Holy Fire

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    50
    Through their first two releases, Foals were able to showcase their evolving sound, but with Holy Fire, their evolution stops dead in its tracks.
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    60
    Holy Fire is a collection of well-manicured tracks zoning out to a dazzling middle distance.
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    50
    It is Foals-by-the-numbers, though, and the band's apparent lack of energy renders it cold and forgettable.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    60
    Foals remain the antithesis of a foursquare indie rock band. And yet nothing here is quite holy enough, or quite fiery enough, to live up to the album's billing.
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    60
    It's a somewhat disappointing change of pace, but one that can nevertheless be appreciated by adjusting expectations; even if the band isn't pushing new boundaries, this new stance sort of fits them, coming across as a culmination of their previous material rather than a misstep.
  6. 60
    It's a one-sided album: following the soulful “Late Night”, things plummet badly in the second half.
  7. 40
    Produced by arena rock specialists Flood and Alan Moulder, Holy Fire sounds pop sound insofar as it’s smoothed off, big and accessible.
  8. Feb 6, 2013
    60
    In all, a tad more mannered and staid than you'd expect from these former experimentalists. [Mar 2013, p.94]
  9. Feb 6, 2013
    60
    Even when the groove lessens, doubters are liable to be persuaded by their innate knack for epic choruses.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Highlights: "Milk Black Spiders", "Late Night", "Everytime" "Inhaler"
    An incredible album by an incredible band, Antidotes is amazing, it
    Highlights: "Milk Black Spiders", "Late Night", "Everytime" "Inhaler"
    An incredible album by an incredible band, Antidotes is amazing, it has amazing songs and sounds that get stuck in your head for a while and you can listen to most of the songs any time, but it was missing something, Soul. Total life Forever answered that with an incredible amount of soul and epicness (if that exists) in the album. But Holy Fire is a combination of both, an album with songs that get stuck in your head, but also have soul and they all mean something, they all are good, it had been a while since I had heard an album with 11 perfect songs.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    I think Foals' best album to date. It just feels... complete. I'll admit I didn't found it as inspired as Antidotes (still my favouriteI think Foals' best album to date. It just feels... complete. I'll admit I didn't found it as inspired as Antidotes (still my favourite album), but they finally managed to gave form and style to their kind of music. The result is a rough, hard sound with echoing melodies, and it's gorgeous.
    Sure someone will hate this. I think it's a matter of tastes, since technically speaking, Total Life Forever is probably better than this "tripping experience", and there are no really incisive hits (Inhaler is the only exception).
    Anyway, I highly recommend to listen to it if you liked their previous albums.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2015
    8
    Melodic indie-rock with a haunting sound. Not a late night haunting of the terrifying kind. More shivers down the spine, tingling withMelodic indie-rock with a haunting sound. Not a late night haunting of the terrifying kind. More shivers down the spine, tingling with delight. A beautiful effort providing sonnets and sounds that would cause gushing rivers to stop and listen. A fine album with excellent production, bringing the best out of the vocals. Recommended. Full Review »