Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 154

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Zonhin
    Feb 2, 2008
    4
    I want to like this. I want to like this. I wish I could say that I love this even more then I Sunlandic Twins. As it is, I'm not angry. Just sad. The songs seem to go on forever, and I felt bored through the whole thing. The only two songs I found myself enjoying were Suffer for Fashion and Gronlandic Edit. The rest weren't sad. They weren't moving. Just boring.
  2. Owen
    Jan 14, 2008
    1
    Terrible music.... those who think otherwise should give their head a shake... a very hard shake.
  3. MusicFan
    Jan 26, 2007
    0
    Just terrible. Their worst album gets their best results, the world has gone mad. If only Kevin Barnes had married the woman he was dating when he wrote "Neat Little Domestic Life" we wouldn't have to wade through this train wreck of a record.
  4. MattB
    Jun 12, 2007
    0
    Lyrics are so bad it ruins the whole album. Idiot Scenesters. Probably think this and Neon Bible are still in the running for album of the year. No way. Check out "Bible Universe" by Everything, Now! ... Thats an album! That is if youre... indie enough. you people make me sick. metacritic sucks ! they didnt even review margot and the nuclear so and so's !!!!! What?????????
  5. TheJackyl
    Jan 24, 2007
    0
    Worst band ever.
  6. STC
    Jun 26, 2007
    5
    While the songs are deftly constructed, with moments of genius interspersed, the execution lacks...you get the feeling that this album would be an instant classic if the gorgeously structured instrumentations were performed by a different band.
  7. billbill
    Sep 19, 2007
    1
    Should have gotten a 5.
  8. F.L.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Soooooo nice.
  9. DMcQ
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    6 months in my Frontrunner for album of the year...Fascinating combination of Ultra Energetic Pop Pastiche (A crazy blend of Beatles/Prince/Berlin-era Bowie References) and deeply personal lyricism. Though completely different in sound and feel, shares with Sleater-Kinney's The Woods a sense of late-career breakthrough...this an incredibly confidant, daring album...too quick and 6 months in my Frontrunner for album of the year...Fascinating combination of Ultra Energetic Pop Pastiche (A crazy blend of Beatles/Prince/Berlin-era Bowie References) and deeply personal lyricism. Though completely different in sound and feel, shares with Sleater-Kinney's The Woods a sense of late-career breakthrough...this an incredibly confidant, daring album...too quick and chaotic for some, but a jewel to be treasure for those that can. Brilliantly sequenced too, with many of the songs thematically merging into one another. And in The Past is a Grotesque Animal the best song of the year. Expand
  10. GZ
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Brilliant! nuff said
  11. TomJ
    Feb 4, 2007
    9
    It's an amazing album, really. First I think it's very different from other indie-pop music, and in this case that's very, very good. It's the first album of 'Of Montreal' that I've bought and it will certain not be the last! It's amazing you can make a song with a duration of 11:54 with the same chords over and over, yet it's still not boring It's an amazing album, really. First I think it's very different from other indie-pop music, and in this case that's very, very good. It's the first album of 'Of Montreal' that I've bought and it will certain not be the last! It's amazing you can make a song with a duration of 11:54 with the same chords over and over, yet it's still not boring in the end! Good work guys, I'm gonna buy all your albums (unless they get a very low score on this site, no that's a joke) Expand
  12. JoseC
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Probably there best work of there career. Very catchy, fun, thrilling, weird, and absolutely stunning! The best album so far this year.
  13. TrekD
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Awesome, just awesome! I haven't had this much fun listening to music in a long, long time.
  14. ErinK
    Apr 10, 2007
    9
    The only thing more fun than listening to Barnes shed his soul in this eclectic 80's-pop throwback is watching him do it live. Not only is this music a blast to listen to driving on a sunny day, it leaves you high with adrenaline when you see them perform it.
  15. Nelly
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Outrageous... one of the best I've heard in a long time... we were born... unbelievable tune.
  16. IsaacC
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    Another concept album for Of Montreal that is not short of the talent and artistic genius we have come to expect from Kevin Barnes. The story is one that tells of Kevin's struggle to find himself. It revolves around him transforming into an eternal alter ego- Georgie Fruit, a character resembling rockers like Freddie Mercury whose central preoccupations are generally music, love and Another concept album for Of Montreal that is not short of the talent and artistic genius we have come to expect from Kevin Barnes. The story is one that tells of Kevin's struggle to find himself. It revolves around him transforming into an eternal alter ego- Georgie Fruit, a character resembling rockers like Freddie Mercury whose central preoccupations are generally music, love and drugs. The climax of the entire album is where the transformation takes place- in the approximately 12 minute "The Past is a Grotesque Animal"-the essential stripping-down of the previous being. Through the entire album evidence of the glamour of rock come through sexual and drug references. And following the trend set by these concept albums, the songs are again upbeat-intricate, beautiful melodies in front of the dance-able bass lines that bring most back to the '70s. Dottie's synth resonates along with the music providing for the feel-good vibe absorbed by the listener. Kevin's ability as a lyricist is passed through the spot-free mirror of his insanely memorable and extraordinary voice-each assertment of "you ain't got no soul power" and "I want to hit her but I can't, I can't, I can't!" possesses the listener to become so familiar with the song as if it were always embedded in their souls. I found myself utterly familiar with EVERY song and EVERY lyric upon the first listen. And the same Beatle-esque melodies and the canvas music compostition style of Queen still apper as sheer as on The Sunlandic Twins. By far atop the string of concept albums released by Kevin Barnes and company. Of Montreal shows again why they are atop the throne of the Indie Pop scene. Expand
  17. thomasl
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    When the band released some teaser mp3's earlier I was looking to be disappointed, but after hearing it all together as one work i am blown away. i want to listen to it constantly. i hope this doesn't mean i get burned out on it quickly - i hope it remains a constant and grows and grows like the 12 minute "The Past is a Grotesque Animal." This is a song unlike any OM has When the band released some teaser mp3's earlier I was looking to be disappointed, but after hearing it all together as one work i am blown away. i want to listen to it constantly. i hope this doesn't mean i get burned out on it quickly - i hope it remains a constant and grows and grows like the 12 minute "The Past is a Grotesque Animal." This is a song unlike any OM has released before. A song that feels like you are experiencing it being created at that very moment that you are listening to it. It is NOW forever. "Grolandic Edit" and "She's a Rejector" will not leave my brain for a while. An album that explores some territory that Beck did with Midnite Vultures, I 'm sure it will be in most top 10 lists at the end of the year. Expand
  18. mikes.
    Jan 25, 2007
    6
    First off I'd like to say that I was a hardcore Of Montreal fan, that was until this album came out. It's not a total disaster, but I think fans of their earlier works will be disappointed. It is a natural progression from sunlandic twins musically and production arrangements. Except the production is less polished and sloppy. There are pointless interludes during songs and in First off I'd like to say that I was a hardcore Of Montreal fan, that was until this album came out. It's not a total disaster, but I think fans of their earlier works will be disappointed. It is a natural progression from sunlandic twins musically and production arrangements. Except the production is less polished and sloppy. There are pointless interludes during songs and in between songs that are boring and reminded me of the justin timberlake future sex sounds interludes, it just shows that Of Montreal (like justin timberlake) is trying to hard to be different and innovative instead of focusing on what matters the most (entertaining the listener) It is the least pop release Of Montreal has offered yet and worst of all the songwriting is not up to par. Kevin Barnes focuses the lyrics on himself, which just further demonstrates the fact that Kevin is no longer trying to entertain an audience and is bordering self indulgence. It would appear that their would be depth at first listen that would require repeated listenings to appreciate this release. Not so, Kevin's lyrics are empty and heartless, something that pains me to admit, as the exact opposite use to be true with their earlier works. This is the beginning of the end for Of Montreal, even a bad release of theirs is still better than most of their indie rivals. Overall, album is unfocused weirdness, a disappointment for Of Montreal fans. Expand
  19. CourtneyO
    Jan 26, 2007
    9
    Not quite as spectacular as The Sunlandic Twins, but an excellent effort overall. The Past is a Grotesque Animal is a bit of a struggle the first couple of times through, but it grows on you. I will be listening to this one a lot over the next few months.
  20. bryndiso
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    brilliant. heart-wrenching and utterly danceable at the same time. barnes is the man.
  21. andresl
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    wow, how could this band slip under my radar. this is the first record i have listen to by them but i think is absolutly brilliant. i'm gonna check out their previous albums although the reviews suggest they are quiet different. this one is very catchy, the production is excellent and the lyrics kinda dark but very funny. some songs sound like beck circa midnight vultures others like wow, how could this band slip under my radar. this is the first record i have listen to by them but i think is absolutly brilliant. i'm gonna check out their previous albums although the reviews suggest they are quiet different. this one is very catchy, the production is excellent and the lyrics kinda dark but very funny. some songs sound like beck circa midnight vultures others like good bowie. no filler i like all the songs Expand
  22. LeoF
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    it doesn't sound like, but this is a breakup album. only kevin barnes could do an album about a breakup in the norwegian winter that sounds so happy and full of funky basses. cheers to mr barnes! gronlandic edit is the best song here.
  23. BrianH
    Jan 30, 2007
    4
    God awful. The other reviews refer to this as "dancable indie-pop". At best this album comes off as over-synthed lo-fi with grating vocals and very little in the way of catchy tunes.
  24. JasonH
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Best CD by "Of Montreal" yet. Really gets you going.
  25. AJ
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    I know were only February but this is my favorite album of 07, so far.
  26. ToddW
    Feb 15, 2007
    7
    Hissing Fauna is a strong effort by another of the underrated and ubertalented Elephant 6 collective. The songs are melodic and catchy, with the vocals in spots reminding one alternately of The Sweet and The Darkness. This album is a grower; it's not an easy listen out of the shrinkwrap as Kevin Barnes' vocals can wear thin. On a song like Heimdalsgate Like a Promothean Curse he Hissing Fauna is a strong effort by another of the underrated and ubertalented Elephant 6 collective. The songs are melodic and catchy, with the vocals in spots reminding one alternately of The Sweet and The Darkness. This album is a grower; it's not an easy listen out of the shrinkwrap as Kevin Barnes' vocals can wear thin. On a song like Heimdalsgate Like a Promothean Curse he sounds a little too precious and the music reminds one of second-rate Cars. The lynchpin to the album is The Past Is A Grotesque Animal, an 11-minute kiss-off to his ex-wife that is the best break-up song since Positively Fourth Street. When Barnes uses personal pain as a muse, his writing and music are stunning. Otherwise, cute only plays well for a finite number of listens. Expand
  27. pedrop
    Feb 27, 2007
    9
    I've been a fan since Coquelicot, and I love Barnes' progression from Elephant 6 also-ran to this innovative blend of sweet basslines and robotic percussion. This is a very powerful album, and it takes at least a couple of listens to appreciate the darker, genuinely emotional side. I do think the album has some flow problems when it hits the long centerpiece, which is why this I've been a fan since Coquelicot, and I love Barnes' progression from Elephant 6 also-ran to this innovative blend of sweet basslines and robotic percussion. This is a very powerful album, and it takes at least a couple of listens to appreciate the darker, genuinely emotional side. I do think the album has some flow problems when it hits the long centerpiece, which is why this isn't a perfect score. Regardless, I sincerely think Of Montreal (especially considering their last three albums culminating with Hissing Fauna) will be deemed one of the better bands of any era - certainly one of the best of this decade. Expand
  28. jackq
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Best album ever made, even better live.
  29. BobP
    Feb 4, 2007
    9
    Saddest disco album ever!
  30. FelipeP
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    Amazing record, Of Montreal definitely is one of the best bands in the world. The production is magic, as the lyrics.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. If there is one thing in this world that can elevate even the weakest of lyrics from the trough of personal diary hell, it’s a catchy melody. Thankfully this record overflows with them.
  2. For the most part an exercise in Prince-like electro-funk, full of squelchy keyboard fuzz and chicken-scratch guitar noise and absurdly complicated falsetto harmonies.
  3. Urb
    80
    A wonderfully dance-ridden companion ot the intelli-disco carved out on 2005's The Sunlandic Twins. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.81]