User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2011
    9
    Although it's nothing ENTIRELY new the band has come out with their most consistent and tight record. I love this album to pieces. "Letters to the Metro" "Rano Pano" and "Death Rays" are the best and even make it into their top 15 career tracks.
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Im quite a Postrock Fan, but i've never listened to Mogwai before i bought this album. And it really suprised me, because i can understand now why this band is an Inspiration for almost every other Postrock band. for me, this album is perfect in every detail. Thanks, Mogwai.
  3. Feb 17, 2011
    9
    Ranks up there with Come On Die Young, Ten Rapid, and Mr. Beast in the Mogwai's best album category....might even satisfy some of those still obssessed with Young Team. This is the album they tried to make with The Hawk is Howling and sounds very refreshing for this band. Only song I didn't care for was the last one.
  4. Kas
    Feb 17, 2011
    9
    Criticism of Mogwai typically comes from two viewpoints - they either refuse to "evolve" their sound, or refuse to reproduce Young Team. So even if they satisfy one side they will conversely disappoint the other; they can't win. Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will finds Mogwai having the most fun they've ever had on an album - "San Pedro," "George Square Thatcher Death Party," and particularly "How To Be a Werewolf" are all evidence to this, and "White Noise" finds this often-dour band trying (and succeeding) to be uplifting. If that isn't an evolution for this band, then I don't know what is. It's also their most immediately satisfying work, though that doesn't rule out the potential of these songs to reveal new facets with every listen - this is Mogwai, after all. And as for all the "Young Team" nostalgists - I bet you also wish Radiohead would just remake OK Computer already, right? It's not 1997 anymore, folks - let's all move forward amicably. Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2011
    4
    There are literally a few good songs, and that's it. There's nothing approaching greatness, and if it had been recorded with lesser-quality sound, it would be a believable first album from the 90s before they were any good. Y'know, the kind that's pre-recording contract that gets released years later to cash in on whatever success they've had? But it's competent background music, I guess.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Apr 6, 2011
    60
    The Scots post-rockers who will outlast them all. [March 2011, p. 100]
  2. Mar 17, 2011
    75
    The cumulative effect can be like listening to a church choir doing canons while simultaneously crushing OCs on your bicuspids, one at a bloody time.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    70
    Yeah, it's been done before, but Mogwai have an astounding command of the songwriting chops necessarily to do it right, which they've remarkably done yet again without sounding in the least but stale. [Feb 2011, p.66]