• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Hefty Fine Image
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the first album in five years for the jokey alt-rockers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Hefty Fine finds the Bloodhound Gang in a Catch-22 -- they've never wanted to be anything other than a dumb, silly hard rock band, but their shtick is getting tired, yet they're trapped by the confines of what they want to be.
  2. Hefty Fine proves only marginally more welcome than a Jerky Boys reunion.
  3. 30
    The nu-metal and new wave sendups are too conventional to work as either comedy or music--and the nonstop woman-bashing becomes repugnant fast. [Nov 2005, p.131]
  4. As if the lyrics (and the poop) weren't painful enough, the band actually makes us listen to music that, for the most part, amounts to cheap Blink 182 ripoff -- that is, if Blink 182 used more synthesizer and were (get this) less funny.
  5. No, kids, it's not that scatological jokes aren't funny, just that these scatological jokes aren't funny.
  6. There are already too many Bloodhound Gang albums in the world. This one should be recalled and recycled. Into something that's not a Bloodhound Gang album, obviously.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 80
  2. Negative: 25 out of 80
  1. AndyR
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Awesome album. Don't know why critics don't like it.
  2. CharlieO
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    I Whear a Helmit
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    This album is different from the others, but I like the direction they're going in. Obviously Jimmy Pop is being more influenced from theThis album is different from the others, but I like the direction they're going in. Obviously Jimmy Pop is being more influenced from the techno/electronic scene in Europe and given he's always been a Depeche Mode fan, we should've seen this coming. Love all their songs and albums, but this one is one of my favorites. They are by far the laziest band in the world. Hooray for Groupies probably won't be out for another 5 years and it'll be another 10 before we see a new album lol. But true BHG fans will wait it out. The lyrics are genius and hilarious, the music is great and for those that think it sucks, obviously you don't have a sense of humor. Expand
  4. CF
    Aug 6, 2007
    8
    "Hefty Fine" is bloodhound gangs new album in 6 years. Some of the songs will be good to you if you are a long time fan (such as i), if not, "Hefty Fine" is bloodhound gangs new album in 6 years. Some of the songs will be good to you if you are a long time fan (such as i), if not, then this album will certainly turn you off to them. Expand
  5. DoucheBag
    Jul 15, 2007
    5
    First of all not heard album Reply to Johnny B who 1) wants less biased critics i.e biased towards what he likes. 2) admits about this album First of all not heard album Reply to Johnny B who 1) wants less biased critics i.e biased towards what he likes. 2) admits about this album "this might not be their best album" and voted it as a 10 so therefore other albums must score 11 plus, Rock and roll Spinal Tap - Expand
  6. utmost
    Mar 22, 2006
    1
    It's as good/funny as the cover would suggest.
  7. BendikD
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    Jesus, Marie and Joseph, what is this crap?! Can someone just make a loaw that forbids The Bloodhound Gang to make music? That would make me Jesus, Marie and Joseph, what is this crap?! Can someone just make a loaw that forbids The Bloodhound Gang to make music? That would make me and the rest of the world with good taste in music very happy. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews