Heaven - The Walkmen
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. May 29, 2012
    91
    After 10 years and seven albums, Heaven finds The Walkmen in a better place.
  2. Jun 5, 2012
    90
    There may well be no such thing as a ten out of ten album, a level of perfection and flawlessness that is by all likelihood totally unobtainable; but it's hard to imagine anyone coming closer than these five men from New York.
  3. Jun 4, 2012
    90
    There's a depth to these tunes, one that comes not out of fast nights and wrecked relationships but the hindsight and experience of age; it's a well that, thankfully, seems to be getting deeper and deeper.
  4. Jun 1, 2012
    90
    Heaven takes another firm and measured stride forward in what is rapidly becoming a celebratory jog towards brilliance: a re-affirmation of what heart, skill, craft and guile can birth given time and experience.
  5. May 25, 2012
    90
    This disc proves that their ascension to lofty heights is complete and something heavenly indeed.
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    85
    Well-worn, well-defined, Heaven is the work of band with nothing left to prove.
  7. May 30, 2012
    84
    Heaven is a testament to The Walkmen's triumph.
  8. May 29, 2012
    84
    It's simply one of the best rock records of our so-far shallow year.
  9. 83
    The lovely brooders are at their most joyous and effervescent on their seventh album. [15 Jun 2012, p.82]
  10. May 25, 2012
    81
    With Heaven, they've turned out a record that finds a thousand affecting variations on contented hum.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 29, 2012
    9
    With the last two albums that the Walkmen have put out (including this one) they have become one of the best - not only indie - bands out inWith the last two albums that the Walkmen have put out (including this one) they have become one of the best - not only indie - bands out in the industry. There are a few things that set them apart, and one of the major things being lead vocalist Hamilton Leithauser's very distinctive voice. Over time, Hamilton's voice has changed from an extremely raspy and unpredictable yell, to a more controlled, still raspy, croon which team up so well with the re-verb guitars in this album. Tracks like "Heartbreaker" and the title track "Heaven" exemplify this the best. The Walkmen have always been at their best when they were playing and screaming as loud as they can, and this album has a few songs that show that. However, the opening track "We Can't Be Beat" with Leithauser's croon, and incredible harmonies, and a shift in tempo's in the song really open up a new door for this band. The Walkmen have become better as they mature, not running out of ideas and not afraid to try out a few new things. This album is incredibly beautiful, and will most likely be soundtrack to many summers. Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    The best band in the world gets better with age, something I never would have predicted a decade ago when I lovingly clutched that copy ofThe best band in the world gets better with age, something I never would have predicted a decade ago when I lovingly clutched that copy of Bows & Arrows to my chest. It's a long way from "The Rat" to "Heaven" but it's a distance I've travelled myself it's been the soundtrack of my life, and to have connected so resonantly with another band (after The Smiths in my early teens) feels like a blessing I do not deserve in such richness. Full Review »
  3. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    Yet another solid, utterly satisfying record from the Walkmen, dominated once more (in the best sense of the word) by Leithauser's vocals. TheYet another solid, utterly satisfying record from the Walkmen, dominated once more (in the best sense of the word) by Leithauser's vocals. The singer's voice is more tender here than on earlier records, which works especially well on slower songs, such as "Southern Heart" and "Line by Line". Of course, the album still features its fair share of belted-out vocal lines ("We Can't Be Beat", "Heaven"). This is an enjoyable album from start to finish, mixing the band's trademark retro vibe with enough variety to retain the interest of new listeners and Walkmen veterans alike. This album doesn't experiment as much as it capitalizes on a successful formula, which is completely fine by me. Full Review »