Hell Hath No Fury

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 151

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CalvinL
    Dec 1, 2006
    5
    Got to agree with Gary E. While the beats are a little better than what the neptunes usually offer it is still nothing special. Combined with their mediocre flow I just can't get into this album. I won't even try to analyze the lyrics if they can't excite me with the music (flow+beat).
  2. rob
    Dec 4, 2006
    4
    only white people like this album. yawn. boring. nothing new, nothing exciting
  3. theemperor
    Jan 10, 2007
    5
    this makes for a really depressing listen. theres a load of anger in the world at the minute, pharrell cashing in on it wearing that bandana over his face, acting like a f*kin murderer, in Mr.Me Too is so wrong and beyond laughable. stand for something or fall for anything people. even saying all that, their lyrics, for what theyre tryin to do, are worth the listen. not the money, but the this makes for a really depressing listen. theres a load of anger in the world at the minute, pharrell cashing in on it wearing that bandana over his face, acting like a f*kin murderer, in Mr.Me Too is so wrong and beyond laughable. stand for something or fall for anything people. even saying all that, their lyrics, for what theyre tryin to do, are worth the listen. not the money, but the listen. got it for cheap indeed, i hope they didnt give Pharrell anything for looping a 4 second sample for each track. a classic Emperors New Clothes case. you dont LIKE it your just afraid you dont get it. Expand
  4. GeraldA
    Jan 2, 2007
    5
    this CD was a great dissapointment. lyrics on this CD are of course dope. but the overall beats fall flat. neptunes (i blame pharrell) only impressed me on 2 tracks. and the CD has no overall feeling. it was much too anticipated and didnt meet the hype. there mixtapes are better then this.
  5. KingG
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    With all the hype leading up to this album, the delays, the bar that the Clipse had set with "Lord Willin" and the "We got it for Cheap" mixtapes, and the ridiculous perfect score from XXL, I was expecting a lot more than what this album delivered. Not to say it's a bad album, but it did not live up to the hype. There are at least 3 tracks that could have been tossed out, as they With all the hype leading up to this album, the delays, the bar that the Clipse had set with "Lord Willin" and the "We got it for Cheap" mixtapes, and the ridiculous perfect score from XXL, I was expecting a lot more than what this album delivered. Not to say it's a bad album, but it did not live up to the hype. There are at least 3 tracks that could have been tossed out, as they feature some of the weakest hooks and production I've heard come from anything produced by the Neptunes. 'Ride Around Shining', 'Dirty Money', 'Aint Cha' are borderline terrible and should be nowhere near anything labled as a "classic". 'Trill' isn't that great either... the hook is terrible. Nightmares is good, but the hook there is also weak ("They say I'm just pee-noid"?). Come on. Clipse come correct on the verses, as they always do, but Pharrell's weak hooks and the questionable production on some tracks keep it from being great. Best tracks are "We Got It For Cheap", "Momma I'm So Sorry", "Wamp Wamp", "Hello New World", "Keys Open Doors", and "Chinese New Year". "Mr. Me Too" is pretty mediocre... the beat sounds too similar to Snoop's "Drop it like it's Hot" and other minimalist Neptunes tracks. It's like they just wanted to make a song that would duplicate the success of 'Grindin', but failed. Buy "Lord Willin" or "We got it for cheap vol. 2" instead. Just download the good tracks for this. Expand
  6. JaredB.
    Nov 30, 2006
    6
    a missed opportunity for the clipse to prove all the haters and labels wrong. it's a decent record, but it seems like people are calling it a classic just because we all wanted so badly for it to be one. it's not. these beats sound half-finished and they'd have been better off having no hooks at all than trying to pass off the lame stuff on "chinese new year", "trill", etc. a missed opportunity for the clipse to prove all the haters and labels wrong. it's a decent record, but it seems like people are calling it a classic just because we all wanted so badly for it to be one. it's not. these beats sound half-finished and they'd have been better off having no hooks at all than trying to pass off the lame stuff on "chinese new year", "trill", etc. as a hook. i just listened to "lord willin'" today and "hell hath..." leaves a lot to be desired in comparison. Expand
  7. dollabillcurrency
    Dec 11, 2006
    4
    most overrated album of the year. the drum beats are recycled 808 garbage. some of the rhymes are hot but overall critics have been far too kind.
  8. mikes.
    Dec 2, 2006
    5
    boring album, production is hot but clipse struggles on the mic
  9. DiabloP
    Dec 25, 2006
    6
    I bought ths album because of the what was said about it on this website. The album is ok ,but it isn't as great as I thought it was going to be. Hip Hop album of the year still belongs to GhostFace. With most albums you could normally say if you liked the 1st one you would like the 2nd one. I would advise anyone to listen to that album first and then make a decision if you would I bought ths album because of the what was said about it on this website. The album is ok ,but it isn't as great as I thought it was going to be. Hip Hop album of the year still belongs to GhostFace. With most albums you could normally say if you liked the 1st one you would like the 2nd one. I would advise anyone to listen to that album first and then make a decision if you would like to buy it. Expand
  10. blakK
    Dec 10, 2007
    5
    I found this to be a rather mediocre album. Nothing particularly wrong with it; it just doesn't stand up to some of the better underground hip hop albums I've heard. Maybe it just doesn't meld well with my taste in music -- I'm more into jazzy, laid-back hip hop. I also prefer songs that have meaningful messages, while this CD seemed filled with songs about the usual I found this to be a rather mediocre album. Nothing particularly wrong with it; it just doesn't stand up to some of the better underground hip hop albums I've heard. Maybe it just doesn't meld well with my taste in music -- I'm more into jazzy, laid-back hip hop. I also prefer songs that have meaningful messages, while this CD seemed filled with songs about the usual radio fare. Collapse
  11. F.Valeron
    Jan 27, 2007
    5
    Theemperor has hit the nail squarely on the head here. Indie mags like it, so Indie kids buy it, and everyone's afraid to say "what the hell is so special about this?"
  12. MichaelK
    Mar 14, 2007
    5
    I read all the hype about this album and, not being much of a hip hop fan, thought I'd listen to broaden my mind. Having listened several times I am forced to ask - can anyone tell me the difference between a good hip hop album and a crap one?
  13. GaryE
    Nov 29, 2006
    5
    I'm getting old, as I don't understand any of the praise for this album. The steel drum beats on Wamp Wamp are excellent but the flow just sucks. You people are nuts ... Wamp Wamp. Mr Me Too is straight up Neptunes tedium. Somebody else dog this album otherwise I'm rollin' out the rocker and retiring from Hip-Hop.
  14. TK
    Nov 29, 2006
    5
    why is this getting such great reviews? I just don't understand. I listened to several of the songs after being suprised by the reviews, I listened expecting something amazing and instead I got something average.
  15. NickY
    Dec 19, 2006
    6
    Yeah, it's ok, but does someone at metacritic want to explain what ind of warped weighting system gives this a metascore of 91? We have 20 reviews, 18 of which are equal to or less than 91, two of which are over 91...so Entertainment Weekly and Observer Music Monthly must be given a pretty ridiculously massive weight in metacritic's little system...seems a bit skewed to me.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 80
    It's ghetto viciousness as literary exercise--an episode of The Wire with a better soundtrack. [Nov 2006, p.142]
  2. The best hip-hop album of 2006.
  3. There's a cold efficiency in how the Clipse delivers songs built on street-corner cockiness and billfold bluster. It's all shamelessly amoral, but the Clipse wouldn't be such savvy hustlers if they didn't know how to sling with style.