Hello Hurricane - Switchfoot
Hello Hurricane Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest album for the rock band from San Diego is the first of four recorded in the same session to be released.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. It's a sleekly presented modern-rock album with no shortage of bruising guitars or catchy choruses.
  2. The band’s seventh full-length is meat-and-potatoes arena rock polished to a gleaming sheen (thanks to producer Mike Elizondo), wrapped around huge hooks and intercut by Foreman’s incisive, discontented lyrics, which almost always manage to translate sentiments rooted deeply in faith to universally relatable choruses.
  3. More than a couple of the mid-tempo light rockers here lack teeth, some of them even lack gums. We’ve heard Switchfoot as weepy soundtrack peddlers before, but Switchfoot the rock band, it turns out, is pretty darn good.
  4. Hello Hurricane is by far the San Diego rockers' most natural, effortless outing to date.
  5. An uplifting, hope-giving affirmation of resurgence from a band who might have been down at one point but were definitely never out. [Dec 2009, p.117]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    It's hard to judge, but this is probably Switchfoot's best album. There isn't a bad song on the album; from the rocking "Mess of Me" to the beautiful melody of "Your Love is a Song" each one is filled with inspired creativity.

    The title track of the album, "Hello Hurricane" is my personal favourite of the album. It's crying out that with all the disasters, hurt and pain surrounding us, that we can face it, and that it cannot silence our love! When we're battered by the storms of this world, sometimes we need to hold on to truths like that!

    The band said when they were putting together the album, if the song didn't make you cry, what's it doing on there? And this is evident in the album, the band have poured their heart and soul into this album and ended up with something fantastic!

    God Bless!
  2. Sep 7, 2011
    Easily one of their best albums! They put as much effort into every song equally, unlike most modern albums when they focus on 2 or 3 songs in particular, its all good! Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    Switchfoot always comes up with somehting amazing to here. Something that you would want to here over and over. The band've created rock music with all their souls and heart and one listen is like a therapy session. This album is really saying Hello to the Hurricane that is our life. With all the ups and downs. And at the end of the album, the listener can agree that, hey, life's quite good after all! Let's give it another try. Or listen. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is still, and might always be my favourite Switchfoot album. The album starts off with a triumphant 'Needle in a Haystack Life', and the album just keeps on going from there.
    'Mess of Me' keeps the mood rocking and up high, which transitions into a softer, but still upbeat 'Your Love is a Song' with a strong message I still love. It then goes up to full tempo with the next song 'The Sound'. This grunge feel song is one I absolutely love, and is defiantly the loudest and guitar controlled song on the album. It then mellows down into "Enough to Let Me Go', a song with wonderful guitar parts, and even the light snare hits on the drums in the verses really add to the song as a whole. The next song is possibly my favourite on the album, 'Free'. And upbeat but almost dark song, has a strong message, and is incredibly catchy. The instruments work very well together on this song, and I just love the overall song for what is is. It then transitions into, what I would say could surprisingly be the weakest song on the album, 'Hello Hurricane". Although the message and lyrics are conveying, the feel for the song in general has just never completely worked for me. But maybe that's just me. Then we go into 'Always", which starts off with wonderful vocals and piano, and later on, the band comes in at the perfect time to give the song the perfect punch. The album then goes up in tempo one last time, for the rocking 'Bullet Soul". With an almost Led Zeppelin feel to it, this song has it all. A sweet bass line, strong guitars, huge drums, and raging vocals. We then go down in tempo once again for the song 'Yet', which although the tune and lyrics itself are quite cliche, the song by itself is still great. You could listen to it over and over, and never get tired of it. It then moves into one of my favourites on the album 'Sing it Out". Starting off with a more dark feel, and then slowly building to the end of the song, it's a favourite of mine. And it sets the mod for the final song, 'Red Eyes', which I think is a perfect song to end. The final minute of the song has the echoing lyrics "We are once in a lifetime.." which were also sung in the first song on the album. Cool idea!
    To conclude, this album is a statement. A wonderful pieced album, and I don't think one song on this album was out of place. Keep making music Switchfoot, love ya!

    Stand-out Tracks: Needle And Haystack Life, Free, Bullet Soul, Sing It Out
  5. Jan 16, 2014
    Hello Hurricane is Switchfoot loosening their ties and pulling in a little bit of that old school west coast grunge. Hurricane every bit as catchy as it is edgy. It carries a bit of the rock edge of Nothing Is Sound but doesn't open up to the pop tendencies of Switchfoot's past quite as much. Switchfoot are some of the most consistent and true artists of the alternative rock scene. Their humble beginnings and will-not-compromise approach to their core sound is what eventually made them a breakout success with The Beautiful Letdown. So consider Hello Hurricane Switchfoot growing up a little more and experimenting just a bit more than they would have six years ago. The results are quite rewarding. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2011
    First off, I'm a huge fan of Switchfoot. I've been listening to them and following them for years. I was especially excited for Hello Hurricane, because it was Switchfoot's first album on their own label. It was something of a let down, really. It's a good album, but all around lack-luster. Particularly "Your Love is a Song" was a disappointment. It's simple a rehashing of an earlier Switchfoot song, "Only Hope," but less inspired, musically and lyrically. The harder tracks ("Mess of Me, "The Sound") were well developed tunes, and I could rock along with them. Really though, they lacked musical originality, and they don't match the lyrical depth of any songs on other Switchfoot Albums. Musically the bright spots were "Free," and "Bullet Soul." Lyrically, Jon Foreman showed he will always have "it" with "Hello Hurricane" and "Red Eyes."

    Overall a good album, but sub-par by Switchfoot Standards. Here's to the upcoming Vice Verses.
  7. Oct 22, 2012
    Switchfoot has yet to prove themselves as an important band, and "Hello Hurricane" is certainly a weak album, but their aspirations to be an important are always apparent and the choruses of their better songs on "Hurricane" make you root for them, if only for a while. Expand