• Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: May 6, 2013
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. May 2, 2013
    80
    No one expects urgent, Darkness on the Edge of Town-style danger from a N&TW record: just breezy, bittersweet, hook-laden tunes, and they're offered in abundance here.
  2. May 1, 2013
    80
    Their fourth album continues in the vein of 2011's Last Night On Earth, divining its inspiration from cool, crisp '80s US new wave, "Every Breath You Take" bass lines, Brat Pack soundtracks and wistful songs about girls. [Jun 2013, p.76]
  3. May 1, 2013
    80
    This band has succeeded at writing an exceptional album that’s both intimate and full of pop-hook goodness, all without using over-the-top production techniques.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It has its heart wide-open, and not to love it would only be mean-spirited.
  5. May 6, 2013
    70
    After three successful releases, this album sees Fink take stock of his life after years of touring and come to the realization that he, along with his friends and family, have long since grown up and left his much revered youth behind.
  6. May 3, 2013
    70
    In a sense it presents itself as an evolutionary rather than revolutionary development, in this case one which takes its predecessor's penchant for the instant and injects an enormous dose of FM-friendly American power-pop from days of yore into the mix.
  7. It's a record of rare precision; the kind that comes from figuring out exactly what you want. The kind that comes from being all grown up.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. May 10, 2013
    2
    I bought this album today on the recomendation of JJJ. I gave it three out of ten for the first two songs and the last one. All the musicI bought this album today on the recomendation of JJJ. I gave it three out of ten for the first two songs and the last one. All the music inbetween is aimed at 12-15 year old girls. I thought I was listening to the best of Australian Idol. Songs have no depth and are aim at a quick buck!!

    Utter crap and is the worst album of my collection. The only positive is that I also bought the new strokes album which is gold.
    Full Review »