• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Hombre Lobo: 12 Songs Of Desire Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first album in four years for the rock band led by E, aka Mark Oliver Everett.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 80
    Lean and timeless sounding, it's also as truthful as Everett's sobering autobiography, Things The Grandchildren Should Know. [Jun 2009, p.104]
  2. What truly counts here is persona and with E casting himself as dog in heat, eager to reach a scratch that he just can't itch, the end result is yet another facet to a continually engaging and truly unique artist.
  3. 80
    It’s E’s lyrics that are the true, bitter joy of this record, sacrificing nothing of their wit in pursuit of heartbreaking, heartbroken directness.
  4. Each track contains elements that sound similar in combinations of tone, texture and melody from previous records, so this album is not necessarily a knockout. However, the band’s artistic hybrid is delivered with a fervent honesty and steeped in an emotional intensity that may make it sound a lot like other Eels material.
  5. This emotional rollercoaster of an album has a few cleverly disguised cliches similar to 'emotional rollercoaster' embedded in the music and lyrics.
  6. 60
    The gentler E distances himself from his lycanthropic alter ego, searching for Ms. Right backed by a familiar arsenal of winsome melodies and elegant string arrangements.
  7. Though doubtful it was crafted for such a purpose, Eels's latest is simply not much beyond a forgettable earful for a lazy Sunday listen.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Wow, this is E at his best, every track sounds fresh and shows eels diversity, powerful stuff.
  2. PollyP
    Jun 4, 2009
    10
    It seems this album takes out the best of what Eels has ever done. Some rocky rough beats with Howlin'E, and perfect smooth and sad pop It seems this album takes out the best of what Eels has ever done. Some rocky rough beats with Howlin'E, and perfect smooth and sad pop ballads that would make anybody's heart cry like a little teen girl. Expand
  3. NickS
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    The first great album of 2009. Heartacheingly beautiful ballads and garage rock songs about desire.
  4. DoyalT
    Jun 4, 2009
    8
    This is for all of you that do not listen to the newest, hot radio releases. If you think, feel and have not purchased any Lady Gaga: You This is for all of you that do not listen to the newest, hot radio releases. If you think, feel and have not purchased any Lady Gaga: You should check it out. Expand
  5. RyanH
    Jun 12, 2009
    8
    I really do like this album, and it did take me two times to listen to it though to think that. I do not think that it is the best CD put out I really do like this album, and it did take me two times to listen to it though to think that. I do not think that it is the best CD put out by E, but it is not his worst either. I would say it is better than Shootenany! but that is about it. It is nice to have some songs by the eels that are not so complex and are more fun to listen to while driving down the street on nice day. While this CD does slow down at times too much with songs like the longing it is a pretty solid cd though and though. Expand
  6. DavisW.
    Jul 20, 2009
    7
    A bit of a disappointment, but a strong and solid record nonetheless. E is still the man.
  7. guye
    Jun 4, 2009
    5
    A mediocre effort from one of my favourite cigar puffing beards. there's no fresh direction, simple melodies, fewer than usual powerful A mediocre effort from one of my favourite cigar puffing beards. there's no fresh direction, simple melodies, fewer than usual powerful hooks. the best tracks, for the first time in eels history, sound like they could have been on earlier eels albums. and its short. i think being an author and tv star may have been distractions. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews