• Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: May 6, 2013

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On
  1. May 2, 2013
    No one expects urgent, Darkness on the Edge of Town-style danger from a N&TW record: just breezy, bittersweet, hook-laden tunes, and they're offered in abundance here.
  2. Uncut
    May 1, 2013
    Their fourth album continues in the vein of 2011's Last Night On Earth, divining its inspiration from cool, crisp '80s US new wave, "Every Breath You Take" bass lines, Brat Pack soundtracks and wistful songs about girls. [Jun 2013, p.76]
  3. May 1, 2013
    This band has succeeded at writing an exceptional album that’s both intimate and full of pop-hook goodness, all without using over-the-top production techniques.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    It has its heart wide-open, and not to love it would only be mean-spirited.
  5. May 6, 2013
    After three successful releases, this album sees Fink take stock of his life after years of touring and come to the realization that he, along with his friends and family, have long since grown up and left his much revered youth behind.
  6. May 3, 2013
    In a sense it presents itself as an evolutionary rather than revolutionary development, in this case one which takes its predecessor's penchant for the instant and injects an enormous dose of FM-friendly American power-pop from days of yore into the mix.
  7. It's a record of rare precision; the kind that comes from figuring out exactly what you want. The kind that comes from being all grown up.
  8. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    This band aren't about confrontation, and to those attuned, this is exactly their strength. [Jun 2013, p.109]
  9. 60
    When Fink sings, “I think still after all these years, something still burns,” on the chorus, seven tracks in, we’re left feeling less like teens trapped on an island and more like parents who have beaten the odds and stayed together. Similar disruptions that take us away from “teenland” are the records’ main fault, though it’s largely successful as a sunny summer album.
  10. May 8, 2013
    Fink still seems to be finding the confidence in his voice that when it’s pushed is truly wonderful, but most of time a little dreary and unconscious. That aside, this is a lovely little record for folk fans who like a Seventies scuff.
  11. 60
    While it's pleasantly effected for the most part, it's hard to get involved in someone else's nostalgia.
  12. May 2, 2013
    If much of this is catchy, however, you can’t help but miss the Noah And The Whale who could be emotionally devastating.
  13. 60
    Their fourth is a satisfying blend of youth and experience, at its best when raw feelings and twenty20-something anxieties chafe against its smooth, midtempo rock.
  14. Jun 26, 2013
    Their search for large-scale anthems and keenness to replicate a formula that doesn’t come naturally to them leaves them sounding boxed in, and imbuing Heart of Nowhere with all the grace and flexibility of four concrete pillars.
  15. Mojo
    May 20, 2013
    The ersatz '80s production, lyrical platitudes and soft focus atmospherics stray uncomfortably close to parody. [Jun 2013, p.85]
  16. May 8, 2013
    It is violently un-confrontational, startlingly uninventive and no fun whatsoever.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. May 10, 2013
    I bought this album today on the recomendation of JJJ. I gave it three out of ten for the first two songs and the last one. All the musicI bought this album today on the recomendation of JJJ. I gave it three out of ten for the first two songs and the last one. All the music inbetween is aimed at 12-15 year old girls. I thought I was listening to the best of Australian Idol. Songs have no depth and are aim at a quick buck!!

    Utter crap and is the worst album of my collection. The only positive is that I also bought the new strokes album which is gold.
    Full Review »