Hello [EP]

  • Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: May 8, 2012
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
Buy On
  1. May 30, 2012
    30
    There's always a sense that she and Noonan believe they're lowering themselves to sing pop music, that they are better, smarter, funnier than the music they're making...and that alienating smug entitlement is impossible to shake even when the productions are appealing, as they are through half of Hello.
  2. May 30, 2012
    50
    On its official debut, Karmin sidesteps creative expectations by simply sounding like every other pop act going.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    May 30, 2012
    75
    Their debut delivers seven tracks of adorkable hip-pop originals. [11 May 2012, p.67]
  4. May 30, 2012
    30
    Karmin can make you hate pop music.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    1010

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    I don't know why everyone hates Karmin. Their music is great. Amy vocals are so good, her rapping is insane! I would have loved to hear moreI don't know why everyone hates Karmin. Their music is great. Amy vocals are so good, her rapping is insane! I would have loved to hear more from Nick, but the album is amazing overall. Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    7
    Talk about hate, Boston duo Karmin seem to be hated by all the critics being called annoying and unoriginal, which does stink for theTalk about hate, Boston duo Karmin seem to be hated by all the critics being called annoying and unoriginal, which does stink for the newcomers. Karmin releases their EP "Hello" after their hit "Brokenhearted" became a hit, and I disagree with what the critics are saying about "Hello" because I enjoyed it, even if it's just an EP. Karmin has potential but this EP doesn't give me a whole lot to talk about, but I enjoyed nearly all the songs on here (though maybe one or two songs could've been used for their first big album) "Walking On the Moon" was a fresh spin on Pop/Hip-Hop with cool beats and good flow (if slightly stupid lyrics) but it could be a song that'll make people laugh in a bad way. Other songs include "I Told You So" "Too Many Fish" and "Hello" that are fun little songs to listen to. The problem for me is that I wished I got more, it probably wasn't the best idea to release an EP before you're first big release. Also some of the Lyrics are a little laughable, it seems like their trying to appeal to tweens and young adult hipsters. But I enjoyed "Hello" as I thought it was a good EP and I'm curious to know more about Karmin after listening to this. Now stop with all the negativity. Full Review »