Here I Am

  • Record Label: Motown
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2011
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    An extremely enjoyable album from Kelly Rowland. The mix of slow jams, dance tracks, and mid-tempo ballads surprisingly sit well and compliment each other. Seems Kelly Rowland needs more credit.
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    By far the best album of any post Destiny's Child record. Kelly Rowland is a true diva and deserves every credit because this album is flawless. I would recommend it to anybody who is into R&B or dance music, it is the perfect fusion of the two genres. Her smooth vocals are a true delight.
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This Album Is great I would recommend it to anyone it is absolutely fantastic Kelly Rowland Rules and this album has to be one of my favourites i think this albums rating should be fairly high and it is worthy of a high ranking to
  4. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    I was quite surprised with this album as it had a lot more hits than I thought. Kelly's moved to more of a dance direction and it really works for her, but her R&B are also spot-on and overall it makes for a nice diverse album!
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    This album is just flawless. Every track is amazing. Kelly's vocals are perfect and the production of the songs is very good. One of the best albums released in 2011.
  6. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Really nice album put out by Kelly Rowland and one of my favorites. The standouts were "Lay It On Me", "All of the Night", "Keep It Between Us" and "Turn It Up".
  7. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Esse album pode se considerar o melhor de toda a carreira de Kelly Rowland. Aqui encontramos várias faces de uma mesma Kelly. Que pode se direcionar para qual direção lhe é mais conveniente. Deve-se destacar Turn It Up, I'm Dat Chick, e Down for Whatever, músicas muito bem produzidas onde toda a potência deEsse album pode se considerar o melhor de toda a carreira de Kelly Rowland. Aqui encontramos várias faces de uma mesma Kelly. Que pode se direcionar para qual direção lhe é mais conveniente. Deve-se destacar Turn It Up, I'm Dat Chick, e Down for Whatever, músicas muito bem produzidas onde toda a potência de Kelly é mostrada a tona. Expand
  8. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    After several singles released to precede the album, "Here I Am" deserves the wait. It sounds grown-up and so confident that we don't even bother to recognize the material's not original. We love the sexy sound blend with some up-tempo potential dance hits. It might be Kelly's time to be recognize her talent and as a solo artist.
  9. Jul 29, 2011
    7
    Kelly's 3rd album 'Here I Am' aptly titled to declare her "arrival" on the music scene. Yes, she' has been solo for quite some years, but she has always been in the iconic Beyonce's shadow. Kelly has been riding a high with her hit single 'Motivation' spending 7 weeks at #1 on the R&B charts, as well as her exceptional BET Awards performance earlier. I think 'Here I Am' represents her trueKelly's 3rd album 'Here I Am' aptly titled to declare her "arrival" on the music scene. Yes, she' has been solo for quite some years, but she has always been in the iconic Beyonce's shadow. Kelly has been riding a high with her hit single 'Motivation' spending 7 weeks at #1 on the R&B charts, as well as her exceptional BET Awards performance earlier. I think 'Here I Am' represents her true introduction and her growth as an artist vying to stand on her own and prove herself. With 'Here I Am' she has a lot to prove. 'Here I Am' is quite enjoyable from start to finish. While it is her best album to date, it is not the album that will solidify her as the superstar that she can be. Top 5 tracks: All of the Night, Lay It On Me, Motivation, Heaven and Earth and Commander. Overall, a solid effort, but not the one that makes Kelly, the solo artist, a household name. Expand
  10. BBB
    Jul 27, 2011
    6
    I completely disagree with the other user's review about this being her weakest effort.

    First and foremost Kelly will NEVER be Beyoncé. I think it's very unfortunate and unfair that people will always pit them against one another. I'm not even going to entertain any comparisons to Keri Hilson, Ashanti or Ciara. What I will do is compare "Here I Am" to Ms. Rowland's previous
    I completely disagree with the other user's review about this being her weakest effort.

    First and foremost Kelly will NEVER be Beyoncé. I think it's very unfortunate and unfair that people will always pit them against one another. I'm not even going to entertain any comparisons to Keri Hilson, Ashanti or Ciara.

    What I will do is compare "Here I Am" to Ms. Rowland's previous efforts.

    "Here I Am" takes certain themes from Kelly's previous album "Ms. Kelly" and kicks them up a notch. It is definitely a better album than her debut "Simply Deep" which tried but failed at being "deep", and was obviously rush-released to capitalize off the success of "Dilemma". I'm not sure if "Here I Am" is a better album overall than her sophomore effort "Ms. Kelly" but it is a very good album.
    In order to really enjoy the album you have to be open to many genres of music. This is an album that isn't meant to be taken too seriously. The front-half of the album is laced-with urban radio hits: an Urban-pop club banger, 2 breezy mid-tempos, and the steamy lead single. The album continues with a sing-a-long mid-tempo about self-love and a club banger with stuttering militant production. The album then slows down with a sizzling mid-tempo number about making love and a ethereal ballad. The final 2 tracks : the #1 Dance/Club hit Commander and Down for Whatever will definitely catch the attention of Pop radio listeners and club-goers. The main issues I have with "Here I Am" is the fact that the songs blatantly cater to radio, and the excess guest features.
    The essential tracks on the album are: Motivation, Lay it On Me, Work it Man, Keep it Between Us, and Feeling Me Right Now. The other 5 tracks on the standard album are great songs, but they aren't up to par quality-wise as the 5 listed.


    Despite the drawbacks this is still solid effort and an enjoyable listen.
    Expand
  11. Jul 26, 2011
    3
    Sorry, I highly disagree with this rating of a 68, this is her WEAKEST record to date. It doesnt get anymore lackluster than this. This album is extremely immature & shows no growth whatsoever. Motivation is the only good song on the whole thing. The rest are Filler & okay at the very best. If her sister Beyonce's Epic masterpiece album 4 gets a 74 from the critics then surely this doesntSorry, I highly disagree with this rating of a 68, this is her WEAKEST record to date. It doesnt get anymore lackluster than this. This album is extremely immature & shows no growth whatsoever. Motivation is the only good song on the whole thing. The rest are Filler & okay at the very best. If her sister Beyonce's Epic masterpiece album 4 gets a 74 from the critics then surely this doesnt deserve more than a 50. Most of it sounds like Kellys trying too hard to be the next ashanti, ciara or keri hilson & her sole goal is the next basic urban radio hit that sound like something every other basic chick can do only better. it just doesnt work for her. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    This album shows Rowland to be worthy of consideration in her own right.
  2. 40
    A sort of also-ran footnote to the diva tropes handled with so much more panache by Mrs. Z.
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    60
    Sadly, much of the material is generic.