• Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Jun 2, 2009
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Wow, this is E at his best, every track sounds fresh and shows eels diversity, powerful stuff.
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    8
    A peach of a record from start to finish and probably my favourite Eels album. It's one of Mr E's most focused and sharp collection of songs and has everything you'd want from an Eels record. Lovely lyrics, tuneful melodies and should have gotten more praise really than it did.
  3. DavisW.
    Jul 20, 2009
    7
    A bit of a disappointment, but a strong and solid record nonetheless. E is still the man.
  4. DanielG
    Jun 23, 2009
    5
    This album sounds like a mainstream pot-boiler compared to his previous releases. It's all not bad, but there is only one song that was memorable for me (the look you give that guy). It reminds me of Souljacker in that it has too much levity (Souljacker had a few better songs though). Perhaps, E has exorcised all of his demons now and can only make light, fluffy, empty songs. This album sounds like a mainstream pot-boiler compared to his previous releases. It's all not bad, but there is only one song that was memorable for me (the look you give that guy). It reminds me of Souljacker in that it has too much levity (Souljacker had a few better songs though). Perhaps, E has exorcised all of his demons now and can only make light, fluffy, empty songs. I'm disappointed. Great CD case, though! Expand
  5. RyanH
    Jun 12, 2009
    8
    I really do like this album, and it did take me two times to listen to it though to think that. I do not think that it is the best CD put out by E, but it is not his worst either. I would say it is better than Shootenany! but that is about it. It is nice to have some songs by the eels that are not so complex and are more fun to listen to while driving down the street on nice day. While I really do like this album, and it did take me two times to listen to it though to think that. I do not think that it is the best CD put out by E, but it is not his worst either. I would say it is better than Shootenany! but that is about it. It is nice to have some songs by the eels that are not so complex and are more fun to listen to while driving down the street on nice day. While this CD does slow down at times too much with songs like the longing it is a pretty solid cd though and though. Expand
  6. NickS
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    The first great album of 2009. Heartacheingly beautiful ballads and garage rock songs about desire.
  7. BrandonS
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    Another great cd by this great band. I love when E gets all creepy in particular.
  8. DoyalT
    Jun 4, 2009
    8
    This is for all of you that do not listen to the newest, hot radio releases. If you think, feel and have not purchased any Lady Gaga: You should check it out.
  9. guye
    Jun 4, 2009
    5
    A mediocre effort from one of my favourite cigar puffing beards. there's no fresh direction, simple melodies, fewer than usual powerful hooks. the best tracks, for the first time in eels history, sound like they could have been on earlier eels albums. and its short. i think being an author and tv star may have been distractions.
  10. PollyP
    Jun 4, 2009
    10
    It seems this album takes out the best of what Eels has ever done. Some rocky rough beats with Howlin'E, and perfect smooth and sad pop ballads that would make anybody's heart cry like a little teen girl.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 80
    Lean and timeless sounding, it's also as truthful as Everett's sobering autobiography, Things The Grandchildren Should Know. [Jun 2009, p.104]
  2. 60
    The gentler E distances himself from his lycanthropic alter ego, searching for Ms. Right backed by a familiar arsenal of winsome melodies and elegant string arrangements.
  3. The garage rock is fun, but the mesmeric admissions of loneliness and failings make this one to return to.