    I was scared hall of fame would be like finally famous. But I waited patiently.
    It was finally released, but i was scared after hearing MILF, i waited to listen to it...'
    But I finally got to it, and how i regret not picking it up the second it hit stores.

    With HOF he picks right up where he left off on Detroit. The album is very well done. The beats, perfect. His flow has gotten sicker, and lyrically he has gotten so much better. I like how some songs have a purpose compared to alot of rap anymore. The whole album through and through just feels complete and flows well with no hiccups (except Freaky & MILF) This really stands out from the recent rap releases.

    Just pick this up, you will not regret it. He one of the best rappers out at in this time of rap mediocrity.
    Full Review »
  2. N10
    Aug 31, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed this one. With the "Detroit" mixtape and "Hall of Fame" I hold them as his best and also as a new bright start for the kid. Big Sean has improved, it's heard here. Lyrically got the skill up and as an artist he's gotten better. The beat selection's are crazy, top notch production and as most rapper's lacks in he dosen't choose unneccesary guest features. Rapper's such as Nas, Kid Cudi and Nicki Minaj did bring some extra fire, and the coice of singer's did bring some fine hooks and catchy meleodies. He sounds more thrilled with his sophmore, he shows all more emotion with the writing and also playing off with his more comedic side.
    Big Sean got lines, I will be having this on replay, my interest in this dude got so much bigger thanks to this. He got some tracks I'm really loving ("Fire", "First Chain", "World Ablaze" and the wonderful one "Ashley"), songs like "MILF" and "10 2 10" actually worked for me too.

    He didn't disappoint me with this, I went in with my expectations low and he really took it with honor and proud. "Hall of Fame" is for sure a better one than many mainstream album's that released over the summer. As a lyricist and especially as a songwriter, Big Sean has gotten more hungrier and focused.

    This hasn't been giving too much plays, but we'll see were this stands in some months. A top release within the mainstram scene. Go and cop it if you like it, give it a try, could be some you like. Support hip hop!
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    All in all, I’m impressed with Hall of Fame. Having gone through and listened to this album in its entirety four different times, I still jam out the same way I did when I first heard the leak. What separates this album from earlier summer releases is that Hall of Fame has key memorable moments. Tracks one, two, six, seven, and 10 all deserve praise. I harped on other artists for lacking feature-selection awareness. Big Sean does not suffer from that on this album. Would I have loved to see Kanye on this album? Of course, are you kidding me?? But I’m not sure if he even would’ve fit on any of these songs. Nicki Minaj, Nas, Lil Wayne, KiD CuDi, Jhené Aiko, and James Fauntleroy all did a wonderful job. The album was missing some cohesive traits and thematic fluidity but the collective quality of a handful of songs overshadows those missteps at least somewhat. Big Sean has grown as an artist as well as a lyricist, and that’s always good to see. It would be nice to get greater consistency out of his rhymes when he speaks on Detroit’s poverty and unemployment issues. I’d prefer him to steer clear of those topics unless he’s truly going to commit himself to the cause lyrically instead of slightly mention it in a song or two. That’s where he’s from so I understand the need to talk about it, but if Big Sean wants to rap about a subject that serious, then I’d like him to fully address his feelings towards it and what he’s doing about it. Nevertheless, Hall of Fame sees Big Sean as a star that continues to rise but has not yet reached a comfortable plateau. This album will not leap him into superstardom or keep Kendrick Lamar from “murdering” him, but what it did do is show how good Big Sean is and how good Big Sean can be in the future. Full Review »