User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OnionGravy
    Mar 22, 2005
    4
    Wonderful singles, dire album. I feel like many of the reviews I've read are willing the album to be good in the face of the cold, hard truth - 10 different versions of Coffee & TV and You're So Great, but without the hooks. Coxon is as lost without Allbran as he is without Coxon.
  2. LiamH
    Feb 8, 2005
    10
    As if he were set free from some heavy restraint, Coxon has put out an exhilarating album of amazing energy. The album takes unusual risks (which all succeed) that really took me by suprise. He sounds as in command of the music as any artist I've heard in recent memory. This is a CD you'll keep listening too and singing along with for a long time...
  3. Tuskaj
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    the best artist rock of the year..... graham coxon is my all.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Apr 1, 2005
    8
    Pretty freakin' awesome! Classic Britpop from a guy who knows his stuff. A couple of tracks seem fillery, but there are enough great hooks elsewhere to make up for that. The US version adds the fantastic "Right to Pop!", so be sure to get that one.
  5. GordonR
    Jun 3, 2004
    9
    An excellent album that is on a par with any of the best stuff of Blur he was involved in
  6. mattc
    Jul 9, 2004
    9
    And with one fell swoop Coxy proves he WAS the one with the talent in Blur after all. Bet Allbran's kicking himself now!
  7. giulia
    Feb 7, 2005
    8
    nice songs. "bitter sweet bundle of misery" was my summer song last year. its so light.
  8. JasonC.
    Feb 2, 2005
    9
    I get excited everytime I push the 'Play' button. "Hopeless Friend" is where it is at. Looking forward to seeing this material live. I do wish Graham was still with Blur, but considering how brilliant 'Think Tank' was, I think it is very clear talent was and is abundant throughout that band.
  9. ZachL
    Feb 7, 2005
    8
    definetly has a great guitar rock sound to it, on par with blur's self-titled cd. it is all good with some truly stellar moments (i.e. freakin' out). i woudl have to say i liked blur's think tank better, but that is somewhat an unfair comparison because the two albums have nothing in common except the graham used to be with blur. but in it's own respect, this is a definetly has a great guitar rock sound to it, on par with blur's self-titled cd. it is all good with some truly stellar moments (i.e. freakin' out). i woudl have to say i liked blur's think tank better, but that is somewhat an unfair comparison because the two albums have nothing in common except the graham used to be with blur. but in it's own respect, this is a great album and is on my top ten list of 2004. note: it came out in america in 2005 and the uk in 2004 and i bought the import, so i count it as 2004. Expand
  10. AdamX
    May 17, 2004
    10
    His most commercially viable album to date, full of fantastic riffs and tunes... the pace is relentless and always keeps you entertained... but, for me, the charm of "Crow Sit On Blood Tree" will always make that my favourite Coxon solo effort
  11. joaop
    May 18, 2004
    10
    The best album of the year
  12. stuarti
    May 27, 2004
    9
    Possibly the best album of the year.... If this was released by a better known artist, it would sell millions, lets hope people give it a chance.
  13. EbeneezerGoode
    Jun 21, 2004
    4
    When I bought the album I was fascinated by the Modern Life Is Rubbish Feel. But after a few listens, it turned out that some songs of the album were rubbish, not the modern life... Freakin' Out on the other hand is excellent.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. The best Graham Coxon imaginable. [Jun 2004, p.97]
  2. 80
    His most accessible work since Parklife. [Sep 2004, p.101]
  3. 90
    The defining characteristic of ‘Happiness In Magazines’ isn’t its full sound, nor its sharp reminder of what a great band Blur used to be; its in the sheer imaginative scope.