Hell: The Sequel EP - Bad Meets Evil
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 156

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    I wonder why people don't like "Lighters". You guys don't expect the album to be Horrorcore/Hardcore all through, there should be a chill out moment and "Lighters" is the perfect song. The Lyrics are really deep and meaningful.
  2. NJR
    Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Let me start off by saying this is easily the nicest Em has been for around 9 years. The EP is VERY good, lyrically it is brilliant and both dudes flows are near perfect most of the time. The strongest track is by far and away Fast Lane, maybe because it's the only flawless track on the EP. However, there are a few problems, the awful choruses are one, and the scattershot productionLet me start off by saying this is easily the nicest Em has been for around 9 years. The EP is VERY good, lyrically it is brilliant and both dudes flows are near perfect most of the time. The strongest track is by far and away Fast Lane, maybe because it's the only flawless track on the EP. However, there are a few problems, the awful choruses are one, and the scattershot production another. Don't get me wrong, as single tracks all of the beats are great but they don't come together very well on the EP. The most obvious flaw is Lighters, not because it's too commercial etc. but because that is not what Bad Meets Evil are, it's a huge contradiction, usually I love a bit of introspectiveness but it's not what I want from this duo. Em can save that crap for his next album, I don't think I have ever heard Royce sound so out of place and uncomfortable. Overall though very impressed by how these two got straight back at it after 10 years, especially Em seeing how weak he has been lately with Recovery, Relapse etc. If they had gone in to the studio saying they were going to make a full blown album and spend as much time as possible on it then we may have had a classic on our hands, but it has served it's purpose in bringing the excitement for Shady records to fever-pitch, 7.75 for me so i'll give it an 8. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This album is up there with "All 6's and 7's" as the best hip hop albums of 2011 so far. I like the Hardcore yelling as well(Haterz worst nightmare). Fastlane, A kiss, Take from me, Living proof, Echo, loud noises, Reunion, Welcome to hell, Lighters, I'm on everything and Above the law are my best tracks....Wait, but that's the whole Ep...lol
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Great Album full of lyricism. Eminem and Royce are perfect when they collabarate with each other. I love the horrorcore/ hardcore themed Album, even though the Album might be out of place with song "Lighters" but it still brings out a conscious side to the Album, which I see as a good thing. People may not like Bruno Mars, me included, but what I like about the song was Eminem was tellingGreat Album full of lyricism. Eminem and Royce are perfect when they collabarate with each other. I love the horrorcore/ hardcore themed Album, even though the Album might be out of place with song "Lighters" but it still brings out a conscious side to the Album, which I see as a good thing. People may not like Bruno Mars, me included, but what I like about the song was Eminem was telling him how he felt which was kind of good for the Album. Eminem humour seems to be back. The Track " The Reunion" reminds me of Guilty Conscience. Loud Noises is full of lyricism with additional members of Slaughterhouse featuring. It's not that it is a legendary Album but it is that lyrics should be accounted for. DON'T start comparing to Eminem's previous Album, like most dickheads will do so they will be skeptic of the Album. It is not a classic. But lyrically it is great Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    2011 looks great for Hip Hop. four great albums have been released. Tyler: The Creator's Goblin, Tech n9ne "All 6's and 7's", Bad meets evil "Hell: The Sequel", Saigon"Greatest story never told". And @adamjboss, Why did you give this album a 5/10? I know you are entitled to your opinion but taking your comment literally, it seems you don't like Royce but bad news Royce kept up with Em on2011 looks great for Hip Hop. four great albums have been released. Tyler: The Creator's Goblin, Tech n9ne "All 6's and 7's", Bad meets evil "Hell: The Sequel", Saigon"Greatest story never told". And @adamjboss, Why did you give this album a 5/10? I know you are entitled to your opinion but taking your comment literally, it seems you don't like Royce but bad news Royce kept up with Em on every track, he even performed better on some. Btw, what makes you think Tech n9ne will perform better than Royce ? Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Full of amazing lyrics from start to finish. Definitely one of the best rap albums of the year so far. If your an Eminem fan, a Royce da 5'9 fan or just a rap fan who wants to listen to some good songs with some good lyrics then you should give this a listen. p.s Even though its not as good as the Marshall Mathers lp doesn't mean it isn't a good album.

    p.s.s fave tracks are loud noises
    Full of amazing lyrics from start to finish. Definitely one of the best rap albums of the year so far. If your an Eminem fan, a Royce da 5'9 fan or just a rap fan who wants to listen to some good songs with some good lyrics then you should give this a listen. p.s Even though its not as good as the Marshall Mathers lp doesn't mean it isn't a good album.

    p.s.s fave tracks are loud noises ft slaughterhouse and welcome 2 hell.
    Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In 2001, Ryan Montgomery looked poise to be the next big thing in the hip-hop world. Having created buzz by being Eminemâ Expand
  8. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    The only suprise from this album for me, is that Royce is spitting fire almost as hot as Marshall. The production is fantastic and Bad Meets Evil have put an EP out there that says to the competition, come and get us. Eminem is sharp and his flow flawless on every track. this EP wont sell as well as a typical Eminem album but hip hop fans world wide will appreciate two artists at the topThe only suprise from this album for me, is that Royce is spitting fire almost as hot as Marshall. The production is fantastic and Bad Meets Evil have put an EP out there that says to the competition, come and get us. Eminem is sharp and his flow flawless on every track. this EP wont sell as well as a typical Eminem album but hip hop fans world wide will appreciate two artists at the top of their game. Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2011
    5
    its ok. Eminem has taken a long dive down in recent years. although a couple songs on the album are pretty good. royce brings him down. Eminem should do some music with tech N9ne. he is the only other rapper that i know of that they would both have to struggle to keep up with one another
  10. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    Off Lyrics alone its a 10. The Chemistry and Back and Forth of Royce and Em is dope.. If you like lyrics then you will like the album. Other than the production of Lighters (that beat is terrible) every song bangs all the way through.
  11. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Awesome album. Way better than "All 6's and 7's". I feel that this may not sell as much as it should, definitely will be underrated! Favorite tracks are Take From Me, Fast Lane, Lighters, Echo, Loud Noises, and I'm On Everything.
  12. Jun 30, 2011
    7
    Hell: The Sequel is much better than Eminem's last 2 albums Relapse and Recovery. The album is very inconsistent. There are some really good tracks and one really awful one that features the little **** Bruno Mars. Bruno Mars single handly prevented this album from getting a score of 10. When will Eminem learn to stop doing stupid collabs with manufactured pop artists like Rihanna, LilHell: The Sequel is much better than Eminem's last 2 albums Relapse and Recovery. The album is very inconsistent. There are some really good tracks and one really awful one that features the little **** Bruno Mars. Bruno Mars single handly prevented this album from getting a score of 10. When will Eminem learn to stop doing stupid collabs with manufactured pop artists like Rihanna, Lil Wayne and Pink. What's next a collab with Justin Bieber. Eminem and Royce Da 5'9' are the **** Bruno Mars can just die from his aids. Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    Eminem is undoubtably back. Hell: The Sequel is his best work since The Eminem Show back in 2002. The EP is very good, both lyrically and in content. No longer is Eminem ranting and raging through every song (there are still a few, Above the Law and Echo for example) but he has finally seemed to put something into this album that has been lacking in his last 3: variety. There are seriousEminem is undoubtably back. Hell: The Sequel is his best work since The Eminem Show back in 2002. The EP is very good, both lyrically and in content. No longer is Eminem ranting and raging through every song (there are still a few, Above the Law and Echo for example) but he has finally seemed to put something into this album that has been lacking in his last 3: variety. There are serious introspective songs (Lighters, Take From Me), funny songs (A Kiss, Fast Lane), angry rants (Welcome 2 Hell, Above the Law) and the violent whore-bashing "The Reunion". Royce's rapping abilities are up there with some of the best in the game currently and he is one of the few rappers who is able to keep up with Em lyrically, even outperforming him in a few songs. There are a few weak tracks on the album (Lighters, Above the Law, Loud Noises) but apart from that, this is a very good EP. Standout tracks: Welcome 2 Hell, Fast Lane, I'm On Everything & Take From Me. Expand
  14. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Lyricism was good, flow was brilliant just a great album. I preferred it to Recovery. Both Royce and Eminem were very good in this album. My favourite were "welcome 2 hell" "fastlane" the reunion" "Echo" Overall a very good album from bad meets evil!
  15. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    Wow, i loved everysong, except for fast lane and living proof, but they were good. eminem has found a balance between his old joking self and his angry mentality that many found he came on to hard with in recovery. its a great album
  16. Jul 7, 2011
    9
    While some at first might think this album is an attempt from Eminem of pity to rise Royce da 5'9's career into the spotlight, it is a mutual relationship. Royce stays on par with Eminem, and in numerous his songs, he performs better than him. Both of their lyrics are at their prime, as they try to make sure that neither of them got showed up by the other. It runs short at only 11While some at first might think this album is an attempt from Eminem of pity to rise Royce da 5'9's career into the spotlight, it is a mutual relationship. Royce stays on par with Eminem, and in numerous his songs, he performs better than him. Both of their lyrics are at their prime, as they try to make sure that neither of them got showed up by the other. It runs short at only 11 tracks, but I be damned if I were to name a better album this year. Expand
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    I think its quite clear that the only reason to buy this album is for Eminem, Lets face it Em is a beast. I wasnt all that impressed with Royce and I feel that he was trying too hard to mimic Em instead of being himself. Wasnt that impressed with the tracks either. Pretty disapointing
  18. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    Album is great, they are both genius' - Royce's Gun Harmonizing has not left my iPod since it first got on there and probably never will...

    One flaw though, why the hell is Bruno Mars singing like a chick on that one song? I can't even listen to Lighters - it is a hook made for teenage girls with verses made for men - highly disturbing and obnoxious. I deleted it from my library after I
    Album is great, they are both genius' - Royce's Gun Harmonizing has not left my iPod since it first got on there and probably never will...

    One flaw though, why the hell is Bruno Mars singing like a chick on that one song? I can't even listen to Lighters - it is a hook made for teenage girls with verses made for men - highly disturbing and obnoxious. I deleted it from my library after I head it. If you bump this song in your headphones or in your car - you are, in fact, a chick.
    Expand
  19. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    BAD MEETS EVIL hell the sequel is a very exciting album. it brings fun and emotions togethar which is very rare. fast lane is the best rap song of the year which is very hard hitting and explosive. with addition of slaughterhouse and bruno mars on tracks makes this album one of the best album of 2011
  20. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Long awaited duo is back! Hardcore fans understand this. Just a casual listener would not grasp that true fans have been waiting years for this album to finally come to fruition. Almost glad they waited because of years of being able to find each of their styles they are really both at their prime and show to not dissapoint on this album. The ping pong back and forth flow between EminemLong awaited duo is back! Hardcore fans understand this. Just a casual listener would not grasp that true fans have been waiting years for this album to finally come to fruition. Almost glad they waited because of years of being able to find each of their styles they are really both at their prime and show to not dissapoint on this album. The ping pong back and forth flow between Eminem and Royce is flawless! Expand
  21. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Why is metacritic collecting only the weak critical reviews ? Allhiphop gave this album a 9/10, 411mania gave it a 9.5/10, Dj booth gave it 4/5, SputnikMuzik gave it 4/5 and so many others. So many Critics gave it a highly positive review, why collecting only the weak ones like "The Independent" ? Their review was just 5 lines !!
  22. dz9
    Jul 30, 2011
    6
    Slim Shady and Royce collaborating again, and fulfilling the promise they made in their original song. It is hard not to compare this song to both artists' previous work. Listening to the original "Bad Meets Evil" and the songs off of this album, they are completely different and you can really tell the difference between Eminem and his alter ego "Slim Shady." That being said, the album isSlim Shady and Royce collaborating again, and fulfilling the promise they made in their original song. It is hard not to compare this song to both artists' previous work. Listening to the original "Bad Meets Evil" and the songs off of this album, they are completely different and you can really tell the difference between Eminem and his alter ego "Slim Shady." That being said, the album is no doubt lyrically superior than most albums. The main problem, is the balance between artists. The most horrid songs off the album, are "Take From Me," and "Lighters." Take From Me was way to unrelatable, and Lighters was way too unbalanced. Bruno Mars "killed" his verses. Being that Mars' voice rocked the song, it simply just did not match well with Royce and Em's flow, and really threw off the entire flow of the song. Really... that's the problem with the album, being unbalanced. Whereas in the original "Bad Meets Evil," Em and Royce fed off of each others' fuel with precision, while in this EP, one song: Em will shine and Royce will suck. another song: Royce will shine and Em will suck. There are only a few tracks where they genuinely work well together. Example would be "The Reunion" and "Fast Lane." Whereas the unbalanced performances are shown in "Above the Law" and "Living Proof." This is still a good album though, if your a Em fan or Slaughterhouse fan, you will be pleased with this. But it just is not of the caliber it should have been and its not of the caliber that either rapper should be expecting to perform at. The Good: Lyrically superior, great rhythms and beats. The Bad: unbalanced flows and tempos Expand
  23. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    Great album. Has a few songs that you'll love to keep repeating, but you've got a few that you'll want to avoid which makes me think of his old album Encore.
    Nether the less it's still a great album and it doesn't sound like Eminem kills Royce on track, they're both evenly skilled rappers which makes this 9/10.
  24. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an interesting side project by Eminem. At first I was hesitant to get the album. But After Hearing the CD in a cab ride through downtown Philly ---I was sold. Good songs, good features, solid overall CD Expand
  25. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    Bad Meets Evil have made a spectacular debut. 'Hell: The Sequel' is a great album overall. The songs are well thought out and planned. But it does sort of feel like it could have been better if the two artists (Eminem and Royce Da 5'9") really worked at it.
  26. Sep 7, 2011
    8
    After hearing their track together on The Slim Shady LP, I was desperate for more. Their chemistry together is undeniably strong, and they make a fierce collaboration. This album is pretty much what I expected, apart from the inclusion of Bruno Mars, but that's okay because Lighters is one of the best tracks there. Royce and Eminem are two of the best rappers going.
  27. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    One of the greatest albums of 2011. The duo spits fire and all tracks are enjoyable and listenable over and over again, Simply 2 veterans at their best.
  28. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    Dope! So happy Em and Royce squashed the stupid beef and ended up making this. It is kind of short but they rap fast enough in the 9 songs that they say more clever stuff than a normal rap artist with an album of 15 songs or more. A Kiss, I'm on Everything, and Welcome 2 Hell are so sick.
  29. Feb 23, 2012
    9
    This EP gives me hope that Hip-Hop is being revived along with ppl like Tech N9ne, Kanye & more. I thought it was going to be average EP but once i got to the 3rd song i was like this EP is impossible to suck
  30. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This was the only real American rap album of 2011 successful enough to reach the UK at least. the worlds biggest rappers; Jay-Z, Kanye West, Lil Wayne, Drake etc. did all release albums during this year, but none were 'proper' rap albums. Jay and Kanye used so many samples it became annoying quickly. Lil Wayne recycles lyrics and relies on that unique voice of his to sound good, and DrakeThis was the only real American rap album of 2011 successful enough to reach the UK at least. the worlds biggest rappers; Jay-Z, Kanye West, Lil Wayne, Drake etc. did all release albums during this year, but none were 'proper' rap albums. Jay and Kanye used so many samples it became annoying quickly. Lil Wayne recycles lyrics and relies on that unique voice of his to sound good, and Drake never has been a solid rapper. Eminem and Royce da 5'9 show the world rap music isn't dead on this by delivering endless hard lyrics and killer punchlines. they also do it over - in comparison to Jay and Kanye at least - simple beats that allow there flow to become the focus of the record. Also what is impressing for me to see, is Royce holding his own on the record throughout all the songs with Eminem, a man who made a living out of jumping on other peoples songs and murdering them. this album is about two rappers, rapping. Expand
  31. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Lighters Is Amazing!
    Overall His Best Album In Years! MASSIVE STEP UP!
  32. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    With a fresh face in the "Hip-Hop Duo" field, Bad Meets Evil provides a brilliant reunion between a lyrical genius and a blast from the past. This EP has wonderful beats along with clever, thoughtful wordplay to get me exited for their first full-length LP.
  33. Aug 9, 2012
    4
    Some songs are so unbelievably off-beat, I couldn't hear to that **** Other songs like the singles "Fast Lane" or "Lighters" are very good rapped and also the highlights of the album. The residual album is disappointing rubbish. A million of swear words and some songs, where they're only grumble about women or fans. Other songs don't have choruses, which are extremely important for me. Poor album.
  34. Mar 7, 2013
    4
    Eminem and Royce donn't find what many fans look for, its mostly a mess of uneediness and overplayed songs.
  35. Aug 1, 2013
    8
    Some of this songs are showing Eminem and Royce da 5'9 being complete jerks and then in the song "Take From Me" they want them to sympathize with us. In "Above The Law" the chorus talks about the rich and the poor. Which has nothing to do with what they rap. "Lighters", "A Kiss" and "Echo" are really good songs. It really feels like it gets competitive between Eminem and Royce, with whoSome of this songs are showing Eminem and Royce da 5'9 being complete jerks and then in the song "Take From Me" they want them to sympathize with us. In "Above The Law" the chorus talks about the rich and the poor. Which has nothing to do with what they rap. "Lighters", "A Kiss" and "Echo" are really good songs. It really feels like it gets competitive between Eminem and Royce, with who can rap harder and faster, which is always appreciated, there's not a lyrical competition because Eminem writes all of the lyrics, but regardless, you should give this EP a try. Expand
  36. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    When was the last time two rappers at Eminem and Royce's level went head to head like this? Fast paced, raw, "oooo" and "aaaahhh" worthy lyrics, ridiculous flows. This album is awesome, even if it lacks a theme, it's a must-listen.
  37. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    I love pretty much everything about this album. He teams up with another awesome rapper and the songs are out of control (in a good way) with all the lyrics and it just makes you feel bad@$$ when you're listening to them. This is definitely one of his best albums and I love everything about it!
  38. Mar 3, 2014
    8
    Loved this EP, the lyrics and flow on every song was unique and felt original. Nearly 3 years after it's release, Hell: The Sequel still has you rewinding each track, trying to catch each punchline or reference. Production hasn't grown on me that much and still sounds a bit bland on some tracks. Wouldn't say no to a full length LP or another EP from Bad Meets Evil.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    80
    If you've ever found yourself pouring over the lyrics to a Eminem or Royce song, trying to break down each metaphor and punchline, you'll eat Hell up.
  2. Jun 30, 2011
    83
    This is a labor of love Eminem clearly made for himself and an old friend who unleashed his inner beast. As he does on seemingly every album, Eminem makes noise here about retiring; for the first time in forever, that actually seems like a bad idea.
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    60
    The duo's sinister raps are as shockingly impressive as they are morally disturbing.