Here I Am

  • Record Label: Motown
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2011
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    After several singles released to precede the album, "Here I Am" deserves the wait. It sounds grown-up and so confident that we don't even bother to recognize the material's not original. We love the sexy sound blend with some up-tempo potential dance hits. It might be Kelly's time to be recognize her talent and as a solo artist.
  2. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    I was quite surprised with this album as it had a lot more hits than I thought. Kelly's moved to more of a dance direction and it really works for her, but her R&B are also spot-on and overall it makes for a nice diverse album!
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    An extremely enjoyable album from Kelly Rowland. The mix of slow jams, dance tracks, and mid-tempo ballads surprisingly sit well and compliment each other. Seems Kelly Rowland needs more credit.
  4. Jul 29, 2011
    7
    Kelly's 3rd album 'Here I Am' aptly titled to declare her "arrival" on the music scene. Yes, she' has been solo for quite some years, but she has always been in the iconic Beyonce's shadow. Kelly has been riding a high with her hit single 'Motivation' spending 7 weeks at #1 on the R&B charts, as well as her exceptional BET Awards performance earlier. I think 'Here I Am' represents her trueKelly's 3rd album 'Here I Am' aptly titled to declare her "arrival" on the music scene. Yes, she' has been solo for quite some years, but she has always been in the iconic Beyonce's shadow. Kelly has been riding a high with her hit single 'Motivation' spending 7 weeks at #1 on the R&B charts, as well as her exceptional BET Awards performance earlier. I think 'Here I Am' represents her true introduction and her growth as an artist vying to stand on her own and prove herself. With 'Here I Am' she has a lot to prove. 'Here I Am' is quite enjoyable from start to finish. While it is her best album to date, it is not the album that will solidify her as the superstar that she can be. Top 5 tracks: All of the Night, Lay It On Me, Motivation, Heaven and Earth and Commander. Overall, a solid effort, but not the one that makes Kelly, the solo artist, a household name. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Really nice album put out by Kelly Rowland and one of my favorites. The standouts were "Lay It On Me", "All of the Night", "Keep It Between Us" and "Turn It Up".
  6. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    By far the best album of any post Destiny's Child record. Kelly Rowland is a true diva and deserves every credit because this album is flawless. I would recommend it to anybody who is into R&B or dance music, it is the perfect fusion of the two genres. Her smooth vocals are a true delight.
  7. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    This album is just flawless. Every track is amazing. Kelly's vocals are perfect and the production of the songs is very good. One of the best albums released in 2011.
  8. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This Album Is great I would recommend it to anyone it is absolutely fantastic Kelly Rowland Rules and this album has to be one of my favourites i think this albums rating should be fairly high and it is worthy of a high ranking to
  9. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Esse album pode se considerar o melhor de toda a carreira de Kelly Rowland. Aqui encontramos várias faces de uma mesma Kelly. Que pode se direcionar para qual direção lhe é mais conveniente. Deve-se destacar Turn It Up, I'm Dat Chick, e Down for Whatever, músicas muito bem produzidas onde toda a potência deEsse album pode se considerar o melhor de toda a carreira de Kelly Rowland. Aqui encontramos várias faces de uma mesma Kelly. Que pode se direcionar para qual direção lhe é mais conveniente. Deve-se destacar Turn It Up, I'm Dat Chick, e Down for Whatever, músicas muito bem produzidas onde toda a potência de Kelly é mostrada a tona. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    This album shows Rowland to be worthy of consideration in her own right.
  2. 40
    A sort of also-ran footnote to the diva tropes handled with so much more panache by Mrs. Z.
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    60
    Sadly, much of the material is generic.