Hesitation Marks - Nine Inch Nails
Hesitation Marks Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth full-length release for the Trent Reznor-led band is its first in five years was produced with Atticus Ross and Alan Moulder.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    It was a given that Hesitation Marks would provide Nine Inch Nails with a future. But what's so impressive here is that it's given then a future every bit as promising as their illustrious past. [31 Aug 2013, p.52]
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    83
    It’s obvious on the rest of the album that the fear of living isn’t holding Reznor back anymore. This outlook has given a huge boost to NIN’s creativity, and helped the group re-emerge as a relevant, vital, and still weird band.
  3. 80
    Sure, it’s chorus-driven and a touch too slick, lacking the density and the ambition and the sheer bloody nihilism of NIN’s 90’s heyday, but Reznor’s not that guy anymore--that guy died with the heroin overdose. But there are more than enough moments here to suggest a maker not--whatever the protestations of one of its tracks--yet at peace.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    Family life and a well-earned break have given this one-time Gothfather new tricks that pure despair could never provide.
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    70
    It's a roiling, often tense, but just a little more calm and contemplative NIN, seemingly content to emerge and exist rather than to sweep all before it or punctuate a point.
  6. 70
    The techno-noir sonic palette here is as eclectic as ever. [Oct 2013, p.90]
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    50
    Black gothic grandeur, but with a beige, biscuit-coloured centre. [Oct 2013, p.72]

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Given the singles that had come I made sure to steer clear of any other leaks to keep the album a surprise. Boy was it a pleasant surprise! so many soundscapes and so many different moods and atmospheres captured in different and exciting ways. with that signature Trent Reznor sound to the music. I was so thoroughly impressed, I love this album even after my third listen beginning to end. Trent still has it's bite and this album stands tall in the Nine Inch Nails catalog. Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    10 month after it´s release it has grown to one of my favourite nin-albums. it offers such a bassy-deep sound-structure that you are never bored. i would love to get the instrumentals too. Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    I really love this new Nine Inch Nails album because of the dark overtones associated with it. I am reviewing the normal version and not the deluxe.

    The Eater Of Dreams/Copy Of A (9) This track has great use of dark electronica and it does a great job of changing the beat and tone throughout the piece to keep it dynamic. The title of the track really hits home with me on how I used to feel, about how I just was another person in the world and how life gets more boring the older you get.

    Came Back Haunted (9.5) I am really glad they made this song their single because of what I did see on the 0ther s!de. And I really never have been the same, especially when I walk into that bathroom. Anyway, the song has a great beat and I really hate the Jersey Shore people but it does have a good fist pumping tone to it. #Suicide #Knife #Scars #Crosses

    Find My Way (9) I think it's a great artistic touch on how Nine Inch Nails slows down the tempo of their album with this piece. The incorporation of the Piano is a great element and it reminds me of one of my favorite songs 'The Day The Whole World Went Away.' The ending of the song is my favorite part, and I'm not saying it's bad.

    All Time Low (8.5) This track is really cool I think because of the creepy beginning and how it takes off. It has a beat element of Hip Hop in it which really makes it enticing to my ear. The harmonic part of this track is my favorite part. The instrumentals that fade out the track are good.

    Disappointed (8.5) Another good track that has a Hip Hop beat incorporated within it. The grungy guitar is a good element as well I think. Reznor sounds a little whiny in the track but it's fine because that is art, and the track picks up later anyway and that's what saved the 8.5.

    Everything (8) This song is pretty good. It has a more mainstream flair than most of Nine Inch Nails's material. There is nothing that really stands out to me though. I'm not really upset about it though because they can play the guitar better than me. The incorporation of more electronica near the end really helps the track pick up.

    Satellite (9) The coolest thing about this track is the unique beat I think. It is more melodic than the tracks before it and when the electric guitar kicks it it really starts sounding really good. The chorus is also catchy and it really makes the song one of the best on the album. The ending adds a great new dimension to the song as well.

    Various Methods Of Escape (8.5) This track kicks off with another good beat to blend an alternative Rock sound with Hip Hop. The chorus is the best part of this song I think because the other parts are pretty conservative in their tones until later in the song, but the song still sounds good.

    Running (8.5) This song is interesting. Especially when the guitar part that sounds like 'electro fart!ng' in groups of two comes in. It has a dark calming sound that really adds a good track to this album. But I really despise running alot. #DanceDanceRevolution

    I Would For You (8.5) Another Nine Inch Nails track that I think is really good. The chorus is my favorite part along with heavier guitar parts that are associated with the track. The Piano incorporated at the end is also really good because Piano's have black and white keys. #YangAndYin #EndRacism

    In Two (9) The tempo on this track is really great and it is my favorite non mainstream track on the album along with Satellite. Talking about the tempo some more, it really does a great job of slowing down and speeding up which makes the track very unique because it incorporates a multitude of sounds for the listener.

    While I'm Still Here/Black Noise (8.5) This sound is great way to wrap up the album. My favorite part is the incorporation of the trumpets which gives the album a minor jazzy flair which I thought was really cool. The ending of this track(s) is very dark and mysterious and really closes the album on an evol note.
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    Very good album, not Nine Inch Nails best album, but is very nice. The Eater of Dreams is a perfect intro. Copy of A and Came Back Haunted are sublime. Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    The most electronic-driven album since Pretty Hate Machine in 1989, some great songs are let down at times by outdated-sounding electronic sections, which sometimes work and sometimes don't. It's good, but certainly not great. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    7
    I feel like I really like a little under 3/4 of the songs on this album a lot. A lot of the songs I don't like as much are on the second half, and the reason why I don't like them is because they contain elements that I find repetitive. Overall I do very much enjoy the album, and I think Nine Inch Nails fans should buy it. I'm still digging into it, so maybe my opinion of those songs will change. Anyway, the first half in itself up until the song, Everything, makes this worth a purchase. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2014
    3
    "Closer" was the only thing i ever heard from them. And it was a blast. However, this is their first album i hear, and it's not. It has an 'okay' dose of good tracks with rhythmic music, but not as good or powerful as i expected. But i'm still checking out their earlier work, especially in the 90s. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews