• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Mar 30, 2004
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 5 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeyD
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    I must say this CD is very catchy. i bought it about a week ago and this is the only CD that's been in my car player since... well done aero!
  2. AlexR
    May 5, 2004
    10
    i cant understand how anyone cant like this album?! its amazing through and through. kick ass rock. tyler gives his best performance ever (i have every aerosmith album so i know my stuff! :) ) and perry and whitford are inspired! truly brilliant effort
  3. KartikS
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    Brilliant
  4. stevec
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    A stunning comeback.
  5. RobinB
    Apr 7, 2004
    8
    I didn't know what to think about their last cd, with the pink album cover and like, 5 ballads or whatever... but all I can say with this new one is it's about time. I read somewhere that this new cd was supposed to be reminiscent of "Rocks", but I wouldn't go quite that far. There's no Nobody's Fault, or Combination here, but Shame, Shame, Shame is in the same I didn't know what to think about their last cd, with the pink album cover and like, 5 ballads or whatever... but all I can say with this new one is it's about time. I read somewhere that this new cd was supposed to be reminiscent of "Rocks", but I wouldn't go quite that far. There's no Nobody's Fault, or Combination here, but Shame, Shame, Shame is in the same vein of Big Ten Inch Record or MilkCow Blues, and I'm Ready is kind of Last Child-ish. The overall sound of the cd is more like "Pump", which isn't a bad thing at all. Baby, Please Don't Go rocks like Young Lust, and You Gotta Move reminds me of Don't Get Mad Get Even. The new original, The Grind, is also really catchy - kind of a blues-meets ballad type of thing, maybe what Cryin' would have sounded like without all the hired songwriters and over-mixing done. And to top it all off, the band sounds the best I've ever heard. Steve Tyler is screaming his ass off even more, and you can hear Joe and Brad shredd all over the place. The fact that all these songs but 1 are blues covers, and that they remind you of older material shows how big of a part blues plays in the Aerosmith sound, which is exactly what I think they wanted to portray. Expand
  6. JamesB
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    The greatest Aerosmith CD since Rocks! The best album of the year! And the last truly great CD since... uhh... It's been a long time since there was a record this great.
  7. genev
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    This is not an accurate account of how the critics feel about this cd. Its a shame, since so many of us have viewed this site on its credibility to accurately portray the opinion of our nation. After searching reviews on the internet by numerous newspapers. i cannot find another negative or even lukewarm review. On the other hand the exceedingly postive ones are in the dozens, yet are This is not an accurate account of how the critics feel about this cd. Its a shame, since so many of us have viewed this site on its credibility to accurately portray the opinion of our nation. After searching reviews on the internet by numerous newspapers. i cannot find another negative or even lukewarm review. On the other hand the exceedingly postive ones are in the dozens, yet are left out and thus lowering metacritic score to a 69. A very misleading rating. Expand
  8. JonH
    May 10, 2004
    1
    I agree with Ryan S., Robert Johnson is turning over in his grave
  9. WendelinA
    Jan 7, 2005
    9
    they've gotten so good that finally they can put their hands on material that inspired them throughout their carreer
  10. killer18
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Perfect. This is what rock n roll is about
  11. DrewJ
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest blues albums of all time....and I am not even an Aerosmith fan
  12. [Anonymous]
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    Aerosmith going to its roots! Awesome!
  13. MarianoR
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    This album really rocks! The bad boyz are back in the saddle again.
  14. Mark
    Apr 21, 2004
    0
    Will they ever realize it's long past the original time they should have given up? One of the greatest bands in rock history... but stuff like this just hurts them. Their time is past.
  15. ryans
    Apr 25, 2004
    1
    robert johnson is turning over in his grave.
  16. sam
    May 2, 2004
    10
    Best album of the year.
  17. Nate
    Apr 21, 2004
    0
    they've gotten so bad they can't even think of anything original...
  18. RataB
    May 24, 2004
    9
    Es una de las mejores interpretaciones de la banda pero sin dudas, no la mejor.
  19. DougF
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    Incredible music, lyrics and variation of tunes. Steven Tyler was made to sing these bluesy type songs. Every track on the CD was a pleasant diversity. I love this CD
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Bobo is a celebratory attack on the canon, not a violation of it.
  2. There hasn't been this entertaining or hard-rocking an Aerosmith album since who-knows-when.
  3. If the point is to guide listeners back to the sleazier, sexier originals, it's done its job.