Heavier Things - John Mayer
Heavier Things Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Atlanta-based singer-songwriter (who is frequently compared to Dave Matthews) attempts to duplicate the unexpected success of 2001's 'Room for Squares' with this third album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. This body of work will be a wonderland of hits in time.
  2. An equally available yet more sophisticated album.
  3. Those who just enjoyed the sound and feel of Room for Squares should feel right at home.
  4. A sophomore effort that doesn't have as many drawbacks as one might assume.
  5. It's the kind of record you hate yourself for liking. [Dec 2003, p.132]
  6. Overall, ''Heavier Things'' is snappier than, say, a Bruce Hornsby CD, if not as rockin' and emotion-drenched as the latest from Dashboard Confessional.
  7. While he's technically adept at playing the blues, it's perfectly clear the only heartache Mayer knows how to emote comes the morning after a night of hearty partying.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    "Wheel" is one of the best songs ever. This is John Mayer Best album out of the 4(I love all of them). John Mayer has alot of detractors just because he has so many fans but he is a great artist. Blending soft rock with blues, he is amazing. If you like John Mayer try " Justin Nozuka" !!!!! Expand
  2. AndrewG
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    I was nervous buying "heavier things" as I was desperately hoping he could consolidate his success from previous. I feel this is where so many artists fail, ending up being little more than "one hit wonders". "Heavier things" is a complicated, simple album ( like life!!). Although it isnt as good as his debute album it shows a man who is maturing and can offer more to his songs. I can honestly say he will be like a fine wine "gets better with age!!" When is he coming to England...cant wait!!!! Expand
  3. ZoeM
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    i am really loving this cd! the tunes are really great..i especially love clarity and split screen sadness. john mayer has definitely done it again, and i applaud him Expand
  4. terenceb
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    I love this CD,i dont have his previous album,but this one is great!
  5. AnnaA.
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    OK so I am madley in love with John Mayer, but Heavier Things could have been a little faster. He gives awesome concerts but he will screw those awesome concerts with SLOW songs. Otherwise Heavier Things is the best, and a side note....MARRY ME JOHN MAYER!!!!!!! Expand
  6. izata
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    an okay album.. i've been trying to soak up the melodies n feel the lyrics but i can't... sometimes this albumis boring but sometimes its great, too... CLARITY is the best.. Collapse
  7. RickB
    Jan 15, 2005
    1
    I have just seen the most disgusting thing in my life, I can't even say it, its that hard. John F#@king Mayer doing a cover of the greatest musician of all time Jimi Hendrix, the song is Bold as Love, Ok let me try and explain this. So you come out with an album and in the faces of many, copy Dave Matthews at the very height of there career. Your songs(John Mayer), are geared toward acoustic Sh!t, now nothing is wrong with that, just please do not take someone's style and add a little Avril Lavigne to it. Now i know that album was produced by John Alagia, but it gives no reason for this Moth#$Fu@$er to have no drive to try and make something different. So here comes Heavier Things, a little more pop with jazz added chords. Most of you would say the album has a mood, yea right, no one gives a F@#k what chords this guy uses, it still sounds like everything else out know, girlfriend/ funny type stupid lyrics(college radio type sh!t). I'll end by saying if you wanna hear a Boy singing all out of tune over Dave Matthews music, then buy this cd. And BLENDER said he has more range than Norah, hahahahah, what a F$#king joke. John Mayer needs alot more drive, and really needs to know where he wants to go with his music. Look, i'll give you a taste of his singing and lyrics right now,-Yes, I'mmm Grounnnded go my winnns clip,Mmm surrd, Al his pamentt. Exactly how i wrote it, is exactly how he sings it. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews