Here and Now

Here and Now Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Producer Mutt Lange returns to produce the Canadian hard rock band's seventh release, having previously worked on its 2008 album Dark Horse.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    90
    Integrity to the fans, the fun tongue-in-cheek of the album and the no-*** rock n roll makes Here and Now a standout record for 2011, and may even win Nickelback some new fans.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    78
    It's a well-crafted brand of meat 'n potatoes hard rock.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Nickelback's seventh studio album arrives nearly three years after their multi-platinum-selling, 2008 release Dark Horse.
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    50
    Even as Here And Now inspires massive eye-rolls, the nefariously catchy songs stick like stepped-in dog crap.
  5. 40
    Here And Now might prove to be a step above the last effort, but likewise a step high enough to hang its creators on a barn rafter.
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    40
    The fist-pumping earnestness of the Bon Jovian "Spaceship" is less objectionable and far more bland. Say this about Nickelback: It knows what works.
  7. Kerrang!
    Dec 12, 2011
    20
    This Means War and Bottoms Up are such generic rock "anthems" that they could have been releases in any decade since the '80s. The lyrics, meanwhile, seem to date from the '70s, possibly the 1870s. [3 Dec 2011, p.51]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    another awesome album...nice follow-up to darkhorse...I'm almost certain that this album will get hate just because it's made by Nickelback...another awesome album...nice follow-up to darkhorse...I'm almost certain that this album will get hate just because it's made by Nickelback... Which is completely unfair. With hits such as "Don't ever let it end" and "Trying not to love you", Here and Now is possibly one of the best albums released by the band. It sticks largely to the usual formula, but there are a few moments where they try something new - and it pays off. Definitely worth a buy. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    all im gonna say is if your looking for a good mixture of songs from rockers to ballads this is the album you need to have in your collectionall im gonna say is if your looking for a good mixture of songs from rockers to ballads this is the album you need to have in your collection this dark horse and all the right reasons are possibly the bands best work and i cant wait for album 8 to come out in a couple of years Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I haven't listened to this and wont because I'm not a Nickelback fan. Even so, I decided to give this a 10 for 3 reasons.

    1. I'm a **** rebel
    I haven't listened to this and wont because I'm not a Nickelback fan. Even so, I decided to give this a 10 for 3 reasons.

    1. I'm a **** rebel 2. I'm **** awesome
    3. **** THE POLICE

    That is all....
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    This is an okay album with some high strong points, but it also has a lot of filler. It's MILES better than Dark Horse. It's just sad thatThis is an okay album with some high strong points, but it also has a lot of filler. It's MILES better than Dark Horse. It's just sad that Chad Kroeger used to have VERY good live voice, sounding almost exactly like he did in the studio. Now he sounds very high pitch due to his relying on auto-tune for all his music. The old stuff doesn't even SOUND the same anymore. Chad has truly forgotten how to sing. In Here and Now, the synth guitars and auto-tune are still there just as they were in Dark Horse, but this time it's not as bad. Songs like This Means War, When We Stand Together, and Lulluby redeem this album from mediocrety while songs like Don't Ever Let It End and Kiss It Goodbye condemn it to just that. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    By now people pretty much know whether they are a Nickelback fan or not. I don't see this album gaining them any more fans as it's pretty muchBy now people pretty much know whether they are a Nickelback fan or not. I don't see this album gaining them any more fans as it's pretty much more of they have already done just with different songs. Fans like myself will be pleased with the album overall, but it's far from their best work. So if you're a fan of the band then this is worth your time. If you're not a fan then this won't change your mind. I know I'm a fan and enjoy this straight-up rock album even if I was a little disappointed with the slower songs. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    The album was not Nickelback's best, where only two songs ("When We Stand Together" and "Lullaby") stood out. The rest of the album soundedThe album was not Nickelback's best, where only two songs ("When We Stand Together" and "Lullaby") stood out. The rest of the album sounded the same, a trait seen on several of their past records. Collapse
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    Hey look, more of the same Nickelback music about liquor and sex and rocking. These washed up punks need to take their crap elsewhere andHey look, more of the same Nickelback music about liquor and sex and rocking. These washed up punks need to take their crap elsewhere and stop embarrassing Canadians who have to justify the Canadian music scene to their international friends Expand

See all 28 User Reviews