User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 2 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Almaju
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    An excellent album! A great Band!
  2. AlanD.
    Sep 4, 2007
    9
    Getting back to the stuff they do best,quirky narratives and great choruses! Roll on the second part !!
  3. EmilyM.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Best Album of the year!
  4. WriggleF.
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    One of their best - more focused and slightly less random than Love Kraft; but only slightly less. Listen with enjoyment and fun becasue you'll be singing those melodies for weeks. A real earworm!
  5. Betinh
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Fantastic album! I wasnt very impressed with love kraft and phantom power. but this album is one of furries best! i dont get the reviews, well, critics usually follow other critics opinions like sheep, but i was expecting a more positive reception. hey venus is my favourite record of 2007 so far. its catchy, its fun, its delicious, its melodic, its everything a pop record should be. great tunes.
  6. alecw.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    Short, sweet, lovely. Play it again
  7. NicoC.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    The Best Release of the year!!
  8. matta.
    Aug 31, 2007
    9
    The critics are so wrong on this one. I honestly can't believe that one of the top ten, or mayb even top five, albums of the year so far has a 70 metascore. Just goes to show that what the critics say doesn't mean jackshit. While not quite as good as their two masterpieces, Rings Around the World and Phantom Power, this is much better than their disappointing last album Love The critics are so wrong on this one. I honestly can't believe that one of the top ten, or mayb even top five, albums of the year so far has a 70 metascore. Just goes to show that what the critics say doesn't mean jackshit. While not quite as good as their two masterpieces, Rings Around the World and Phantom Power, this is much better than their disappointing last album Love Kraft, and easily on par with some of their earlier work. A great album by a consistenly great band. Fuck the naysayers. Expand
  9. MatthewC.
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    More classic tunes from SFA. It feels more complete than Love Kraft. Into the Night and Neo Consumer are great songs.
  10. KimN.
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    Yet again, a new great album from one of the most consistent bands around. Critics should love this, they have made some of their best songs ever on this one. Check out "Run-Away", "Show Your Hand" and "Carbon Dating". Amazing stuff. This is HIGHLY recommended.
  11. FunFactor
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    I think the government has paid off every critic to not give the Super Furry Animals their deserved attention. That has to be the only explanation as to why these guys aren't as big of a public deal after eight albums. Do yourself a favor and help these guys get their fame.
  12. sk
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    An excellent piece of work.again. how can SFA still doing this after all these years? Only Venus could tell... essential.
  13. Liz
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    Pure pop joy. It would get a 10 if it wasn't so short.
  14. GianniD.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best record of 2007. Pure, blissed and amazing tunes that will get stuck in your head. The Welsh band here is inspired and crafts a real gem. back on full form!
  15. PetrP.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    Great album!
  16. EmilyW.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    Iban L., the fact that you say Ween's album was a disappointment, like that was actually a surprise, makes your 3 rating completely irrelevant. Glad to see this album getting more love from the critics after the new release. Definitely not a letdown after Love Kraft (in fact, much better) and one of the 20 best album of 2007.
  17. LiamR
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    I was ready to give this album a 9, and pretty much say how it was a slight disappointment but never the less one of SFA's greatest albums. But then "Baby Ate My Eightball" came on, and I realized that this is once again, a triumph.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The only shortcoming is how quickly it's all over. Roll on number nine.
  2. 60
    Hey Venus! is an attractive album with a broad appeal – Rough Trade wanted a pop record and got one--but it also feels like a missed opportunity, a consolidation of affairs rather than a step forward.
  3. No doubt fans’ll love it, but virgins shouldn’t expect to swoon at this end-of-the-pier jamming.