User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 83
  2. Negative: 29 out of 83

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Another awesome album by nickelback. They have gone back and have done this in the harder rock style they used for the all the right reasons album. It features great songs and should get more praise than it does.
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    By now people pretty much know whether they are a Nickelback fan or not. I don't see this album gaining them any more fans as it's pretty much more of they have already done just with different songs. Fans like myself will be pleased with the album overall, but it's far from their best work. So if you're a fan of the band then this is worth your time. If you're not a fan then this won'tBy now people pretty much know whether they are a Nickelback fan or not. I don't see this album gaining them any more fans as it's pretty much more of they have already done just with different songs. Fans like myself will be pleased with the album overall, but it's far from their best work. So if you're a fan of the band then this is worth your time. If you're not a fan then this won't change your mind. I know I'm a fan and enjoy this straight-up rock album even if I was a little disappointed with the slower songs. Expand
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Amazing Album By An Amazing Band :)... doesn't top there 2008 album dark horse but its still awesome... great guitar riff, amazing lyrics, midnight queen demon straights that. it is a typical nickelback album but thats what i love about it..that they arnt changing to all this computerised crap you hear these days AWESOME ALBUM BY THE BEST BAND IN THE WORLD
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    This is an okay album with some high strong points, but it also has a lot of filler. It's MILES better than Dark Horse. It's just sad that Chad Kroeger used to have VERY good live voice, sounding almost exactly like he did in the studio. Now he sounds very high pitch due to his relying on auto-tune for all his music. The old stuff doesn't even SOUND the same anymore. Chad has trulyThis is an okay album with some high strong points, but it also has a lot of filler. It's MILES better than Dark Horse. It's just sad that Chad Kroeger used to have VERY good live voice, sounding almost exactly like he did in the studio. Now he sounds very high pitch due to his relying on auto-tune for all his music. The old stuff doesn't even SOUND the same anymore. Chad has truly forgotten how to sing. In Here and Now, the synth guitars and auto-tune are still there just as they were in Dark Horse, but this time it's not as bad. Songs like This Means War, When We Stand Together, and Lulluby redeem this album from mediocrety while songs like Don't Ever Let It End and Kiss It Goodbye condemn it to just that. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Nickelback is just a great band,but really,they really know how to satisfy you and this album just rocks,the only tune that i don't really love is Midnight Queen,but hey is just the one song.So This means war is one of the greatest songs i've heard,and it's really hard.Bottoms up is a typical Nickelback song for fun with great solo,like Burn it to the ground,except this one focuses onNickelback is just a great band,but really,they really know how to satisfy you and this album just rocks,the only tune that i don't really love is Midnight Queen,but hey is just the one song.So This means war is one of the greatest songs i've heard,and it's really hard.Bottoms up is a typical Nickelback song for fun with great solo,like Burn it to the ground,except this one focuses on drinking.When we stand together is really goog POP,and little rock,but mostly POP song that can really satisfy you.Midnight queen is ok,but nothing special.Gotta get me some is the one that i can play all day and i can never get tired of it.Now Lullaby is not mine favorite,but it is the favorite of mine girlfriend and my friends so that is a really good song.Now mine favorite is Kiss it goodbye,cause it has really catchy stile and has a pretty good and true lyrics.Trying not to love you is a great song and it has potential to be a hit song.Holding on to heaven is the great song that has the feeling like it was made to be on the radio all the time,just listen to it.Everything i wanna do is another good song that falls a little bit flat,and has no special feeling in it.And the last,mine third favorite is Don't ever let it end,just perfect...So the list from the most favorite to the unfavorite TO ME is going like this:
    1.Kiss it goodbye
    2.This means war
    3.Don't ever let it end
    4.Bottoms up
    5.Gotta get me some
    6.Lullaby
    7.Holding on to heaven
    8.When we stand together
    9.Trying not to love you
    10.Everything i wanna do
    11.Midnight queen...
    Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    8
    its a step up from dark horse, but it still isnt as good as all the right reasons. this means war and when we stand together are surprisingly catchy, and lullaby is a powerful tune that sounds different from anything else by nickelback, so stuff u haters if u think all of nickelback's songs sound the same
  7. May 28, 2013
    9
    After the disappointment of Dark Horse, Nickelback returned with what is their best record to date. The band still makes good old fashioned 80s hard rock style songs but there seems to be a broader sonic palette giving extra power to these songs. Forget the ridiculous lyrics and the fact that they declare war AND peace with only one song separating the two, just have fun listening to thisAfter the disappointment of Dark Horse, Nickelback returned with what is their best record to date. The band still makes good old fashioned 80s hard rock style songs but there seems to be a broader sonic palette giving extra power to these songs. Forget the ridiculous lyrics and the fact that they declare war AND peace with only one song separating the two, just have fun listening to this record because that's what it was created for. Standout tracks are; This Means War, Lullaby, Trying Not to Love You, and Don't Ever Let It End (my personal favourite). Expand
  8. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    It's definitely a new stretch for Nickelback, that's for sure. And what amazes me, as soon as I bought the album I listened to it, and instantly fell in love with it. But it seems critics still aren't respecting them enough and still trashing them. Give me a break! The world is under a faze where it's considered mandatory to trash Nickelback. This album, unlike their followup, Dark Horse,It's definitely a new stretch for Nickelback, that's for sure. And what amazes me, as soon as I bought the album I listened to it, and instantly fell in love with it. But it seems critics still aren't respecting them enough and still trashing them. Give me a break! The world is under a faze where it's considered mandatory to trash Nickelback. This album, unlike their followup, Dark Horse, is more emotional, and I definitely think they've stretched lyrically. This album is very enjoyable to listen to and might even win the band more fans. It's not the greatest, but it's worth a listen, even if you an immature and jaded Nickelback hater.
    Track Picks- When We Stand Together, Lullaby, Everything I Wanna Do, This Means War, Gotta Get Me Some.
    Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2011
    4
    A typical Nickelback album in many ways: semi-catchy melodies, crunching guitars, and the familiar growl of Chad Kroeger following "Midnight Queen" (about a girl he'd like to offer a 'sucker' to) a few tracks later with "Trying Not To Love You". Sure, Chad, whatever you say. The incongruous tone to the album is among its amusing qualities.

    It's basically channeling Dark Horse and the last
    A typical Nickelback album in many ways: semi-catchy melodies, crunching guitars, and the familiar growl of Chad Kroeger following "Midnight Queen" (about a girl he'd like to offer a 'sucker' to) a few tracks later with "Trying Not To Love You". Sure, Chad, whatever you say. The incongruous tone to the album is among its amusing qualities.

    It's basically channeling Dark Horse and the last few albums they've made, and the truth is, they know how to make this type of music, and it sells. There are worse bands out there, even if the thought of this band making 4-5 more albums as the years go along doesn't exactly fill me with anticipation. Standouts (in this case meaning less mediocre than the rest of the album): This Means War, Lullaby and When We Stand Together.
    Expand
  10. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    To put it very simply this album has six good songs( When we together , Lullaby, Dont let it end etc.) and the other five are trash(Midnight queen, Bottoms up, Gotta get me some etc.)i personally am not for their harder, vulgar, sexual stuff but the rest is all good and ill always be a fan.
  11. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    another great cd by nickelback! love the songs on there! its a definite buy for me and for all the fans will love this. its a great CD just to crank up and drink to and to play some video games
  12. Nov 23, 2011
    1
    I'm getting really tired of this. Here we go again: formulaic, uninspired, meat and potatoes, playing it safe, repetitive, songs are either about sex, drugs, alcohol, parties, sex, drugs or sex. I'm getting tired of writing and or saying the same thing when I review a Nickelback album. Come on guys, if you're going to make **** music, then at least give me something else I can say about it?
  13. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    "Here and Now" is an okay album from Nickelback. It is a better album then "Dark Horse" but not as good as " All The Right Reasons". This album seems to focus more on guitar riffs then anything else, it is a good listen, if you're a Nickelback fan, but don't expect anything ground breaking from this album. If you are just new to Nickelback, i would suggest getting their first two albums as"Here and Now" is an okay album from Nickelback. It is a better album then "Dark Horse" but not as good as " All The Right Reasons". This album seems to focus more on guitar riffs then anything else, it is a good listen, if you're a Nickelback fan, but don't expect anything ground breaking from this album. If you are just new to Nickelback, i would suggest getting their first two albums as they were the best. But still, an alright album, from an alright band. Expand
  14. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    all im gonna say is if your looking for a good mixture of songs from rockers to ballads this is the album you need to have in your collection this dark horse and all the right reasons are possibly the bands best work and i cant wait for album 8 to come out in a couple of years
  15. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This album is an evolution for the band. Melodically superior to everything they've released before, and perfectly mixed. Front-man Chad Kroeger knows what his fans like.
  16. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    The 'Back is back! While "Dark Horse" was an offensive and lazy album which I still don't enjoy, I love all of their other work. While this isn't quite on the level of "All the Right Reasons" or their best work "Silver Side Up" it's a return to more enjoyable, accessible and fun Nickelback. Definitely worth checking out if you're a fan.
  17. Nov 26, 2011
    6
    I wasn't expecting anything different from Nickelback, so this album did not surprise me. Still, I thought this was a decent album. It still follows the old Nickelback formula: some angst songs, some love songs, some sex songs, a drinking song. But it's much more enjoyable than Dark Horse, their previous album. And "Bottoms Up" is a better party song than anything that lame-ass duo LMFAOI wasn't expecting anything different from Nickelback, so this album did not surprise me. Still, I thought this was a decent album. It still follows the old Nickelback formula: some angst songs, some love songs, some sex songs, a drinking song. But it's much more enjoyable than Dark Horse, their previous album. And "Bottoms Up" is a better party song than anything that lame-ass duo LMFAO can come up with. Nickelback fans will probably enjoy this album. Nickelback haters will obviously hate it. I don't care if you hate this band. But I can assure you there are much worse acts out there. Expand
  18. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    another awesome album...nice follow-up to darkhorse...I'm almost certain that this album will get hate just because it's made by Nickelback... Which is completely unfair. With hits such as "Don't ever let it end" and "Trying not to love you", Here and Now is possibly one of the best albums released by the band. It sticks largely to the usual formula, but there are a few moments where theyanother awesome album...nice follow-up to darkhorse...I'm almost certain that this album will get hate just because it's made by Nickelback... Which is completely unfair. With hits such as "Don't ever let it end" and "Trying not to love you", Here and Now is possibly one of the best albums released by the band. It sticks largely to the usual formula, but there are a few moments where they try something new - and it pays off. Definitely worth a buy. Expand
  19. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    wow, this...this is just awful. why is this band still allowed to make music? one of my douchebag friends who hasn't found real music yet was playing this album in the car...these fu%&ERs should get charged with some form of plagiarism for writing the same damn song 50 times and still being able to sell albums.
  20. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    I'm almost certain that this album will get hate just because it's made by Nickelback... Which is completely unfair. With hits such as "Don't ever let it end" and "Trying not to love you", Here and Now is possibly one of the best albums released by the band. It sticks largely to the usual formula, but there are a few moments where they try something new - and it pays off. Definitely worth a buy.
  21. Feb 28, 2012
    0
    So... which Nickelback album is this again? "Experimentation" doesn't seem to be a word that exist in this band's vocabulary. But then again, neither does "quality."
  22. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    Hey look, more of the same Nickelback music about liquor and sex and rocking. These washed up punks need to take their crap elsewhere and stop embarrassing Canadians who have to justify the Canadian music scene to their international friends
  23. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I haven't listened to this and wont because I'm not a Nickelback fan. Even so, I decided to give this a 10 for 3 reasons.

    1. I'm a **** rebel 2. I'm **** awesome
    3. **** THE POLICE

    That is all....
  24. Feb 15, 2012
    4
    I'll take the heat; I am a Nickelback fan. I really enjoyed their previous albums. "Here and Now" is an album I did not enjoy. It seemed as if the guys in Nickelback just stopped caring. It's like they re-did "Dark Horse", but with less effort. The only thing that keeps this albums from being a total bust is the fact that it isn't annoying to listen to. I'm sure it will serve as backgroundI'll take the heat; I am a Nickelback fan. I really enjoyed their previous albums. "Here and Now" is an album I did not enjoy. It seemed as if the guys in Nickelback just stopped caring. It's like they re-did "Dark Horse", but with less effort. The only thing that keeps this albums from being a total bust is the fact that it isn't annoying to listen to. I'm sure it will serve as background music for many parties, however, it will never make any of my music playlists. Nothing Follows. Expand
  25. HMW
    Mar 7, 2012
    5
    I am a huge fan of Nickelback, but this album was not very good, I only liked half the songs. The only songs I would listen to are When We Stand together, Lullaby, and Don't Ever Let It End. Just buy singles on itunes, don't but the whole album.
  26. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    The album was not Nickelback's best, where only two songs ("When We Stand Together" and "Lullaby") stood out. The rest of the album sounded the same, a trait seen on several of their past records.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    20
    This Means War and Bottoms Up are such generic rock "anthems" that they could have been releases in any decade since the '80s. The lyrics, meanwhile, seem to date from the '70s, possibly the 1870s. [3 Dec 2011, p.51]
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Nickelback's seventh studio album arrives nearly three years after their multi-platinum-selling, 2008 release Dark Horse.
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    50
    Even as Here And Now inspires massive eye-rolls, the nefariously catchy songs stick like stepped-in dog crap.