User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 3 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeB
    Jul 20, 2005
    8
    Very enjoyable. His voice is great flattened out and drawling. The slinkly sort of soul arrangements are cool. Black is a fun guy to listen to no matter what he does. But he's been so prolific, seemingly hundreds of albums, they all tend to blur and I think we take him for granted. One of the most unique artists ever but nothing he does seems special any more. He never seems an Very enjoyable. His voice is great flattened out and drawling. The slinkly sort of soul arrangements are cool. Black is a fun guy to listen to no matter what he does. But he's been so prolific, seemingly hundreds of albums, they all tend to blur and I think we take him for granted. One of the most unique artists ever but nothing he does seems special any more. He never seems an essential artist as a solo performer (or with the Catholics). You like this record immediately bui I think many of us will forget it just as quickly. This record is unique and new enough to beguile us for a while, but what everybody wants to hear is a new Pixies record. Expand
  2. BetsyRoss
    Aug 21, 2005
    9
    Frank Blacks best solo album ever. Super mellow.
  3. MatthewS
    Mar 4, 2007
    8
    Stands out like a shiny dime against the old money of a familiar genre. Positive and uplifting.
  4. adrians
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    superb album, it's the new van morrison!
  5. scarlao'
    Jul 20, 2005
    9
    SING FOR JOY This is not an album that grabs you by your balls rather it seeps slowly into your soul. Give the album a couple of listens and you will be justly rewarded. Remember to bring along a tissue for the 'shrimp song'.
  6. RogerA
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    Incredible what this man has achieved in just four days. Who needs that Pixies album when he could be making more music like this.
  7. jonc
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    At first this record seemed too mellow, too mid-tempo for me. But upon repeated listenings I grew really love it's warm, smoothness and wise lyrics about love and life.
  8. ChrisA
    Sep 27, 2005
    2
    1solid album (pistolero) out of five purchases?
  9. ManFact
    Sep 27, 2005
    3
    what the?
  10. AJ
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    I actually wasn't expecting this project to be as successful as it turned out. There are a few moments where it seems Frank is teetering dangerously close to middle aged wussiness (eg. the second half of "My life is in storage") but these instances are completely overshadowed by the craftsmanship of Frank's song writing and lyrical inventiveness. "Sing for Joy" is an epic, I actually wasn't expecting this project to be as successful as it turned out. There are a few moments where it seems Frank is teetering dangerously close to middle aged wussiness (eg. the second half of "My life is in storage") but these instances are completely overshadowed by the craftsmanship of Frank's song writing and lyrical inventiveness. "Sing for Joy" is an epic, bittersweet, affirmation of life that alone is worth the price of purchase. It caps a very solid effort by Frank. Expand
  11. PaulA
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I was a huge Pixies fan back in the day but I hadn't really got into Frank Black's solo stuff until I recently bought Bluefinger, Dog in the Sand and Honeycomb practically at the same time... I'm a big fan again!
  12. RobbieA
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    Mellow - smooth - a joy to listen to in this summer heat - so relaxing
  13. TreG
    Jul 22, 2005
    9
    It warms the cockles of my Brummie heart.
  14. KathleenH
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    This is Frank's masterpiece to date. Every song is finely crafted. I listen to this album non stop and am not bored. It's like meeting my husband for the first time-- I am instantly farmilar and enraptured and crave to know every detail of this work of art! This is a must for any serious music collector!
  15. AaronL
    Aug 16, 2005
    7
    it certainly is no teenager of the year but its nice to finally hear a frank black record that isnt full of as many stinkers as good tracks. this record grows on you as most of franks albums do. hes definately got some great players behind him and its his most mature release to date.
  16. ErlingO
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    Sadly underrated album. Gets better and better and better.
  17. ScottY
    Jan 15, 2006
    3
    Nothing bad...just nothing really exciting, either. Sort of jazz-like, which I wasn't really expecting.
  18. EddieM
    Mar 27, 2006
    7
    Most immediately accessible songs on this album are the 3 covers. Black's original material is hit and miss (more hits than misses though). All in all a triumph of dark but mellow Americana.
  19. daniela
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    brilliant! from trompe le monde to this... makes complete sense to me!
  20. BrandonS
    Jul 19, 2005
    7
    While I think it's silly to give this a 10 rating or claim that it is his best solo cd (that claim easily belongs to Teenager of the Year), this is a very solid cd, his most consistent since Dogs in the Sand, and quite beautiful.
  21. Yousuck
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    What the? How could anyone give this great album a 3 or a 2?
  22. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    Wow, for anyone who's a fan of the Pixies noise this will be a bit of a shock to say the least. No distortion or screaming to be found here. It's slow placed weird countryish stuff all the way through. Not bad but lacks anything to cause much excitement.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Honeycomb is steeped in tradition, yet manages to buck it at the same time; while not all Pixies and Frank Black fans will appreciate its mellow maturity, it's an intimate treat for those who follow its lead.
  2. Blender
    70
    Compared with the Pixies, this is conservative and gentlemanly. [Aug 2005, p.109]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    Black's take on Southern soul: spare, graceful, in the pocket, with Black himself sounding reborn and relaxed. [22 Jul 2005, p.78]