User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 149

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Zonhin
    Feb 2, 2008
    4
    I want to like this. I want to like this. I wish I could say that I love this even more then I Sunlandic Twins. As it is, I'm not angry. Just sad. The songs seem to go on forever, and I felt bored through the whole thing. The only two songs I found myself enjoying were Suffer for Fashion and Gronlandic Edit. The rest weren't sad. They weren't moving. Just boring.
  2. STC
    Jun 26, 2007
    5
    While the songs are deftly constructed, with moments of genius interspersed, the execution lacks...you get the feeling that this album would be an instant classic if the gorgeously structured instrumentations were performed by a different band.
  3. mikes.
    Jan 25, 2007
    6
    First off I'd like to say that I was a hardcore Of Montreal fan, that was until this album came out. It's not a total disaster, but I think fans of their earlier works will be disappointed. It is a natural progression from sunlandic twins musically and production arrangements. Except the production is less polished and sloppy. There are pointless interludes during songs and in First off I'd like to say that I was a hardcore Of Montreal fan, that was until this album came out. It's not a total disaster, but I think fans of their earlier works will be disappointed. It is a natural progression from sunlandic twins musically and production arrangements. Except the production is less polished and sloppy. There are pointless interludes during songs and in between songs that are boring and reminded me of the justin timberlake future sex sounds interludes, it just shows that Of Montreal (like justin timberlake) is trying to hard to be different and innovative instead of focusing on what matters the most (entertaining the listener) It is the least pop release Of Montreal has offered yet and worst of all the songwriting is not up to par. Kevin Barnes focuses the lyrics on himself, which just further demonstrates the fact that Kevin is no longer trying to entertain an audience and is bordering self indulgence. It would appear that their would be depth at first listen that would require repeated listenings to appreciate this release. Not so, Kevin's lyrics are empty and heartless, something that pains me to admit, as the exact opposite use to be true with their earlier works. This is the beginning of the end for Of Montreal, even a bad release of theirs is still better than most of their indie rivals. Overall, album is unfocused weirdness, a disappointment for Of Montreal fans. Expand
  4. BrianH
    Jan 30, 2007
    4
    God awful. The other reviews refer to this as "dancable indie-pop". At best this album comes off as over-synthed lo-fi with grating vocals and very little in the way of catchy tunes.
  5. Edv
    Jun 23, 2007
    6
    I mean, it's okay except for the annoying parts, which suck and make up most of the album.
  6. DanB.
    Jan 24, 2007
    4
    My first reaction, hearing this album, was to find the singer and kick him in the face. On a second listen, my reaction was much more positive, which is why I gave it a 4 instead of a 0. Half the time it seemed the lead wasn't even singing, but speak-singing. Who is he, Rex Harrison? (Examples from interminable track 7, when he asks us to "let's just have some fun" and My first reaction, hearing this album, was to find the singer and kick him in the face. On a second listen, my reaction was much more positive, which is why I gave it a 4 instead of a 0. Half the time it seemed the lead wasn't even singing, but speak-singing. Who is he, Rex Harrison? (Examples from interminable track 7, when he asks us to "let's just have some fun" and "let's tear this f**king sh*t apart". Whoa. Intense, Dr. Higgins.) No--their last album was great, but this is not. It's got weak melodies and a lot of repetition. Shame. Collapse
  7. AppleRe
    Jan 29, 2007
    6
    I am about finished with the disco-pop business
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. If there is one thing in this world that can elevate even the weakest of lyrics from the trough of personal diary hell, it’s a catchy melody. Thankfully this record overflows with them.
  2. For the most part an exercise in Prince-like electro-funk, full of squelchy keyboard fuzz and chicken-scratch guitar noise and absurdly complicated falsetto harmonies.
  3. 80
    A wonderfully dance-ridden companion ot the intelli-disco carved out on 2005's The Sunlandic Twins. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.81]