Here I Am - Kelly Rowland
Here I Am Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The former Destiny's Child singer puts out her third solo effort.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    This album shows Rowland to be worthy of consideration in her own right.
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    75
    Rowland has typically been one of R&B's more reserved presences, but on her third album, Here I Am, she sounds positively liberated-it's as if the same radioactive spider that gave Beyoncé her superhuman confidence finally bit Rowland, too.
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    Here I Am is a solid effort by Destiny's other child.
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    60
    Here I Am is the epitome of cheap and cheerful R&B, 40 minutes of precision-tuned pre-club glossiness--without a doubt perfectly serviceable.
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    60
    Sadly, much of the material is generic.
  6. Jul 26, 2011
    50
    The inherent blandness of Rowland's persona makes for too much roundly mediocre material.
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    20
    Here I Am concerns itself with the kind of bland, radio-friendly R&B pop that equates sex appeal with self-confidence.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    This album is just flawless. Every track is amazing. Kelly's vocals are perfect and the production of the songs is very good. One of the best albums released in 2011. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This Album Is great I would recommend it to anyone it is absolutely fantastic Kelly Rowland Rules and this album has to be one of my favourites i think this albums rating should be fairly high and it is worthy of a high ranking to Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    By far the best album of any post Destiny's Child record. Kelly Rowland is a true diva and deserves every credit because this album is flawless. I would recommend it to anybody who is into R&B or dance music, it is the perfect fusion of the two genres. Her smooth vocals are a true delight. Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    After several singles released to precede the album, "Here I Am" deserves the wait. It sounds grown-up and so confident that we don't even bother to recognize the material's not original. We love the sexy sound blend with some up-tempo potential dance hits. It might be Kelly's time to be recognize her talent and as a solo artist. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    I was quite surprised with this album as it had a lot more hits than I thought. Kelly's moved to more of a dance direction and it really works for her, but her R&B are also spot-on and overall it makes for a nice diverse album! Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Really nice album put out by Kelly Rowland and one of my favorites. The standouts were "Lay It On Me", "All of the Night", "Keep It Between Us" and "Turn It Up". Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    3
    Sorry, I highly disagree with this rating of a 68, this is her WEAKEST record to date. It doesnt get anymore lackluster than this. This album is extremely immature & shows no growth whatsoever. Motivation is the only good song on the whole thing. The rest are Filler & okay at the very best. If her sister Beyonce's Epic masterpiece album 4 gets a 74 from the critics then surely this doesnt deserve more than a 50. Most of it sounds like Kellys trying too hard to be the next ashanti, ciara or keri hilson & her sole goal is the next basic urban radio hit that sound like something every other basic chick can do only better. it just doesnt work for her. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews