Hello Sadness - Los Campesinos!
Hello Sadness Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Recorded in Girona, Spain, with producer John Goodmason, the latest album for the Welsh band led by Gareth Campesinos expands on its pop sounds.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    Mature, reflective, elegant and just that little bit haunting, but ultimately and most importantly of all, brilliant.
  2. [It offers] up some of the most melodramatic songs Los Campesinos! have recorded to date.
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    Maturity and sonic streamlining hasn't removed the essence of what gave them their cult following.
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    There are instrumental bridges on this album that seem, blissfully, to go on forever, leading perfectly into the next song.
  5. 70
    The kids of the LC! still bristle with a fundamental melodic vibrancy, and the hand-in-hand maturing of music-writer Tom Campesinos! into the realms of Sonic Youth thrashes, cranky synthetics and handclaps, harmonium, violin and bar-room piano gives the record a gravitas to counterpoint Gareth's lyrical anguish.
  6. Dec 5, 2011
    It still is either very sincere or very sarcastic, or both, though these are two qualities which have always been both a justification for liking them and just as easily a reason why not, meanwhile not offering any amnesty or middle ground.
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    Whereas previous albums took a massive leap into noise and danger, this disappoints.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    At first I thought that some of the tracks were filler tracks, but after multiple listens I've decided it is only because certain other songs are so strong on the album. While there are songs that people will undoubtedly pick out of the album to listen to more than others, a straight through listen of the album is exceptionally pleasing. There are never songs that distract from the overall experience other than to "wow" you. The lead singer has grown tremendously since Hold On Now, Youngster. While he used to have a much brighter sound, his vocals have matured and darkened as have his lyrics. I loved the first album but because of how bright it was, I could only take so many listens before I got a headache. It's hard to compare to the other albums as it is much different, but after multiple listens through I can safely say this is their best album yet. Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    Songs about sadness over cheerful guitar beats. It takes a few listens to really get into the songs because the music not as catchy as their other albums, I guess to prevent the contrast from being too much. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    It's an impressive (but sad, as the title says) album. It starts with a bit of a hope, like something's going to work, but songs like the main titled song and Life Is A Long Time shows that nothing is good (like a misunderstood love). It's poetic, sometimes too sad, and despite of this album sounds very personal, it has wonderful tracks. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    A very solid album. I had never heard of this band before, and went into listening to this album with zero expectations. I thoroughly enjoyed the record, although it felt like some tracks were unnecessary filler. Still, a very good album. Expand