Hesitation Marks - Nine Inch Nails
Hesitation Marks Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth full-length release for the Trent Reznor-led band is its first in five years was produced with Atticus Ross and Alan Moulder.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    It was a given that Hesitation Marks would provide Nine Inch Nails with a future. But what's so impressive here is that it's given then a future every bit as promising as their illustrious past. [31 Aug 2013, p.52]
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    83
    It’s obvious on the rest of the album that the fear of living isn’t holding Reznor back anymore. This outlook has given a huge boost to NIN’s creativity, and helped the group re-emerge as a relevant, vital, and still weird band.
  3. 80
    Sure, it’s chorus-driven and a touch too slick, lacking the density and the ambition and the sheer bloody nihilism of NIN’s 90’s heyday, but Reznor’s not that guy anymore--that guy died with the heroin overdose. But there are more than enough moments here to suggest a maker not--whatever the protestations of one of its tracks--yet at peace.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    Family life and a well-earned break have given this one-time Gothfather new tricks that pure despair could never provide.
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    70
    It's a roiling, often tense, but just a little more calm and contemplative NIN, seemingly content to emerge and exist rather than to sweep all before it or punctuate a point.
  6. 70
    The techno-noir sonic palette here is as eclectic as ever. [Oct 2013, p.90]
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    50
    Black gothic grandeur, but with a beige, biscuit-coloured centre. [Oct 2013, p.72]

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Given the singles that had come I made sure to steer clear of any other leaks to keep the album a surprise. Boy was it a pleasant surprise! so many soundscapes and so many different moods and atmospheres captured in different and exciting ways. with that signature Trent Reznor sound to the music. I was so thoroughly impressed, I love this album even after my third listen beginning to end. Trent still has it's bite and this album stands tall in the Nine Inch Nails catalog. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    One thing I learned after listening to Nine Inch Nails for 8 years is every album stands alone. The new album Hesitation Marks comes after front man Trent Reznor 2 EPs and a full album with his new band How to Destroy Angels and composing 2 soundtracks with his Atticus Ross. The first time I listened to his first Nine Inch Nails album in 5 years and all those projects he did in between those years seeing him go nearly full electronic did not surprise me at all, but this is a Nine Inch Nails album. One thing that stood out to me though was his voice this might have been the most range I've heard from him ever. He said in multiple interviews he was thinking of the Downward Spiral when he wrote this record and it shows, but I also heard some influences of Radiohead's Kid A (especially in the track Disappointed) and Girl with the Dragon Tattoo soundtrack. Fans will probably be as much divided on this album as most their other albums especially after the reaction of hearing Everything. This album isn't like With_Teeth where its guitar dominated and you won't feel like you're going insane like the Downward Spial, but this album is great. To be honest though I've never heard Trent say he was proud of an album before, so you should be to if you've been a NIN fan for this long. If not well he probably won't care. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Having listened to this album pretty much non stop from release date, I'm still not tired of it. This is Reznor's best album since 1999's The Fragile. Boasting a more electronic sound than his last few albums, at times almost danceable, with undeniable nods to Prince at times, but still with great dark undertones. Highlights include In Two, All Time Low and Find My Way. Best album released in a year of great albums. Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    very good album. i have to admit i like to skip to about track 4 or 5 and then listen. seems like the best ones are the last ones on the album. i've been a fan since 1990 keep making good albums. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2014
    7
    http://bit.ly/1gktRLU I'm hesitant to say 5 years of waiting was for a new Nine Inch Nails record was worth it. I feel Hesitation Marks is a teaser of the direction NIN is going in. This album certainly had it's ups and downs but as a whole comes up as a good album that I was expecting a bit more from. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2013
    7
    Is it just me or is this NIN album more about the inner struggle of a person? It's musically appealing, and its highs are so high you'll be singing them to yourself. David Lynch, in his video for Came Back Haunted, uses the tick as a symbolic image of something that can haunt you in a very concrete way. I think it's a brilliant symbol because there's a lot of controversy about tick borne diseases, and the symbol settles the album's abstract theme in a very concrete reality. If you hesitate, it can haunt/mark you. Most of the songs seem open to that interpretation, surviving some of nature's evil and getting marked. I subtract a point from the score because the album offers no clear philosophical approach to how to deal with the issues. It just states them, as for seeking acceptance or acknowledgement. In the case of tick transferred diseases, public acknowledgement is much needed. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2014
    3
    "Closer" was the only thing i ever heard from them. And it was a blast. However, this is their first album i hear, and it's not. It has an 'okay' dose of good tracks with rhythmic music, but not as good or powerful as i expected. But i'm still checking out their earlier work, especially in the 90s. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews