Hall of Fame - Big Sean
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. N10
    Aug 31, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed this one. With the "Detroit" mixtape and "Hall of Fame" I hold them as his best and also as a new bright start for the kid. Big Sean has improved, it's heard here. Lyrically got the skill up and as an artist he's gotten better. The beat selection's are crazy, top notch production and as most rapper's lacks in he dosen't choose unneccesary guest features. Rapper's such as Nas, Kid Cudi and Nicki Minaj did bring some extra fire, and the coice of singer's did bring some fine hooks and catchy meleodies. He sounds more thrilled with his sophmore, he shows all more emotion with the writing and also playing off with his more comedic side.
    Big Sean got lines, I will be having this on replay, my interest in this dude got so much bigger thanks to this. He got some tracks I'm really loving ("Fire", "First Chain", "World Ablaze" and the wonderful one "Ashley"), songs like "MILF" and "10 2 10" actually worked for me too.

    He didn't disappoint me with this, I went in with my expectations low and he really took it with honor and proud. "Hall of Fame" is for sure a better one than many mainstream album's that released over the summer. As a lyricist and especially as a songwriter, Big Sean has gotten more hungrier and focused.

    This hasn't been giving too much plays, but we'll see were this stands in some months. A top release within the mainstram scene. Go and cop it if you like it, give it a try, could be some you like. Support hip hop!
    Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    I have been patiently waiting for Hall of Fame and I am glad that in a summer of mediocre rap releases, Big Sean builds upon his debut album and pretty much kills it. Lyrically he has stepped his game up and aside from a few clunkers (MILF in particular) the album is pretty consistent. My favourite tracks on it are Fire, First Chain (Nas and Cudi kill it!) and Ashley. I think this album lets Big Sean step a little out of the Kanye West/Good Music shadow and reps it all himself. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Big Sean's improvement from the disappointment that was Finally Famous is certainly noticeable here. There's definitely still some clubish songs here, but a lot less than before. Overall, his bars have improved since 2011 and there is some more substance ("some"). I am surprised to have actually wound up enjoying this album. I'll definitely be bumping some of these tracks for a bit.
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    All in all, I’m impressed with Hall of Fame. Having gone through and listened to this album in its entirety four different times, I still jam out the same way I did when I first heard the leak. What separates this album from earlier summer releases is that Hall of Fame has key memorable moments. Tracks one, two, six, seven, and 10 all deserve praise. I harped on other artists for lacking feature-selection awareness. Big Sean does not suffer from that on this album. Would I have loved to see Kanye on this album? Of course, are you kidding me?? But I’m not sure if he even would’ve fit on any of these songs. Nicki Minaj, Nas, Lil Wayne, KiD CuDi, Jhené Aiko, and James Fauntleroy all did a wonderful job. The album was missing some cohesive traits and thematic fluidity but the collective quality of a handful of songs overshadows those missteps at least somewhat. Big Sean has grown as an artist as well as a lyricist, and that’s always good to see. It would be nice to get greater consistency out of his rhymes when he speaks on Detroit’s poverty and unemployment issues. I’d prefer him to steer clear of those topics unless he’s truly going to commit himself to the cause lyrically instead of slightly mention it in a song or two. That’s where he’s from so I understand the need to talk about it, but if Big Sean wants to rap about a subject that serious, then I’d like him to fully address his feelings towards it and what he’s doing about it. Nevertheless, Hall of Fame sees Big Sean as a star that continues to rise but has not yet reached a comfortable plateau. This album will not leap him into superstardom or keep Kendrick Lamar from “murdering” him, but what it did do is show how good Big Sean is and how good Big Sean can be in the future. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Big Sean's first cd was not my favorite, There were a few OK songs, but overall it was a lazy cookie cutter album, that was nothing spec
    ial. This really turned me off of listing to Bis Sean. But I figured this was his first release to get himself out there. But I digress.

    Then about a year ago he released his mix tape Detroit. This album really changed my opinion of Sean. In this mix
    tape he really steed up his game, and i feel really found himself musically, after that i became a big fan. Then he announced his sophomore release, Hall of fame. I was very excited.

    I was scared hall of fame would be like finally famous. But I waited patiently.
    It was finally released, but i was scared after hearing MILF, i waited to listen to it...'
    But I finally got to it, and how i regret not picking it up the second it hit stores.

    With HOF he picks right up where he left off on Detroit. The album is very well done. The beats, perfect. His flow has gotten sicker, and lyrically he has gotten so much better. I like how some songs have a purpose compared to alot of rap anymore. The whole album through and through just feels complete and flows well with no hiccups (except Freaky & MILF) This really stands out from the recent rap releases.

    Just pick this up, you will not regret it. He one of the best rappers out at in this time of rap mediocrity.
    Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    This album is dope and one of the best hip hop albums this year. This album has more substance and it presents a different aspect from Big Sean. Mona Lisa is a miss but it has great hits though
  7. Jul 23, 2014
    8
    Hall Of Fame is a huge lyrical and subject matter leap for Big Sean from his debut album. His pure rapping ability is still second-tier at best, but if he continues to put effort into making his music more artistic Sean has a bright future in the rap game. Big Sean, in the lead-up to this album's release, said he wanted to teach and make a lasting impact on peoples' lives with this album. I can't speak for others but, personally, I think he succeeded. ~ 8.0/10

    Best tracks: "Nothing Is Stopping You", "Fire", "Beware", "MILF" (I've seen many people hate on this song because they view it as an attempt at a radio song. It's clearly a joke, and his flow and hilarious lyrics make it a great song. Also, it wasn't released as a single which indicates Sean viewed it as more of a funny story rather than an attempt at a club banger.), "Ashley" & "Guap"
    Expand
  8. Sep 13, 2013
    7
    I didn't expect much of this album because I'm not really a fan of Big Sean. However I was pleasantly surprised by how listenable this album was! He comes across with some good flows and beats. Great production. I feel like a couple of tracks swung and missed. "Ashley" could have been more of a deep introspective song. "Milf" was just a joke. And Lil Wayne's verse on "Beware" wasn't good at all.

    Overall praise to Big Sean for a great album

    Fav Tracks: Nothing is Stopping You, Fire, You Don't Know, Sierra Leone
    Expand
  9. Mar 19, 2014
    5
    He takes the cheap route. Generic, catchy beats, big name features (and a lot of them), name dropping, a lot of okay metaphors and very little dedication to flow or multisyllabic rapping.

    But still, it's bumpable. And Sean is an inspiration to people with 0 vocal skills everywhere.
  10. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    Big Sean's album in terms of production was raw and very electronic, and does hold similarities to how Yeezus sounded. This can be observed in songs such as 10 2 10 and Mona Lisa. Hall of Fame, as described by Big Sean, does have some songs that make others feel good and motivated. It makes us want to chase our dreams and achieve big. This is evident through songs such as Nothing Is Stopping You, First Chain and Fire. With the Detroit mixtape to keep us fans listening, he dropped a remix to Mula, a fan favourite from the mixtape. Featured on the remix were rappers Meek Mill, 2 Chainz and Earlly Mac who kept the track staying brilliant. Overall, Hall of Fame was a successful album. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    60
    Floating in a world over-saturated with hip-hop cliches, it’s not that the Detroit rapper doesn’t set himself apart from the rest of the genre’s newest, youngest and best MCs with these 15 tracks (18 for you deluxe edition fans), it’s just that he doesn’t set himself apart enough.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    70
    Here we find more of the same, with Sean's vocals switching from likeable to thoughtful with a hooky, synthy musical backdrop--it's catchy as hell.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    70
    With a few more standout moments, and a bit less filler, the perception could well have matched the reality in a more positive manner.