Homesongs Image

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the solo debut for Adem Ilhan of the English electronica/post-rock band Fridge (whose lineup also includes Four Tet's Kieran Hebden). Unlike in Fridge (which is an instrumental outfit), Adem sings over these ten quiet, folksy tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. The results breathe that same rarefied air as Nick Drake or Vashti Bunyan.
  2. A collection of slow, sad, stately songs whose obvious studio smarts are dwarfed by a big bleeding folkie's heart.
  3. But Homesongs is not simply a procession of trembling troubadour tunes. For each turn of boxwood fragility, there's also one of bold and confident songwriting.
  4. Homesongs is his minor key playground, filled with masterpieces in the making. All you have to do to enjoy them is slow... down...
  5. [A] lovely debut album of hushed folk that may be one of the best things in this sort of genre that I've heard in some time.
  6. Stripped-down and understated. [Sep 2004, p.136]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. petep
    Aug 3, 2004
    When friends come over, I put this on towards the end of the evening, and invariably end up writing the artist and title on a scrap of paper, so that they can go off to buy it the following day. An emotonally generous set of songs and, by any criteria, a sensational debut. Expand
  2. LeeR
    Apr 21, 2006
    Superb debut album, can't wait to hear more.