Hell Hath No Fury

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 160

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. caml
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Ridiculous lyrics that really give you a ripe image of gangster glory in your mind. Pusha-T and Malice are, quite honestly, the most underrated MCs of our time. And the Neptunes' simple, dark and artistic beats provide the perfect backdrop for the themes of the album.
  2. Ahmed
    Feb 23, 2007
    3
    Terrible. Little substance, plenty of juvenile ranting which isn't even clever. The only redeeming part of this album was the instrumental looping, which was even then weak. The ratings of this album are an obvious collusion between big record companies and people in the music press who are targeting douchebags with loose pockets. In a word: formulaic. Or shit.
  3. Roquentin
    Dec 11, 2006
    3
    Can't believe the critics are praising this as some sort of step forward for hip-hop. This is the same typical crap that has been bringing down hip hop for years. And The Neptunes' bag of tricks are as tired as ever. Like Dead Prez says, "I'm sick of that fake thug R&B rap scenario all day on the radio, same scenes in the video, monotonous material, y'all don't Can't believe the critics are praising this as some sort of step forward for hip-hop. This is the same typical crap that has been bringing down hip hop for years. And The Neptunes' bag of tricks are as tired as ever. Like Dead Prez says, "I'm sick of that fake thug R&B rap scenario all day on the radio, same scenes in the video, monotonous material, y'all don't hear me though." Expand
  4. K
    Dec 18, 2006
    0
    recycled neptunes bullshit
  5. matthewl
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    almost perfect, hello new world and ride around shining are classics
  6. CalvinL
    Dec 1, 2006
    5
    Got to agree with Gary E. While the beats are a little better than what the neptunes usually offer it is still nothing special. Combined with their mediocre flow I just can't get into this album. I won't even try to analyze the lyrics if they can't excite me with the music (flow+beat).
  7. ErikH
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Valeron, I really don't see this as an example of "the emperor's new clothes." (for that, see Joanna Newsom) The fact of the matter is that "Hell Hath No Fury" is one of the best albums of the year for one big reason: the production. Now I've never had too much faith in the Neptunes and found them to be vastly over-rated. That was until I heard "Wamp Wamp." Then after I Valeron, I really don't see this as an example of "the emperor's new clothes." (for that, see Joanna Newsom) The fact of the matter is that "Hell Hath No Fury" is one of the best albums of the year for one big reason: the production. Now I've never had too much faith in the Neptunes and found them to be vastly over-rated. That was until I heard "Wamp Wamp." Then after I purchased the CD and heard masterful minimalist beat after minimalist beat, always spectacular but never trying to over-shadow the MC (as the Neptune's have occasionally tried to do in the past with mixed results) I realized that Clipse have made an album that is one of the year's best, though maybe not the class some have called it. Expand
  8. JMack
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I have heard in years, it renewed my faith in Hip Hop.
  9. ChakaS
    Dec 1, 2006
    7
    Strong Album but not a classic...The album starts strong, gets monotonous towards the middle but finishes strong with the last track, Nightmares. Lyrical content is all the same for most of the songs in the album. To many songs about selling drugs and buying expensive clothes. The production on the album is great, but at time it seems like some of the tracks don't match the Clipse Strong Album but not a classic...The album starts strong, gets monotonous towards the middle but finishes strong with the last track, Nightmares. Lyrical content is all the same for most of the songs in the album. To many songs about selling drugs and buying expensive clothes. The production on the album is great, but at time it seems like some of the tracks don't match the Clipse flow. All in all album is strong, with good songs like Miami Vice, Mr. Me Too, Dirty Money, and Nightmares but not a classic. Expand
  10. rob
    Dec 4, 2006
    4
    only white people like this album. yawn. boring. nothing new, nothing exciting
  11. theemperor
    Jan 10, 2007
    5
    this makes for a really depressing listen. theres a load of anger in the world at the minute, pharrell cashing in on it wearing that bandana over his face, acting like a f*kin murderer, in Mr.Me Too is so wrong and beyond laughable. stand for something or fall for anything people. even saying all that, their lyrics, for what theyre tryin to do, are worth the listen. not the money, but the this makes for a really depressing listen. theres a load of anger in the world at the minute, pharrell cashing in on it wearing that bandana over his face, acting like a f*kin murderer, in Mr.Me Too is so wrong and beyond laughable. stand for something or fall for anything people. even saying all that, their lyrics, for what theyre tryin to do, are worth the listen. not the money, but the listen. got it for cheap indeed, i hope they didnt give Pharrell anything for looping a 4 second sample for each track. a classic Emperors New Clothes case. you dont LIKE it your just afraid you dont get it. Expand
  12. petere
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    "So much white you might think your holy christ was near" classic
  13. EvanV
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    clipse keeps it real, even tho most of what they reference to is drugs, they keep it light and only breach the surface of "deep" rap..something i think they would excel in
  14. ShepM.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    The Best Rap Album of 2006.... The beats are amazing and it is as spontaneus as Lord 'Willin. The crack/drug life of Clipse can get somewhat annoying, but they are the best writers out right now..VA! They are re-inventing hip hop
  15. life247
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    this album is crazy!! i can't stop listening to it!! wow..clipse really brought the heat with this one
  16. OuasM
    Nov 30, 2006
    8
    I kinda agree with Gary E, now this cd is good and it will be on some album of the year list but a 91 on the critic side come on now. I don't know what got into this critics they must of got paid to give this a good rating. Don't get me wrong I feel the clipse but I can't take this one over The Roots, Ghostface, Black Ice or Lupe Fiasco Man. F&F and I'm done.
  17. Nick
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    This has been a phenomenal year for hip-hop. Ghostface Killah and The Roots released career-defining albums, while new artists like Lupe Fiasco lived up to the hype. This Clipse album isn't likely to turn any non hip-hop fans around, but it's one of the finest of the year. Every track has a purpose, and the beats are top of the line. Fishscale is still a beter overal work in my This has been a phenomenal year for hip-hop. Ghostface Killah and The Roots released career-defining albums, while new artists like Lupe Fiasco lived up to the hype. This Clipse album isn't likely to turn any non hip-hop fans around, but it's one of the finest of the year. Every track has a purpose, and the beats are top of the line. Fishscale is still a beter overal work in my opinion, but Hell Hath No Fury still recieves a very high recommendation from me. Expand
  18. JohnE
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Clipse delievered pound 4 pound the best album of the year...
  19. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    1. ghostface 2. CLIPSE 3. lupe
  20. samb
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    a groundbreaking gangsta-rap album. not since the previous millenia has there been a mainstream hip hop record this good.
  21. JohnnyS
    Dec 7, 2006
    3
    The Neptunes create dense, intense soundscapes. Unfortunately, they are apparently also melodically retarded. The music also tends to overpower the rapping, making it not really worth the effort to listen to what sound like rathar banal lyrics. Madlib remains the greatest hip hop innovator and producer around today.
  22. AlexH
    Jan 14, 2007
    0
    Nothing new here ZzZzZzZzZzZz
  23. MihaiV
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Deserves all the praise it gets.
  24. GeraldA
    Jan 2, 2007
    5
    this CD was a great dissapointment. lyrics on this CD are of course dope. but the overall beats fall flat. neptunes (i blame pharrell) only impressed me on 2 tracks. and the CD has no overall feeling. it was much too anticipated and didnt meet the hype. there mixtapes are better then this.
  25. KingG
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    With all the hype leading up to this album, the delays, the bar that the Clipse had set with "Lord Willin" and the "We got it for Cheap" mixtapes, and the ridiculous perfect score from XXL, I was expecting a lot more than what this album delivered. Not to say it's a bad album, but it did not live up to the hype. There are at least 3 tracks that could have been tossed out, as they With all the hype leading up to this album, the delays, the bar that the Clipse had set with "Lord Willin" and the "We got it for Cheap" mixtapes, and the ridiculous perfect score from XXL, I was expecting a lot more than what this album delivered. Not to say it's a bad album, but it did not live up to the hype. There are at least 3 tracks that could have been tossed out, as they feature some of the weakest hooks and production I've heard come from anything produced by the Neptunes. 'Ride Around Shining', 'Dirty Money', 'Aint Cha' are borderline terrible and should be nowhere near anything labled as a "classic". 'Trill' isn't that great either... the hook is terrible. Nightmares is good, but the hook there is also weak ("They say I'm just pee-noid"?). Come on. Clipse come correct on the verses, as they always do, but Pharrell's weak hooks and the questionable production on some tracks keep it from being great. Best tracks are "We Got It For Cheap", "Momma I'm So Sorry", "Wamp Wamp", "Hello New World", "Keys Open Doors", and "Chinese New Year". "Mr. Me Too" is pretty mediocre... the beat sounds too similar to Snoop's "Drop it like it's Hot" and other minimalist Neptunes tracks. It's like they just wanted to make a song that would duplicate the success of 'Grindin', but failed. Buy "Lord Willin" or "We got it for cheap vol. 2" instead. Just download the good tracks for this. Expand
  26. KeithM
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    I can't believe you people giving this a bad score. Do you just not listen when you put on CDs? Or do you look at metacritic, decide which ones everybody else likes, then completely trash it without even giving it a chance? Well to all of those idiots this is one of the best hip hop albums of 06. The production by the neptunes compliments the clipse perfectly and just adds to the I can't believe you people giving this a bad score. Do you just not listen when you put on CDs? Or do you look at metacritic, decide which ones everybody else likes, then completely trash it without even giving it a chance? Well to all of those idiots this is one of the best hip hop albums of 06. The production by the neptunes compliments the clipse perfectly and just adds to the dry, hard, evil tone of the cd. For all of you giving this bad scores, actually LISTEN before you judge you fucking idiots. Expand
  27. JosephM
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    So so solid Clipse come back hard. One of the tightest of 06 if you don't buy this CD there's something wrong with you.
  28. TheKing
    Jan 9, 2007
    7
    Great lyrics but the beats aren't that good and pharells rapping on it
  29. et
    Feb 3, 2007
    0
    worst album ever
  30. RobbyChasingHawk
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    This album IS a classic. With only twelve tracks, clocking in at forty-eight minutes, GREAT production, GREAT lyrics, and being cohesive, Clipse have easily made the best Hip-Hop CD of the year, in fact, the best Hip-Hop CD of the past two years, and have made on of the best CD's of 2006. Cop it now, so Clipse can get the money they deserve!

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Blender
    80
    It's ghetto viciousness as literary exercise--an episode of The Wire with a better soundtrack. [Nov 2006, p.142]
  2. The best hip-hop album of 2006.
  3. There's a cold efficiency in how the Clipse delivers songs built on street-corner cockiness and billfold bluster. It's all shamelessly amoral, but the Clipse wouldn't be such savvy hustlers if they didn't know how to sling with style.