Hell: The Sequel EP - Bad Meets Evil
Hell: The Sequel EP Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Eminem, Royce da 5'9"
  • Summary: The hip-hop duo from Detroit consists of rappers Royce da 5'9" and Eminem.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    This is a labor of love Eminem clearly made for himself and an old friend who unleashed his inner beast. As he does on seemingly every album, Eminem makes noise here about retiring; for the first time in forever, that actually seems like a bad idea.
  2. 83
    The pair spew acid-tongued battle raps that shout down 
celebrities (Lady Gaga and 
 Justin Bieber join the hit 
 list with 
 obsessive conviction, but the Bruno Mars-produced pop 
 nugget ''Lighters'' makes the rest of Hell: The Sequel's dark leanings more fulfilling.
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    If you've ever found yourself pouring over the lyrics to a Eminem or Royce song, trying to break down each metaphor and punchline, you'll eat Hell up.
  4. The lyricism is impressive, and it's easy to get lost in it, but--some very noteworthy highlights aside--once that wears off, it's unlikely you'll return to Hell all that often.
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    Throughout his career, Mr. Mathers has given props to his Detroit hip-hop clan and spoken of his interactions, but his discography has been somewhat light on examples. Past the Mars cut, Hell: The Sequel helps right that wrong, providing the welcome sound of Shady meets the streets.
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    Their balance of humor and lyrical precision isn't as persistently dope as it was originally, but with one release they've already solidified themselves as one of the better duos in hip-hop, as they should be. I'm really happy about this.
  7. Jun 28, 2011
    The duo's sinister raps are as shockingly impressive as they are morally disturbing.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Dec 24, 2013
    I love pretty much everything about this album. He teams up with another awesome rapper and the songs are out of control (in a good way) with all the lyrics and it just makes you feel bad@$$ when you're listening to them. This is definitely one of his best albums and I love everything about it! Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    Lyricism was good, flow was brilliant just a great album. I preferred it to Recovery. Both Royce and Eminem were very good in this album. My favourite were "welcome 2 hell" "fastlane" the reunion" "Echo" Overall a very good album from bad meets evil! Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    I wonder why people don't like "Lighters". You guys don't expect the album to be Horrorcore/Hardcore all through, there should be a chill out moment and "Lighters" is the perfect song. The Lyrics are really deep and meaningful. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    Great album. Has a few songs that you'll love to keep repeating, but you've got a few that you'll want to avoid which makes me think of his old album Encore.
    Nether the less it's still a great album and it doesn't sound like Eminem kills Royce on track, they're both evenly skilled rappers which makes this 9/10.
  5. Dec 26, 2012
    Eminem is undoubtably back. Hell: The Sequel is his best work since The Eminem Show back in 2002. The EP is very good, both lyrically and in content. No longer is Eminem ranting and raging through every song (there are still a few, Above the Law and Echo for example) but he has finally seemed to put something into this album that has been lacking in his last 3: variety. There are serious introspective songs (Lighters, Take From Me), funny songs (A Kiss, Fast Lane), angry rants (Welcome 2 Hell, Above the Law) and the violent whore-bashing "The Reunion". Royce's rapping abilities are up there with some of the best in the game currently and he is one of the few rappers who is able to keep up with Em lyrically, even outperforming him in a few songs. There are a few weak tracks on the album (Lighters, Above the Law, Loud Noises) but apart from that, this is a very good EP. Standout tracks: Welcome 2 Hell, Fast Lane, I'm On Everything & Take From Me. Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2011
    After hearing their track together on The Slim Shady LP, I was desperate for more. Their chemistry together is undeniably strong, and they make a fierce collaboration. This album is pretty much what I expected, apart from the inclusion of Bruno Mars, but that's okay because Lighters is one of the best tracks there. Royce and Eminem are two of the best rappers going. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2012
    Some songs are so unbelievably off-beat, I couldn't hear to that **** Other songs like the singles "Fast Lane" or "Lighters" are very good rapped and also the highlights of the album. The residual album is disappointing rubbish. A million of swear words and some songs, where they're only grumble about women or fans. Other songs don't have choruses, which are extremely important for me. Poor album. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews