• Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Oct 17, 2006
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TyO
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Being a lover of all things Squarepusher, I may be bias. I love this album. I thought that after Ultravisitor, an album that so far broke out of his norm and incorporated so many different ideas that he would have a hard time making ANYTHING fresh. From first track onwards, this is fresh; and definitely worth the buy. Classic squarepusher, yet anew. Props Tom, Props.
  2. robertw
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    like a fine wine. a mature and focused and very enjoyable and fun squarepusher album.
  3. RM
    Oct 25, 2006
    8
    For some reason this Squarepusher album gets a lot of criticism for not being original. But to be honest I cannot think of any other Squarepusher release that sounds like this (no tracks like Hello Meow, Vacuum Garden for instance). Obviously there are a few things which make Squarepusher Squarepusher, but it seems that a lot of the ranting is about how accessible this album is. And yet For some reason this Squarepusher album gets a lot of criticism for not being original. But to be honest I cannot think of any other Squarepusher release that sounds like this (no tracks like Hello Meow, Vacuum Garden for instance). Obviously there are a few things which make Squarepusher Squarepusher, but it seems that a lot of the ranting is about how accessible this album is. And yet when he does release an experimental album like Ultravisitor, that received criticism from some for being too experimental. I think it was the right decision to make a friendly album after mainly experimenting from 1998's Music Is Rotted One Note (I won't mention the poor Selection Sixteen) because, as much as I have enjoyed his work, it is important I think to remind people why we liked Squarepusher in the first place. As for the album itself, I think all of the tracks are of a pretty high standard, with some better than others depending on perosnal preference. It is actually a consistent album and it is a pity that it is criticised because of its concept rather than content. He can do something new on his next album - give him a break and just enjoy the album (I like the Guardians attitude). Expand
  4. mikes.
    Oct 19, 2006
    4
    Well it seems as if IDM has long past its prime. The new mouse on mars and the new squarepusher are both disappointing and r "old" sounding. IDM is not the future of electronic music, it is history.
  5. AlexA
    Dec 2, 2006
    7
    Interesting but soulless stuff. "Ultravisitor" was far much better.
  6. TimC
    Dec 24, 2006
    9
    An altogether solid album with at least a couple amazing tracks. It's one of the better albums of the year.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 50
    While Hello Everything is everything you'd expect a Squarepusher LP to be, therein lies the problem: It's exactly everything you'd expect a Squarepusher album to be. [Oct 2006, p.130]
  2. This is a promising album, one which refines prior approaches and shows what Jenkinson has learned and incorporated into his arsenal in the last few years, presented in a careful, focused package.
  3. For the most part, this is Squarepusher on full beam and Hello Everything is a thing of unbridled joy.