Hearts Of Oak

  • Record Label: Lookout
  • Release Date: Feb 11, 2003
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkR
    May 10, 2003
    9
    Several songs that simply refuse to leave my head
  2. BenH.
    Aug 25, 2005
    9
    A great ablum, a number of profound lyrics on it. But it isn't one of Ted Leo/RX most tuneful albums.
  3. MoiraD
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    Wonderful. I love Ted Leo. His music is intricate and more complicated than any recent rock I've listened to, but the lyrics are absolutely fantastic. Thumbs up for Ted Leo & The Pharmacists.
  4. JeffS
    May 23, 2003
    10
    stunning, articulate and chocked with mighty hooks...like Mark E Smith with a soulful falsetto. Can't miss, guaranteed to have you humming
  5. StephanieD
    Mar 25, 2004
    10
    I love Ted Leo
  6. DaneD
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    "Hearts of Oak" is my favorite Leo/Rx album. Not many critics share my opinion on the matter, preferring instead the tunefulness of "The Tyranny of Distance" or the stylistically unified "Shake the Streets". However, "Hearts..." has a spontaneity and experimentalism not captured by either of the other two albums, employing unpolished-yet-captivating production throughout that never sheens "Hearts of Oak" is my favorite Leo/Rx album. Not many critics share my opinion on the matter, preferring instead the tunefulness of "The Tyranny of Distance" or the stylistically unified "Shake the Streets". However, "Hearts..." has a spontaneity and experimentalism not captured by either of the other two albums, employing unpolished-yet-captivating production throughout that never sheens off the emotional bite of the arrangements. In comparison to "Tyranny...", this disc offers more confidence without the stylistic self-awareness of Leo/Rx's latest work. Expand
  7. SteveG.
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    My favorite album of 2003. A truly amazing set of songs.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. An excellent album, perhaps not eclipsing the band's previous work, but at least firmly holding its ground.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Ted Leo turns gasping, insistent vocals into narratives that are political and pop, never compromising one for the other. [21 Feb 2003, p.150]
  3. In the vein of Kevin Rowland or Elvis Costello, Ted Leo writes lyrical rock songs that sprawl out and rarely depend on a chorus.