• Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Oct 17, 2006
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The new set goes just far enough beyond the call of duty to warrant repeat listens.
  2. The sheer speed can be exhilarating, but changes of pace... are disappointingly few and far between. [Nov 2006, p.149]
  3. There's still signs of the nutso techno loony who prompted NME to invent the term 'drill'n'bass' back in the mid-'90s. [14 Oct 2006, p.35]
  4. If you haven't encountered Jenkinson's strange world of jazz-fusion-hardcore before, this is a decent starting point, and if you're more into the jazz funk than the digital hardcore, this is one of his less abrasive outings.
  5. Hello Everything is short on revelations but not quality. [Dec 2006, p.97]
  6. 50
    While Hello Everything is everything you'd expect a Squarepusher LP to be, therein lies the problem: It's exactly everything you'd expect a Squarepusher album to be. [Oct 2006, p.130]
  7. 40
    There's a self-indulgence at play when can become aggravating. [Nov 2006, p.128]
  8. The songs sound more like a collection of B-sides than a new album. [Dec 2006, p.206]
  9. Hello Everything is his most disappointing release yet.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. TimC
    Dec 24, 2006
    9
    An altogether solid album with at least a couple amazing tracks. It's one of the better albums of the year.
  2. AlexA
    Dec 2, 2006
    7
    Interesting but soulless stuff. "Ultravisitor" was far much better.
  3. RM
    Oct 25, 2006
    8
    For some reason this Squarepusher album gets a lot of criticism for not being original. But to be honest I cannot think of any other For some reason this Squarepusher album gets a lot of criticism for not being original. But to be honest I cannot think of any other Squarepusher release that sounds like this (no tracks like Hello Meow, Vacuum Garden for instance). Obviously there are a few things which make Squarepusher Squarepusher, but it seems that a lot of the ranting is about how accessible this album is. And yet when he does release an experimental album like Ultravisitor, that received criticism from some for being too experimental. I think it was the right decision to make a friendly album after mainly experimenting from 1998's Music Is Rotted One Note (I won't mention the poor Selection Sixteen) because, as much as I have enjoyed his work, it is important I think to remind people why we liked Squarepusher in the first place. As for the album itself, I think all of the tracks are of a pretty high standard, with some better than others depending on perosnal preference. It is actually a consistent album and it is a pity that it is criticised because of its concept rather than content. He can do something new on his next album - give him a break and just enjoy the album (I like the Guardians attitude). Full Review »