Haunted Cities

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Jun 21, 2005
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidB
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    Great, i love this.
  2. Dave
    Aug 2, 2005
    10
    If you liked the "Transplants" cd ( the first one) then I think you should like haunted cities a lot more. It took me a while to get use to the song but now that's all I listen to for now. I think all the songs are great on the cd
  3. lloydb
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    People should look at this album for what it is. It is Original without trying too hard to be. It is What the band members wanted to make, which should be respected and i am sure that whatever the end result is viewed as (good or bad) i am sure they are happy with it and it doesnt matter what anyone has to say about it.
  4. JoeGuy
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    creative, good shit. Much better than the first
  5. CarsonW
    Jul 26, 2005
    9
    new transplants album is different than the previous, but just as excellent. Stylus magazine, entertainment weekly, and the onion (whatever the hell that is) should stick to examining indie rock and other music they seem to think they know about. Really hope you guys don't get paid for your primitive reviewing efforts.
  6. TristanV
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    great band and great songs
  7. bucklerb.
    Aug 29, 2005
    8
    for those who sell rocks on all da' hard blocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  8. AlexC
    Aug 8, 2005
    3
    If the excitement of the first Transplants album was due to the word "experimental" being thrown around. It acurately describe the immaculate mesh of metal/punk/hip-hop/dub/reggae that went into their intital work. The best word to describe the new album: Derivative. The lyrics follow the trend of mainstream garbage and the sound is dumbed down to weak hip-hop beats both punks and hip hop If the excitement of the first Transplants album was due to the word "experimental" being thrown around. It acurately describe the immaculate mesh of metal/punk/hip-hop/dub/reggae that went into their intital work. The best word to describe the new album: Derivative. The lyrics follow the trend of mainstream garbage and the sound is dumbed down to weak hip-hop beats both punks and hip hop heads would scoff at. A sad day for a promising band. Expand
  9. AlexR
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    classic tunes, easy to sing along too. Nothing but the best from our man Tim.
  10. J
    Nov 10, 2005
    4
    A few good tunes, but they are trampled on by the lame-o recycled "lyrics". C'mon dudes, how many times are you going to try to tell us how badass you are? If you have to tell people you're a badass, you're probably not. Read a book or something!
  11. billb
    Sep 17, 2005
    4
    eh, first cds better
  12. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    6
    Expected a bit more after their awesome self-titled debut. There's still some noteworthy songs like "Not Today" and "Apocalypse Now."
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. The whole package ends up having this strangely alluring glimmer. It's like discovering California Babylon after being lost in suburbia.
  2. Haunted Cities has more of a street-smarts vibe and is actually more listenable [than their debut].
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Think of them as a slightly above-average combo of the Clash, Fun Lovin' Criminals, and some snotty band from the burbs. [24 Jun 2005, p.164]