Hello [EP] - Karmin
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    Flawless rapping seamlessly integrated within the albums pop on the album. Smoothly transitioning from Hip Hop to Pop to even some Dance and Electronic influences. Some could even say that Brokenhearted has some post-disco influences. I used to have Nicki Minaj as my favorite rapper, now its Karmin (Amy).
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    Amy Heidennman definitely has the vocal prowess to give this album a good sense of talent, however, the way she spits out rhymes is kind of creepy and spoils the song at times. The other half of Karmin, Nick Noonan, has a good voice and he should have sang more in the EP. The song Coming Up Strong features Nick singing, but Amy just has to ruin the beauty of the song with her freakshow rap. Another track ruined by Amy's rapping style is I'm Just Sayin'. But the album is not all bad. The production is very radio-friendly and has some catchy hooks. Brokenhearted showcases Amy as a vocally powerful talent. The song is also very, very catchy. And her rap is not exactly horrible in the song. Walking on The Moon has an adorable hook and the title track is highly danceable. The production is the main highlight of the album. While Amy's voice is another. Karmin needs to make more tracks like Brokenhearted. Songs that are energetic and fun and not full of freaky rapping. HIGHLIGHTS: Brokenhearted, I Told You So, Walking On The Moon. SONGS THAT ARE TO BE SKIPPED: I'm Just Sayin', Coming Up Strong. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    Explosive, catchy and fresh pop/rap/dance music... :3 sometimes old formulas work well even if artists only mix up some of the ingredients...
  4. Aug 4, 2012
    4
    As their EP's breakthrough lead single, "Brokenhearted", can exemplify, Karmin are charismatic and capable of making irresistible pop melodies, however, the rest of Hello focuses on catapulting lead vocalist Amy as a rapper, which turns out to be the EP - and this duo's - biggest downfall. Lyrical content is underwhelming and often laughable, as proven in its second single "I Told You So". Let's hope criticism steers this Sonny and Cher-wannabe couple into the right direction. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    I Love This Album.. One Or Two Songs Are Weak..
    But Still A Good Album!
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    The first time I listened to Karmin, I wrote them off. A couple months passed and my girlfriend was listening to a catchy, fast-talking song. It was Karmin, and I gave them another shake. I LOVE about 4 songs on this album, and the others are just okay. Like the quirky use of sounds on some of the songs.
  7. Jul 29, 2012
    6
    Like pretty much everyone else I first heard about this duo through their YouTube videos, and even though I never subscribed to their channel I liked the few videos I did see. Still it wasn't until their impressive performance on SNL that I really began to take interest. I forgot about them for a while but then after seeing a video about how much Brokenhearted sucks compared to the rest of the album, I figured I'd give this a listen. ---

    Walking on the Moon: The music's good but that and the solid lovestruck chorus are ruined by the verses which are just filler bragging & as a result the whole song just feels unfocused, misleading & annoying. 6/10. --- Brokenhearted: Probably the most generic pop song here. It's catchy & all but nothing special. 5/10. --- I Told You So: One of my favorites from this album. The rapping especially is some of the most impressive here. My one complaint is that hearing this version was a let-down after hearing the version with more emphasis on guitar & drums on the SNL performance. Still, it's a good one. 7/10. --- Too Many Fish: This song just annoys me because 1) it's annoyingly repetitive, and 2) the whole "fish in the sea" metaphor is just driven into the ground so much it loses effect quickly. The whole thing just reminds me of Single Ladies. Nuff said. 4/10. --- I'm Just Sayin: Most of the same compliments I gave I Told You So can also be applied here. Everything about it just works, especially the more personal lyrics. 8/10. --- Coming Up Strong: First of all this is this only track here where Nick sings lead, and I really hope that happens more often in the future since he's got a good voice. The track continues lyrically in the same vein as I'm Just Sayin while also taking away some of its mildly obnoxious elements that kept it from being a 9. This is my favorite track from here. I wish for tracks here felt this sincere. It just takes all of Karmin's potential and magnifies it more than any other song here, and I hope they go more in this direction for their next album. 9/10. --- Hello: This isn't produced by David Guetta but it sounds like every David Guetta song ever, right down to the way it builds up to the chorus, which is an embarrassing "homage" to Smells Like Teen Spirit and also sounds exactly like that Evacuate the Dancefloor song from a few years back. Again, nuff said. Not a good way to end the album at all. 3/10. --- Overall this album shows potential but there's a little too much label influence to call it a complete success. --- Favorites: I Told You So, I'm Just Sayin', Coming Up Strong.
    Least favorites: Brokenhearted, Too Many Fish, Hello.
    Expand
  8. Sep 1, 2013
    7
    Talk about hate, Boston duo Karmin seem to be hated by all the critics being called annoying and unoriginal, which does stink for the newcomers. Karmin releases their EP "Hello" after their hit "Brokenhearted" became a hit, and I disagree with what the critics are saying about "Hello" because I enjoyed it, even if it's just an EP. Karmin has potential but this EP doesn't give me a whole lot to talk about, but I enjoyed nearly all the songs on here (though maybe one or two songs could've been used for their first big album) "Walking On the Moon" was a fresh spin on Pop/Hip-Hop with cool beats and good flow (if slightly stupid lyrics) but it could be a song that'll make people laugh in a bad way. Other songs include "I Told You So" "Too Many Fish" and "Hello" that are fun little songs to listen to. The problem for me is that I wished I got more, it probably wasn't the best idea to release an EP before you're first big release. Also some of the Lyrics are a little laughable, it seems like their trying to appeal to tweens and young adult hipsters. But I enjoyed "Hello" as I thought it was a good EP and I'm curious to know more about Karmin after listening to this. Now stop with all the negativity. Expand
  9. Jul 11, 2013
    4
    I had liked Brokenhearted when it first got released but once I heard the whole EP that was the only song I think I would buy from it. There was a ton of rap in it which I guess I should've expected but it wasn't my kind of rap that I generally favor. Not my kind of album. Best tracks in my opinion: Brokenhearted, Hello
  10. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    I don't know why everyone hates Karmin. Their music is great. Amy vocals are so good, her rapping is insane! I would have loved to hear more from Nick, but the album is amazing overall.
  11. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    10

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. 75
    Their debut delivers seven tracks of adorkable hip-pop originals. [11 May 2012, p.67]
  2. May 30, 2012
    30
    There's always a sense that she and Noonan believe they're lowering themselves to sing pop music, that they are better, smarter, funnier than the music they're making...and that alienating smug entitlement is impossible to shake even when the productions are appealing, as they are through half of Hello.
  3. May 30, 2012
    50
    On its official debut, Karmin sidesteps creative expectations by simply sounding like every other pop act going.