Holy Ghost!

  • Record Label: DFA
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2011
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Under The Radar
    Jun 8, 2011
    60
    The '80s were a great decade. Holy Ghost! bring that back to us in our antithesis to the '80s' time. [May 2011, p.79]
  2. Q Magazine
    May 18, 2011
    60
    The only problem is that the duo never manage to execute a truly killer pop hook, resulting in a debut that breezes by in a pleasant but ultimately forgettable haze. [May 2011, p.116]
  3. May 4, 2011
    60
    As long as Holy Ghost! continue to cherry-pick the best moments of their particular strain of the musical past, they may just have a promising future.
  4. May 2, 2011
    60
    Holy Ghost!'s self-titled debut puts me at a loss. There is no way to penetrate this album. It's dance music that exists entirely for its own disposal, either into your iTunes, your DJ set or your garbage can.
  5. Uncut
    Apr 13, 2011
    60
    It's one of the most straight-up enjoyable records they've put out in a long time. [May 2011, p.88]
  6. Apr 13, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, the songwriting isn't quite weighty enough to sustain a full album. Worth a check if you're a previous fan.
  7. Apr 12, 2011
    60
    Holy Ghost! is an interesting album and much of the production is loving, well-crafted homage to some wonderfully overlooked disco genres.
  8. Apr 7, 2011
    60
    Unfortunately, over 10 tracks, the band's musical limitations become ever more obvious, with songs like Hold My Breath and Jam for Jerry rummaging through the same box of retro tricks to lessening effect.
  9. Apr 22, 2011
    50
    Hat-tips and insider references abound on Holy Ghost!, but what's communicated most strongly isn't, ultimately, the duo's abiding love for new wave and disco, or even the timelessness of the style, but rather the poverty of nostalgia as an aesthetic principle.
  10. Apr 4, 2011
    50
    These guys are working within a fully-formed aesthetic; they've got hooks to spare and production out the wazoo, but right now, I'm just not feeling the soul.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Easily the catchiest album of the year, in my mind Holy Ghost headline the modern synth/dancepop revival in New York, and with good reason,Easily the catchiest album of the year, in my mind Holy Ghost headline the modern synth/dancepop revival in New York, and with good reason, they're experts at playing with rhythm and melody. Holy Ghost! has likely slipped through the cracks of a lot of top 10 lists, but their right up there with the best albums of the year. Full Review »
  2. May 4, 2011
    8
    Layered synthesizers, eccentric vocals and clean, bouncy production bring this album together as another solid disco-influenced dance-popLayered synthesizers, eccentric vocals and clean, bouncy production bring this album together as another solid disco-influenced dance-pop addition to DFA's catalogue. Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    One of the best NeoDisco/Alt Dance albums of the year. The band took me by surprise with a combination of relaxed b-sides and massive tracks.One of the best NeoDisco/Alt Dance albums of the year. The band took me by surprise with a combination of relaxed b-sides and massive tracks. 'Jam for Jerry' is absolutely amazing. Full Review »