Hello Sadness

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Dec 2, 2011
    60
    Gareth's voice has gone from excited and jubilant to pained and miserable -– an uncanny cross between Robert Smith and Conor Oberst.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Ergo, Los Campesinos! had a very strong EP's worth of material on Hello Sadness, as five or six of the songs make a mark; the rest is largely filler on an album stretched out to a 40 minute runtime.
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    60
    Written while reeling from the scorpion sting of heartbreak, Gareth Campesinos' lyrics to his band's fourth album are navel-gazing in the extreme.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    60
    The best moments remain the songs where the band moves as a unit, conjuring a sense of hope and elation, rather than falling back on tired, shouty punk cliches.
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    50
    Hello Sadness offers the lumbering and deflated version of Los Campesinos!, hiding away their most alluring energy in favor of glum inactivity.
  6. Under The Radar
    Nov 15, 2011
    50
    The rest of Hello Sadness, however, finds the band drifting into less familiar territory, with mixed results. [Oct 2011, p.101]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    8
    It's an impressive (but sad, as the title says) album. It starts with a bit of a hope, like something's going to work, but songs like the mainIt's an impressive (but sad, as the title says) album. It starts with a bit of a hope, like something's going to work, but songs like the main titled song and Life Is A Long Time shows that nothing is good (like a misunderstood love). It's poetic, sometimes too sad, and despite of this album sounds very personal, it has wonderful tracks. Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Songs about sadness over cheerful guitar beats. It takes a few listens to really get into the songs because the music not as catchy as theirSongs about sadness over cheerful guitar beats. It takes a few listens to really get into the songs because the music not as catchy as their other albums, I guess to prevent the contrast from being too much. Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    At first I thought that some of the tracks were filler tracks, but after multiple listens I've decided it is only because certain other songsAt first I thought that some of the tracks were filler tracks, but after multiple listens I've decided it is only because certain other songs are so strong on the album. While there are songs that people will undoubtedly pick out of the album to listen to more than others, a straight through listen of the album is exceptionally pleasing. There are never songs that distract from the overall experience other than to "wow" you. The lead singer has grown tremendously since Hold On Now, Youngster. While he used to have a much brighter sound, his vocals have matured and darkened as have his lyrics. I loved the first album but because of how bright it was, I could only take so many listens before I got a headache. It's hard to compare to the other albums as it is much different, but after multiple listens through I can safely say this is their best album yet. Full Review »